Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Love and Information by Caryl Churchill
Caird Studio, December 2013
What's Playing Now in London
UK Theatre Web
What's on, tickets, news, archive, reviews, information
Also includes information on top regional productions
Watch Streaming Video
Digital Theatre Plus This link opens in a new window
Digital Theatre Plus brings live performance into the classroom, accompanied by a range of educational resources for illustration, explanation, and critical reflection. Includes several theatre resources, including over 200 productions, 18 master classes, 27 documentaries, 260 interviews and 62 practical guides.
National Theatre Collection This link opens in a new window
The National Theatre Collection brings the stage to life through access to streaming video of world-class productions and unique archival material offering insight into theatre and performance studies. Through a collaboration with the U.K.'s National Theatre, this collection offers a range of digital performance resources never previously seen outside of the National Theatre’s archive.
Academic Video Online This link opens in a new window
Academic Video Online is the most comprehensive video subscription available, delivering almost 70,000 titles spanning subject areas including anthropology, business, counseling, film, health, history, music, and more. More than 14,000 titles are exclusive to Alexander Street.
Modern Drama was founded in 1958 and is the most prominent journal in English to focus on dramatic literature. The terms, "modern" and "drama," are the subject of continuing and fruitful debate, but the journal has been distinguished by the excellence of its close readings of both canonical and lesser known dramatic texts through a range of methodological perspectives. The journal features refereed articles that enhance our understanding of plays in both formal and historical terms, largely treating literature of the past two centuries from diverse geo-political contexts,
Comparative Drama is a scholarly journal devoted to studies international in spirit and interdisciplinary in scope
Journal of Dramatic Theory and Criticism
Publishes full-length articles that contribute to the varied conversations in dramatic theory and criticism, explore the relationship between theory and theatre practice, and/or examine the body of work by an individual author or a recent theoretical or critical trend.
Ibsen Studies is a forum for debate and critique for all those who work within the extensive field of research into the work of Henrik Ibsen. The journal is cross-disciplinary in nature, with contributions from literary researchers, historians and those involved in theatre.
Eugene O'Neill Review
Eugene O’Neill’s entire life revolved around the stage, and his productivity as a dramatist—some twenty long plays in less than twenty-five years (1920–1943)—remains a remarkable achievement. O’Neill’s plays are known for their intensely personal qualities, their dark realism, and their tragic honesty. O’Neill is the only American playwright ever to receive a Nobel Prize in Literature
TDR: The Drama Review
TDR provides scholarship on performances and their social, economic and political contexts. With an emphasis on the experimental, avant-garde, intercultural and interdisciplinary, it covers dance theatre, performance art, popular entertainment, media, sports, rituals and performance in politics and everyday life.
Subjects: African American Studies
, American Studies
, Art History
, Creative Writing
, English 101 & 100
, English Literature
Find criticism of playwrights and their plays as well as the full-text of some plays
JSTOR This link opens in a new windowJSTOR is an extensive archive of interdisciplinary journals and books, covering subject disciplines in Arts, Business & Economics, History, Humanities, Law, Science & Mathematics, Social Sciences, and Religion. Access Arts & Sciences I-VII archives and over 40,000 ebooks on the JSTOR platform.