Guides: ARTH 200 World Art History I: Images on the Web

ARTstor Images for Your Presentation/Paper

Door lintel with lion-griffins and vase with lotus leaf, Mesopotamia, Hatra, A.D. 2nd-3rd century, The Metropolitan Museum of Art, Purchase, Joseph Pulitzer Bequest, 1932 (32.145a, b) Image © The Metropolitan Museum of Art

The best place to find images for your presentation or paper is the database, ARTstor. Log on to ARTstor, create a personal account and create an image group. Then view information on how to Export to Power Point. To use an image in your paper, you will first need to download it to your computer.

You can search ARTstor by the name of an art work, by geography, by classification (for example, architecture), or by collection (for example, Egyptian and other Ancient Art (Arielle Kozloff Brodkey)). Use the Advanced Search to limit by date.

Helpful videos on using ARTstor can be found on YouTube

ARTstor images are included in search results on JSTOR

Web Links to Art

Digital Collections

OAIster: union catalog of digital resources

Europeana art, artists, and stories in 3,339,215 artworks from European museums, galleries, libraries and archives.

Google Arts and Culture Provides high-resolution images of artworks from participating museums and 360 degree views of museums and other historical sites around the world.

American Memory, The Library of Congress

NYPDL Digital Gallery

California Digital Library

MADID (Yale University Manuscripts & Archives Digital Images Database)

H ollis Images (Harvard University Visual Information Access)

Bridgeman Art Library: art, culture & history images

Pidgeon Digital seminal ideas from the world;s greatest architects

Parker Library on the Web : Images of 6th-18th century manuscripts from Parker Library in Corpus Christi College, Camden.

National Galley of Art | NGA Images a repository of digital images of the collections of the National Gallery of Art

Reunion des musees nationaux