Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
General Literature Web Resources
PAL: Perspectives in American Literature
Organized into ten chapters on the major literary and historical perspectives, cycles, or movements in American literature; each chapter has an Introduction, a Selected Bibliography, and a list of representative authors.
Literary Resources on the Net
pages maintained by Jack Lynch of Rutgers
Voice of the Shuttle
web site for humanities research
Free full-text access to thousands of electronic books on a wide variety of topics. Includes books in English as well as many different foreign languages.
Cambridge History of English and American Literature
"Considered the most important work of literary history and criticism ever published, the Cambridge History contains over 303 chapters and 11,000 pages, with essay topics ranging from poetry, fiction, drama and essays to history, theology and political writing." Arranged chronologically, and includes an index to the chapters in each volume, as well as an index to the bibliographies in each chapter.
Information about the lives and history of the Pilgrim Forefathers, the Plymouth Colony, and their ship the Mayflower.
Home of the Society of Mayflower Descendants in the Commonwealth of Pennsylvania. The Society consists of descendants of the Pilgrims, the 102 English passengers who came to New England from Holland and England aboard the ship Mayflower in 1620.
American Authors, Literary Movements, Sites, and Timeline
The purpose of all the American literature pages is to provide useful, interesting, advertising-free information on the subject and to provide links to the best information available for American literature from the earliest days through the 1920s.
Common-Place is an online journal sponsored by the American Antiquarian Society; it features excellent articles on American history and culture.
Society of Early Americanists
The Society furthers the exchange of ideas and information among scholars of various disciplines who study the literature and culture of America to approximately 1800.
See the list of Electronic Resources located under the heading, Teaching Early American Topics
Encyclopedia of American Studies This link opens in a new window
Access to a wide range of disciplines related to the history and cultures of the United States, from pre-colonial days to the present. It includes over 660 online, searchable articles and bibliographies.