Guides: ENG 380 Maya Angelou: Finding Articles

Literature Specific Databases

Here are more Literature Specific Databases that you should search for your topic in.

Literature Resource Center This link opens in a new window
Provides up-to-date biographical information, overviews, full-text literary criticism and reviews on more than 145,000 writers in all disciplines, from all time periods and from around the world.
MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new window
An index of journal articles, books, and dissertations, the electronic version of the Bibliography dates back to the 1920s and contains over 2.5 million citations from more than 5,000 journals and series and 1,200 book publishers. Coverage is international and subjects include literature, language and linguistics, folklore, literary theory and criticism, dramatic arts, as well as the historical aspects of printing and publishing.
In addition, the MLA Directory of Periodicals and their proprietary thesaurus used to assign descriptors within the Bibliography are included.
Biography in Context This link opens in a new window
Provides biographical information on more than 528,000 people throughout history, around the world, and across all disciplines and subject areas. The database also provides full-text articles from over 350 magazines and newspapers and includes more than 27,000 images plus links to Web sites tied to the lives and works of the subjects.
Some 50,000 new and/or updated biographies are added each year, as well as daily status updates of existing subjects

Getting Started

These online sources are good places to start your literature-related research. For quick reference, hold your mouse over a link for a brief description of the resource.

For more suggested sources, go to the tabs at the top of the page.

JSTOR
Access the journal archives Arts & Sciences I, II, III, IV, VI, & VII and over 40,000 ebooks on the JSTOR platform; book chapters and journal articles are cross-searchable. JSTOR is an extensive archive of interdisciplinary journals and books, covering subject disciplines in Arts, Business & Economics, History, Humanities, Law, Science & Mathematics, Social Sciences, and Religion.

Project MUSE This link opens in a new window
Provides online access to the full-text of over 300 scholarly journals in the arts and humanities, social sciences, and mathematics covering the fields of literature and criticism, history, the visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, gender studies
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Provides full text coverage to nearly 9,100 journals, including over 7,900 peer-reviewed titles in the social sciences, humanities, general science, multi-cultural studies, education and more. Full-text coverage dates back to 1985 and is updated daily.
Readers' Guide Retrospective 1890-1982 This link opens in a new window
Readers' Guide Retrospective contains comprehensive indexing of the most popular general-interest periodicals published in the United States and reflects the history of 20th century America. Current coverage for this database includes the years 1890 through 1982.

Why Google Scholar?

Question: Why would you use Google Scholar?

Answer: Google Scholar identifies scholarly research materials from a broad range of subject areas.

Google Scholar offers a "cited by" feature - it will display a list of documents which cited the document you originally retrieved. This can be useful in determing how influential a source has been. The list only includes documents available in Google Scholar, though.

Go into the preferences of Google Scholar and select Pepperdine University from Library Links.