It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
An organization dedicated to "bearing witness" to environmental destruction in a peaceful and nonviolent manner, and to using non-violent confrontation to raise the level and awareness of public debate.
ParkScore Comprehensive rating system developed to measure how well the 50 largest U.S. cities are meeting the need for parks. Studies show that parks can encourage physical activity, reduce crime, revitalize local economies, and help bring neighborhoods together.
Provides biographical information on more than 528,000 people throughout history, around the world, and across all disciplines and subject areas. The database also provides full-text articles from over 350 magazines and newspapers and includes more than 27,000 images plus links to Web sites tied to the lives and works of the subjects.
Some 50,000 new and/or updated biographies are added each year, as well as daily status updates of existing subjects
A full text database of unique and diverse publications that focus on how gender impacts a broad spectrum of subject areas. With its archival material, dating back to 1970 in some cases, GenderWatch is a repository of important historical perspectives on the evolution of the women's movement, men's studies, the transgendered community, and the changes in gender roles over the years.
AlterNet "publishes grassroots success stories and inspirational narratives alongside hard-hitting critiques of policies, investigative reports and expert analysis. We emphasize workable solutions to persistent social problems. Our editorial mix underscores a commitment to fairness, equality and global stewardship, and to making connections across generational, ethnic and issue lines. In order to provide deeper coverage on today's key issues, AlterNet features 12 Special Coverage Areas, each with its own hub site, editor, and weekly newsletter." Includes: