El Laberinto de la Soledad y Otras Obras by Octavio Paz Lozano
Call Number: F 1210 .P3 1997
Publication Date: 1997-11-01
Octavio Paz has written one of the most enduring and powerful works ever created on Mexico and its people, character, and culture. Compared to Ortega y Gasset's The Revolt of the Masses for its trenchant analysis, this collection contains Octavio Paz' most famous work, The Labyrinth of Solitude, a beautifully written and deeply felt discourse on Mexico's quest for identity that gives us an unequaled look at the country hidden behind the mask. Also included are Postscript, Return to the Labyrinth of Solitude, and Mexico and the United States, all of which develop the themes of the title essay and extend his penetrating commentary to the United States and Latin America.
Mexico by Don M. Coerver; Suzanne B. Pasztor; Robert Buffington
Call Number: F1234 .C67 2004 Oversize
Publication Date: 2004-09-22
From NAFTA to narcotics, from immigration to energy, the ties that bind our nation and Mexico are varied and strong. Mexico uncovers the real Mexico that lies behind the stereotypes of tacos, tequila, and tourist hotels.
Mexico: A Global Studies Handbook is an ideal introduction to the United States' southern neighbor for students, travelers, businesspeople, or other interested readers. It debunks a variety of myths and misconceptions that have evolved over time, clarifying the realities of both historic and contemporary Mexico. M
Oxford Spanish Dictionary by Beatriz Galimberti Jarman; Roy Russell; Carol Styles Carvajal; Jane Horwood
Call Number: PC 4640 .O94 2003 Reference (no checkout)
Publication Date: 2004-12-16
Providing the richest coverage of Spanish from around the world, this major edition of the Oxford Spanish Dictionary now covers over 300,000 words and phrases, and more than 500,000 translations.
Vox Compact Spanish and English Dictionary by National Textbook Company Staff; Vox Staff
Call Number: PC4640 .V694 2002
Publication Date: 1994-01-11
The Vox Compact Spanish and English Dictionary contains more than 85,000 headwords, phrases, and examples, including the latest additions to the language plus technical, scientific, and business terms. This bestselling reference includes a 45-page section of Spanish idioms and expressions.
Call Number: E-Book (whole book can be viewed online - click above)
Publication Date: 2002-11-28
This is an ideal dictionary for students taking Spanish in combination with a business qualification at college or for anyone doing business in the Spanish-speaking world. It provides an exhaustive range of business vocabulary--over 50,000 words and phrases--across many core areas, far outstripping the competition in its coverage of e-commerce and Internet-related terms. Detailed treatment of all vocabulary items is provided, along with thousands of example phrases illustrating important constructions.
The extensive supplementary material offers sample business correspondence, including Curriculum Vitaes; faxes, emails, and invoices; lists of countries, nationalities, languages, and currencies; and guidance on using the telephone.
Webster's New World Concise Spanish Dictionary by Chambers Harrap Publishers Staff
Call Number: PC4640 .W428 2004 (Reference no check out)
Publication Date: 2004
Extensive coverage of the most frequently used words, including Internet terminology, slang, and idiomatic phrases.
The Latin American Network Information Center (LANIC) is part of the Lozano Long Institute of Latin American Studies (LLILAS) and the Benson Latin American Collection at the University of Texas at Austin. Since 2011, LANIC has also been a part of the University of Texas Libraries as one of the initiatives that is under the LLILAS Benson Collaboration.
LANIC's mission is to facilitate access to Internet-based information to, from, or on Latin America.