Churches of Christ Heritage Collection

Anders (Charles Danny (Dan)) Papers- Charles Danny (Dan) Anders (1936-1999) was a preaching minister in Churches of Christ in Texas and California. The Charles Danny (Dan) Anders Papers documents the activities of Dan Anders during his tenure as the preaching minister of the Malibu Church of Christ at Pepperdine University from 1985-1998, as well aspects of his study and ministry from 1960-1985. The collection contains correspondence, photos, written and recorded sermons, and his study and research materials.

Andrews (Sarah S.) Collection- Andrews served as a Christian missionary in Japan from January 16, 1916, until her death on September 16, 1961. She financed the building of four churches in Shizuoka, Shimizu, Okitsu, and Numazu. The collection includes six photographs of Sarah and/or members of her family, a short biography of her, and a copy of the publication Tachiba "Standpoint" A View From Japan from March 1986, which talks about the work that Sarah did as a missionary.

Banowsky (William S.) Papers- The collection contains professional and personal papers of William S. Banowsky dating from 1926 to 2012. The bulk of the materials range from 1955 to 1990 and document his professional involvement with Pepperdine University, the University of Oklahoma, Gaylord Broadcasting Company, the Texas Superconducting Super Collider Authority, and National Medical Enterprises; political topics and professional services; collected printed and written material (such as poems and articles); and personal documents including speeches, personal and family history, travel, photographs, and book research for The Malibu Miracle.

Lambert (Scott D.) Papers- Scott D. Lambert Papers documents the activities of Scott Lambert during his tenure as the campus minister of the Malibu Church of Christ (later known as the University Church of Christ) at Pepperdine University from 1987-2005.The collection includes correspondence, clippings, ministry planning materials, intern training materials, meeting minutes, and ministry records.

Lovell (James L.) Papers- Lovell was a prominent member of the Churches of Christ, prolific author and editor of religious publications, and a member of Pepperdine University's Board of Trustees for 35 years. The papers contain correspondence, articles, minutes, notes, reports, photographs, and slides documenting Lovell's relationship with Pepperdine and its administrators, his involvement in the Churches of Christ and individual churches, and his personal life including his career in the construction industry. Also included in the collection are copies of publications produced by Lovell throughout his life, most notably West Coast Christian and California Christian. Materials in the collection span from 1932 to 1999.

McCaleb (J.M.) Papers- McCaleb was a missionary from the Churches of Christ who spent nearly fifty years of service in Japan from 1892-1941. McCaleb taught at George Pepperdine College upon his return from the mission field. The collection includes scrapbooks, clippings, correspondence, and publications both written and compiled by McCaleb. 

Moore (James C.) Papers- Moore was an administrator for a number of colleges, serving most notably as controller and vice president for Pepperdine University. The papers contain correspondence, subject files, memorandums, articles, photographs, news clippings and programs related to Moore's career in education as well as his personal life.

Pepperdine (George) Family Papers- The family papers are comprised of paper materials (such as correspondence, writings, and newspaper clippings), photographs, films, and memorabilia, dating from 1907 to 2002. Individuals represented in the collection include George Pepperdine, Lena Rose Pepperdine, Helen Louise Pepperdine, George B. Pepperdine, Florence May Pepperdine Crossley, Esther Louise Pepperdine Thurston, Marilyn Pepperdine, George Pepperdine II, and Wendell Pepperdine.

Rushford (Jerry) Papers-Jerry Rushford is a historian in the fields of religion and church history. He served as a minister at multiple institutions including Pepperdine University and now serves as the curator for the Churches of Christ Heritage Collection and the Rushford Center for Research at Pepperdine University. His papers contain materials from his research into the history of Pepperdine University, the Churches of Christ, the Stone-Campbell Restoration Movement, and hymnology. The Jerry Rushford Papers also contain materials from his ministry, teaching, and preaching.

Sanders (J.P.) Sermons- The collection includes audiocassettes of sermons given by J.P. Sanders from 1973 to 1986 at the Hillsboro Church of Christ in Nashville, Tennessee, and Conejo Valley Church of Christ in Thousand Oaks, California.

White (Howard A.) Papers- The collection contains professional and personal papers of Howard A. White dating from 1938 to 1991. The bulk of the materials range from 1957 to 1990 and document his professional involvement with Pepperdine University in various administrative roles, and personal documents including speeches, personal and family history, and book research for Crest of a Golden Wave.

Womack (Morris M.) Research Materials on J.P. Sanders- The collection includes research materials that Morris M. Womack used to write the biography J.P. Sanders: A Champion of Christian Education. Newspaper clippings, taped interviews with Sanders and others who knew him, as well as typed interview transcripts of the recordings, are part of the collection.

Young (M. Norvel and Helen) Papers- The collection contains the personal and professional papers of M. Norvel and Helen Young. The bulk of the materials range from the 1900s to early 2000s and document the Youngs' involvement with Pepperdine University; their families' lives; and their activities while based in Tennessee, Texas, and California.

Churches of Christ Church Programs and Weekly Bulletins- The collection includes weekly bulletins and church service programs from Churches of Christ located in California, Oregon, and Texas. The programs include Sunday service information, such as the schedule of service; announcements; prayer requests; Bible scripture; various articles from members of the church; and general information about the church and its services. These publications range from 1948 to 1969.

Integrity (Restoration Movement Publication) Editorial Board Records- Integrity, a journal associated with the Churches of Christ, was published from 1969 to 2002 in Flint, Michigan. This collection contains the minutes and financial reports of the Integrity editorial board (1969-2002), and its business papers including articles of incorporation, statement of purpose, by-laws, Michigan non-profit annual reports, reader survey results from 1994, and program brochures.

Palo Alto Church of Christ Records- This collection documents the Palo Alto Church of Christ which met in Palo Alto, California from 1961-2017. The collection contains financial and various church records, materials from the church's 25th and 50th anniversary celebrations, scrapbooks, newspaper clippings, and photos.

Pepperdine Bible Lectures Collection- The collection includes paper materials (including programs, correspondence, and other items) and audio recordings taken during Pepperdine Bible Lectures held in Los Angeles (beginning in 1943) and Malibu (beginning in 1973).

Winding Way Church of Christ Records- The Winding Way Church of Christ met in Carmichael, California from 1980 to 2007. The church was the result of a merge between two churches, California Avenue Church of Christ and Morse Avenue Church of Christ. The collection contains records of both of these previous churches in addition to records of the Winding Way Church of Christ. The records include financial statements, real estate transaction records, church directories, "Joy Bus" ministry records and photos, meeting minutes, Sunday school records, baptismal records, a membership scrapbook, attendance journals, guestbooks, and other ephemera.