Churches of Christ Heritage Collection

The Churches of Christ Heritage Collection is a repository of books, documents, photographs, religious periodicals, congregational histories, biographical studies, archival materials and artifacts of the Stone-Campbell Restoration Movement and the Churches of Christ. The Rushford Center for Research on the Churches of Christ and the Restoration Movement and the Heritage Collection are dedicated to the acquisition and preservation of these materials and to the promotion of research of this religious movement.

Scholarly attention to the Stone-Campbell Restoration Movement makes the work of the Rushford Center and the Heritage Collection vital to the self-understanding of Churches of Christ and the understanding others have of this movement. The Rushford Center also performs an essential role in support of the mission of Pepperdine University as it seeks to preserve and strengthen the University's historic ties to Churches of Christ.

The Heritage Collection will continue to solicit materials—especially out-of-print books, unique photographs, and rare archival items—on the history of Churches of Christ and the Stone-Campbell Restoration Movement as part of its ongoing mission.

Heritage Collection books may be browsed in the Rushford Center on the second floor of Payson Library. Archival collections from the Churches of Christ Heritage Collection can be viewed by appointment in the Boone Special Collections and Archives Research Room in Payson Library.

The Boone Special Collections and Archives is generally open Monday-Friday, 9am-5pm, whenever Payson Library is open. Advanced notice of your visit is recommended in order to ensure availability of materials and staff assistance.

Please contact Lucy Perrin (310-506-6801, Lucy.Perrin@pepperdine.edu) or Jerry Rushford (Jerry.Rushford@pepperdine.edu) to schedule an appointment or for any questions.