It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
This course provides a survey of current theories of family therapy and also includes a study of the philosophical, conceptual and theoretical background of family therapy. Theoretical formulations, definition of problem development, and treatment strategies of each theory are addressed. The course also includes practical demonstrations and videotapes illustrating these theoretical approaches. Assignments include examining the student's own family as a means of understanding theoretical concepts.
When selecting treatment for their clients, couple and family therapists are faced with a bewildering array of competing models. On closer inspection, the most effective of these approaches share common elements. This book looks beyond single models of treatment and instead presents an integrative model of couple and family therapy. In describing how the field has evolved over the years, Jay Lebow articulates a core set of principles from which therapists can shape their own best methods of practice.
The Handbook of Family Psychology provides a comprehensive overview of the theoretical underpinnings and established practices relating to family psychology. Includes summaries of the most recent research literature and clinical interventions for specific areas of interest to family psychology clinicians Features essays by recognized experts in a variety of specialized fields
This edition provides a clear, easily read and readily understandable introduction to family therapy. Much has happened in the field of family therapy since the fifth edition of Basic Family Therapy was published in 2007. New developments covered in this book include: Emotionally Focused Therapy, The Gottman approach to couples therapy, Mindfulness and psychotherapy, The common factors approach to psychotherapy and to family therapy. The increased emphasis on empirically supported treatments, High-conflict post-divorce parenting
This book offers a critical evaluation of the major schools of family therapy, provides an integrative model for the practice of marital and family therapy, and demonstrates how this model can be used in everyday practice with a range of common child-focused and adult-focused problems. It also provides a thorough, up-to-date review of research on the effectiveness of family therapy and outlines implications for evidence-based practice.