Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Using Online Reference Books to Begin Your Research
International Encyclopedia of Communication Online This link opens in a new window
Provides authoritative and up-to-date scholarship, spanning the breadth of communication studies, including coverage of theories, media and communication phenomena, research methods, problems, concepts, and geographical areas. Topics range from extended explorations of major topics to short definitions of key terms and include subjects, people, periods, places, and key topics.
These online reference books will help you identify topics you may be interested in researching.
The United Nations Treaty Collection
Oxford International Encyclopedia of Peace This link opens in a new window
Access to a comprehensive survey of the full range of historical, political, theoretical and philosophical issues relating to peace and conflict. All major figures are covered, as well as major events, organizations, and theories. Each entry is signed by a leading scholar in the field and contains a bibliography for further reading. The Encyclopedia also includes a peace chronology, key documents and appendices.
World Press Encyclopedia: a survey of press systems worldwide This link opens in a new window
Access to a comprehensive survey of press and electronic media which covers nearly 200 countries. Entries include an overview of the background, economic framework and general characteristics of each country's press plus the number and type of media, press laws, censorship issues, state-press relations, news agencies, electronic news media, education and training in journalism.
World Education Encyclopedia (2d ed. 2001) This link opens in a new window
Access to a country-by-country survey of educational systems provides detailed essays on the histories, legal foundations, and primary and secondary educational systems of 233 countries.
Worldmark Encyclopedia of the Nations (13th ed. 2012) This link opens in a new window
Presents information on 197 countries and dependencies from around the world. Entries discuss a variety of topics in detail, from banking and securities to climate, from government data to demographic statistics. Also includes biographical essays on national leaders.
Gale Encyclopedia of Multicultural America (3d ed., 2014) This link opens in a new window
This work includes 23 new culture groups and contains 152 revised entries on specific culture groups in the U.S., with an emphasis on religions, holidays, customs, language, in addition to information on historical background and settlement patterns. The encyclopedia also covers ethnoreligious groups such as Jews, Chaldeans and Amish. Each essay lists organizations and research centers; name, address, and contact information for periodicals, radio, and television stations; and a further readings section.