Skip to Main Content
Books on Greek Art
The art of ancient Greece : sources and documents by J J Pollitt
Call Number: N5630 .P56 1990
Contains a comprehensive collection in translation of ancient literary evidence relating to Greek sculpture, painting, architecture, and the decorative arts. The material is presented in a way which makes this important evidence available to students who are not specialists in the Classical languages or Classical archaeology. Accompanying the author's translations of a wide selection of Greek and Latin texts is an accessible, substantial bibliography, as well as an introduction, and explanatory commentary.
Archaic and classical Greek art by Robin Osborne
Call Number: N5630 .O83 1998
An introduction to the images and sculptures of Ancient Greece from the Geometric period to the early Hellenistic. By carefully examining the context in which sculptures and paintings were produced, author Robin Osborne shows how artists responded to the challenges they faced in the formidable and ambitious world of the Greek city-state, producing the rich diversity of forms apparent in Greek art. Artistic developments of the period combined the influences of the symbolism and imagery of eastern Mediterranean art with the explorations of humanity embodied in the narratives of Greek poetry
The Art of the Greek Goldsmith by Dyfri Williams
Call Number: Oversize NK7107.3 .A78 1998
Greek art. by John Boardman
Call Number: N5630 .B58
Art and experience in classical Greece by J J Pollitt
Call Number: N5630 .P54 1999
The emergence of the classical style in Greek sculpture by Richard T Neer
Call Number: Oversize NB90 .N447 2010 - also available online
In the fifth century BCE, an artistic revolution occurred in Greece, as sculptors developed the ways of representing bodies, movement, and space. This title tells the story of Greek sculpture. It provides the ways to understand classical sculpture in Greek terms, and analyzes the relationship between political and stylistic histories.
Understanding Greek sculpture : ancient meanings, modern readings by Nigel Jonathan Spivey
Call Number: NB90 .S66 1996
Greek sculpture : the archaic period : a handbook by John Boardman
Call Number: NB90 .B62 1978b
Greek sculpture : the classical period : a handbook by John Boardman
Call Number: NB94 .B62 1985
Greek sculpture : the late classical period and sculpture in colonies and overseas by John Boardman
Call Number: NB94 .B63 1995
The diffusion of classical art in antiquity by John Boardman
Call Number: Oversize N5340 .B59 1994
Greek Sculpture by Mark D. Fullerton
Call Number: Online
Publication Date: 2016-03-16
Presents a chronological overview of the plastic and glyptic art forms in the ancient Greek world from the emergence of life-sized marble statuary at the end of the seventh century BC to the appropriation of Greek sculptural traditions by Rome in the first two centuries AD. Compares the evolution of Greek sculpture over the centuries to works of contemporaneous Mediterranean civilizations Emphasizes looking closely at the stylistic features of Greek sculpture, illustrating these observations where possible with original works rather than copies Places the remarkable progress of stylistic changes that took place in Greek sculpture within a broader social and historical context Facilitates an understanding of why Greek monuments look the way they do and what ideas they were capable of expressing Focuses on the most recent interpretations of Greek sculptural works while considering the fragile and fragmentary evidence uncovered
Figures of speech : men and maidens in ancient Greece by Gloria Ferrari
Call Number: NK4645 .F47 2002
How to Read Greek Vases by Joan R. Mertens
Publication Date: 2011-01-18
Classical Greece and the Birth of Western Art by Andrew Stewart; Andrew F. Stewart
Call Number: Oversize N5630 .S74 2008
Publication Date: 2008
The Acropolis: the Acropolis Museum by Katerina Servi
Call Number: DF287.A2 S47 2011
Publication Date: 2011-04-15
Early Greek Portraiture by Catherine M. Keesling
Publication Date: 2017-05-03
New insight into the origins of civic honorific portraits that emerged at the end of the fifth century BC in ancient Greece. Surveying the subjects, motives and display contexts of Archaic and Classical portrait sculpture, Keesing demonstrates that the phenomenon of portrait representation in Greek culture is complex and without a single, unifying history. Bringing a multi-disciplinary approach to the topic, she grounds her study in contemporary texts such as Herodotus' Histories and situates portrait representation within the context of contemporary debates about the nature of arete (excellence), the value of historical commemoration and the relationship between the human individual and the gods and heroes. She argues that often the goal of Classical portraiture was to link the individual to divine or heroic models. Offering an overview of the role of portraits in Archaic and Classical Greece, her study includes local histories of the development of Greek portraiture in sanctuaries such as Olympia, Delphi and the Athenian Acropolis.
The art of ancient Greek theater by Mary Louise Hart; J Michael Walton
Call Number: Oversize N8252 .H37 2010
Magna Graecia : Greek art from south Italy and Sicily by Michael J Bennett; Aaron J Paul; Mario Iozzo; Bruce M White
Call Number: Oversize N5753 .M34 2002
The Greek world : art and civilization in Magna Graecia and Sicily by Giovanni Pugliese Carratelli; Palazzo Grassi.
Call Number: Oversize DG55.M3 G713 1996
Poseidon and the Sea by Seth D. Pevnick
Call Number: Oversize N7763.P67 P67 2014
Publication Date: 2014-03-11
A completely new exploration of the the myths and iconography of the Greek deity Poseidon, that looks at the sea and the art that it inspired in antiquity. It features remarkable Greek, Roman, and Etruscan objects from the Tampa Museum of Art, as well as other international and significant collections.
1000 Years of the Olympic Games by Paul Donnelly; Elisabeth Spathari; Terence Measham
Call Number: Starr N8250 .M43 2000 (Library use only)
Publication Date: 2000-11-01
The ancient Olympic Games began in 776 BC and ran for over 1000 years, waning during the Roman Empire and the advent of Christianity. The ancient games were imbued with a sacred significance. This book brings together some of the objects associated with these ancient games, including sculptures, grave markers, ceramic vases and sporting equipment. These objects originate from a broad geographical area, falling at one time or another into the Greek sphere. Despite their diversity of styles the objects remain connected by a group of uniting factors. They all relate to the theme of sport, most have a religious rather than secular significance and they all stand as rare examples of their kind.
Athens, the City Beneath the City: antiquities from the Metropolitan Railway excavations by Liana Stampolidis Parlama; Nicholas Stampolidis
Call Number: Starr DF275 .P6513 2000 (Library use only)
Publication Date: 2001-03-01
The extensive excavations required to build the new Athens Metro have unearthed archaeological finds of staggering importance. Under the modern city, untouched for thousands of years, lay a wealth of artifacts and the remains of homes, market-places, and temples from ancient Athens. This full-color book presents the astonishing discoveries from this city beneath the city -- bringing the capital of the classical world to life once again.Working just steps ahead of the Metro construction, archaeologists labored to preserve the ancient city, removing entire foundations intact. What they found can be seen in an extraordinary exhibition at the Museum of Cycladic Art in Athens -- and in this glorious book. Spanning Athenian life from the Mycenaean to the Byzantine eras, the 500 objects featured range from statues, pottery, and jewelry to tools, toys, a dog collar, and a large stone slab listing the dead from three battles of the Peloponnesian War, mentioned by Thucydides.
Corpus vasorum antiquorum
Describes the project, with the invitation of the Union AcadeÌmique Nationale and sponsorship of the Getty Grant Program and other institutions, for the Beazley Archive at Oxford University to digitize the approximately 250 out of print fascicules (out of over 300 published) over the period 2002-2004. The project is on-going; new fascicules are being published and participating museums have the opportunity to contribute to the on-line database.
DVDs on Greek Civilization
Ancient Greek civilization by Jeremy McInerney; Tamara Stonebarger; Sal Rodriguez; Teaching Company.
Call Number: DVD ED/DOC
Publication Date: 1998
Why do the ancient Greeks occupy such a prominent place in conceptions of Western culture and identity? The Greeks are a source of much that we esteem: democracy, philosophy, tragedy, epic and lyric poetry, history-writing, ideals of athletic competition, aesthetic sensibilities, and more. Spanning roughly 1,000 years, the lectures cover the Late Bronze Age (1500 B.C.E.) to the time of Alexander the Great in the late 4th century (400 B.C.E.). Greek civilization experienced a period of magnificent achievement, and then plunged into darkness, from which blossomed a second flowering of that civilization, giving us the foundation of our own
Greek accomplishments by Ronald C Meyer; Zay Harding; Centre Communications.; Ambrose Video Publishing.
Call Number: DVD ED/DOC
Publication Date: 2007
It has been said that all western art and science is but a footnote to ancient Greek accomplishments. In this program, the story is told of how Greek thinkers laid the foundation for architecture, painting, sculpture, history, philosophy, medicine, literature, zoology, botany, mathematics, astronomy, theater, and finally, the western scientific methodology. It is a history of a series of brilliant Greek thinkers from Homer in 700 B.C. to Ptolemy in 150 A.D.