Skip to Main Content
Research & Instruction Librarian
Digital Encyclopedias & Reference Materials
Encyclopedia of Communication Theory This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive overview of contemporary communication theory. Entries address topics related not only to paradigms, traditions, and schools, but also metatheory, methodology, inquiry, and applications and contexts.
AFI Catalog of Feature Films This link opens in a new window
Compiled by the American Film Institute, this national filmography documents around 60,000 American feature films and 17,000 short films from 1893-1970. Detailed information on cast, crew, plot summaries, subjects, genres and historical notes are included for each film.
Encyclopedia of Popular Music (4th ed.) This link opens in a new window
This encyclopedia's 30,000 entries cover all genres and periods of popular music from 1900 to the present day, including jazz, country, folk, rap, reggae, techno, musicals, and world music.
Gale Virtual Reference Library This link opens in a new window
Access to encyclopedias and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research. Titles can be searched alone, by subject, or all titles can be searched together.
Schirmer Encyclopedia of Film This link opens in a new window
Provides a comprehensive and accessible introduction to film and film studies, covering such aspects as production, national traditions, studios, genres, critical theory and film history.
ProQuest Ebook Central This link opens in a new window
Includes e-books that were formerly in Pepperdine's ebrary and EBL collections.This database is only available to current Pepperdine students, faculty, and staff.
eBook Collection (EBSCO) formerly netLibrary This link opens in a new window
A collection of ebooks from EBSCOhost.