Guides: PSY 626 Research &amp; Evaluation Methods for Mental Health (Mascolo): Finding Tests & Assessment Instruments

APA Information on Tests & Instruments

This website provides the American Psychological Association's explanations and definitions about published and unpublished tests and offers a list of steps for researchers to follow in obtaining permission for the use of unpublished tests.

Resources for finding informaton about tests (reviews and applications) are also included.

FAQ/Finding Information About Psychological Tests
This website is divided into the following sections:
Introduction
Section 1: Published Psychological Tests
Section 2: Unpublished Psychological Tests and Measures
Section 3: A Final Word and Responsibilities of Test Users

Databases with Information about Instruments

Mental Measurements with Tests in Print
The gold standard in guides to instruments and surveys, MMY/TIP includes information about over 2,700 published contemporary testing instruments. Covers the areas of psychology, education, business, and leadership.
Note: does NOT include actual tests or questions questions...lists reviews, article citations, validity and reliability information, publisher contact and cost info.
PsycTests
The newest electronic source of information about test & Instruments, PsycTests includes descriptive summaries, full text, and relevant citations. Validity and reliability information.
Note: in many cases, the ACTUAL TEST QUESTIONS ARE INCLUDED.
more...less...
PsycTESTS is an electronic database providing descriptive summaries, full text, and relevant citations on the development and assessment of tests and measures that can be used in research and teaching. Updated monthly, PsycTESTS includes a wide variety of test types: achievement and aptitude tests, intelligence tests, tests of cognitive functioning, occupational tests, personality tests, and more. These include previously unpublished measures, tests developed by psychologists for which no source document has been located, and information about published tests available from commercial publishers.
PsycINFO
An important source for scholarly articles offering reviews of test, validity & reliability information, and empirical research using specific test.
Note: RARELY INCLUDES ACTUAL INSTRUMENT or test questions
For more information about searching PsycINFO for tests, see box below.
Dissertations and Theses
MANY dissertations INCLUDE THE SURVEY INSTRUMENTused for the study in an appendix.
Search for a dissertation with a topic and method that resembles yours, and look at the appendices. If the instrument used was published or proprietary, the student would probably not be allowed to include the actual questions by the publisher or author.

Sample Search Terms for PsycInfo

1) Rorschach-Test and Test-Reliability

(2) Eysenck Personality Inventory

(3) Intelligence-Measures and Personality

If a test is known by an acronym as well as by a subject heading, then combine both the acronym and the subject heading from the Thesaurus with the word OR:

(4) MMPI OR Minn-Multiphasic-Personality-InvenFamily and Society Studies Worldwide Provides indexing and abstracting of research, policy, and practice literature in the fields of family science, human ecology, human development, and social welfare. Journals, books, conference papers, government reports, and popular literature are indexed.

PSY 626 Research & Evaluation Methods for Mental Health (Mascolo)

Head, WLA Campus Library, Graduate School of Education and Psychology Liaison

APA Information on Tests & Instruments

Databases with Information about Instruments

Sample Search Terms for PsycInfo