Guides: PSY 626 Research &amp; Evaluation Methods for Mental Health (Mascolo): Finding Journal Articles

Psychology Databases

Mental Measurements Yearbook with Tests in Print
Comprehensive guide to contemporary testing instruments in areas of psychology, education, business, and leadership.
First published by Oscar K. Buros, the MMY series allows users to make knowledgeable judgments and informed selection decisions about the increasingly complex world of testing. MMY provides coverage from Volume 1 to the present. Produced by the Buros Institute of Mental Measurements at the University of Nebraska, Tests in Print (TIP) serves as a comprehensive bibliography to all known commercially available tests that are currently in print in the English language. TIP provides vital information to users including test purpose, test publisher, in-print status, price, test acronym, intended test population, administration times, publication date(s), and test author(s).
PsycARTICLES
From the American Psychological Association (APA), is a definitive source of full text, peer-reviewed scholarly and scientific articles in psychology. It contains more than 153,000 articles from nearly 80 journals published by the American Psychological Association (APA), and from allied organizations. It includes all journal articles, book reviews, letters to the editor, and errata from each journal. Coverage spans 1894 to the present and nearly all APA journals go back to Volume 1, Issue 1. PLEASE NOTE: ALL JOURNALS IN PSYCARTICLES ARE ALSO INCLUDED IN PSYCHINFO.
PsychiatryOnline
Portal featuring DSM-V-TR, the most widely used psychiatric reference in the world and The American Journal of Psychiatry plus a collection of psychiatric references and journals from American Psychiatric Publishing, Inc., self-assessment tools, and clinical & research news. All journals, with the exception of Psychiatric News, available in this database are peer reviewed. DOES NOT WORK WELL WITH INTERNET EXPLORER.
PsycINFO
The American Psychological Association’s (APA) resource for abstracts of scholarly journal articles, book chapters, books, and dissertations, is the largest resource devoted to peer-reviewed literature in behavioral science and mental health. It contains over 3 million records and summaries dating as far back as the 1600s. Journal coverage, which spans from the 1800s to the present, includes international material selected from around 2,500 periodicals in dozens of languages. PLEASE NOTE: PSYCINFO INCLUDES PSYCARTICLES, DESCRIBED ABOVE.

PsycTests
PsycTESTS is an electronic database providing descriptive summaries, full text, and relevant citations on the development and assessment of tests and measures that can be used in research and teaching. Updated monthly, PsycTESTS includes a wide variety of test types: achievement and aptitude tests, intelligence tests, tests of cognitive functioning, occupational tests, personality tests, and more. These include previously unpublished measures, tests developed by psychologists for which no source document has been located, and information about published tests available from commercial publishers. [NOTE: To search only PsycTESTS, uncheck the box marked APA Books]

Education Databases

For issues related to childhood development, consider these education and youth-focused databases.

Education Full Text
Provides full text of articles from over 350 journals as far back as 1996, in addition to indexing of more than 770 periodicals dating back to 1983. Content includes in-depth coverage of special education and more than 100,000 controlled and cross-referenced names of educational tests.

ERIC (Education Resources Information Center)
Provides access to education literature and resources. The database provides access to information from journals included in the Current Index of Journals in Education and Resources in Education Index. The database contains more than 1.3 million records and links to more than 323,000 full-text documents dating back to 1966.
Child Welfare Information Gateway
A service of the Children's Bureau, Administration for Children and Families, U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, covers topics from prevention to permanency, including child welfare, child abuse and neglect, and adoption.

General Research Databases

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Provides full text coverage to peer-reviewed titles in the social sciences, humanities, general science, multi-cultural studies, education and more.
Medline
Covers medicine, nursing, dentistry and the pre-clinical sciences and includes bibliographic citations and author abstracts from more than 4,600 biomedical journals published in the United States and 70 other countries.

Science Direct
Provides indexing and abstracting for over 2,500 scientific, technical and medical journals as well as access to 503 full-text Elsevier journals, plus 45 titles in the Psychology backfile.

Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition
Provides nearly 550 scholarly full-text journals, including 441 peer-reviewed journals focusing on many medical disciplines. Also featured are abstracts and indexing for nearly 850 journals. Full-text information in this database dates as far back as 1975.
Coverage of nursing and allied health is particularly strong, including full text from Creative Nursing, Issues in Comprehensive Pediatric Nursing, Issues in Mental Health Nursing, Journal of Advanced Nursing, Journal of Child & Adolescent Psychiatric Nursing, Journal of Clinical Nursing, Journal of Community Health Nursing, Journal of Nursing Management, Nursing Ethics, Nursing Forum, Nursing Inquiry, and many more. In addition, this database includes Lexi-PAL Drug Guide.
Health Source: Consumer Edition
Provides access to nearly 80 full text, consumer health magazines, includes searchable full text for more than 1,000 health-related pamphlets and 130 health reference books, including books published by the People's Medical Society. Contains more than 4,500 Clinical Reference Systems reports (in English and Spanish) and the Lexi-PAL Drug Guide, covering 1,300 generic drug patient education sheets with more than 4,700 brand names, and Merriam-Webster's Medical Desk Dictionary.

PSY 626 Research & Evaluation Methods for Mental Health (Mascolo)

Head, WLA Campus Library, Graduate School of Education and Psychology Liaison

Psychology Databases

Education Databases

General Research Databases