Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Philosopher's Index This link opens in a new window
Provides indexing and abstracts from books and journals of philosophy and related fields. Covers the areas of ethics, aesthetics, social philosophy, political philosophy, epistemology, and metaphysic logic as well as material on the philosophy of law, religion, science, history, education, and language.
Encyclopedia of Philosophy This link opens in a new window
Contains more than 2,100 entries including approx. 1,000 biographical entries. This 10 volume second edition integrates most of the original 1967 and supplementary 1996 material with hundreds of new articles, addenda to earlier articles, and updated bibliographies; each entry and bibliographical update is dated.
Project MUSE This link opens in a new window
Project MUSE offers full-text current and archival articles from 600+ scholarly journals from major university presses covering literature and criticism, history, performing arts, cultural studies, education, philosophy, political science, gender studies, and more. Updated continually.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Access the journal archives Arts & Sciences I, II, & III, IV, and over 40,000 ebooks on the JSTOR platform; book chapters and journal articles are cross-searchable. JSTOR is an extensive archive of interdisciplinary journals and books, covering subject disciplines in Arts, Business & Economics, History, Humanities, Law, Science & Mathematics, Social Sciences, and Religion.
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Provides full text coverage to nearly 9,100 journals, including over 7,900 peer-reviewed titles in the social sciences, humanities, general science, multi-cultural studies, education and more. Full-text coverage dates back to 1985 and is updated daily.
Schools & Perspective - Legal Theory/Philosophy of Law
A Companion to Philosophy of Law and Legal Theory by
Publication Date: 2010-03-29
The articles in this new edition of A Companion to Philosophy of Law and Legal Theory have been updated throughout, and the addition of ten new articles ensures that the volume continues to offer the most up-to-date coverage of current thinking in legal philosophy. Represents the definitive handbook of philosophy of law and contemporary legal theory, invaluable to anyone with an interest in legal philosophy Now features ten entirely new articles, covering the areas of risk, regulatory theory, methodology, overcriminalization, intention, coercion, unjust enrichment, the rule of law, law and society, and Kantian legal philosophy Essays are written by an international team of leading scholars
Publication Date: 2007-07-17
In this superb introduction, Samuel Freeman introduces and assesses the main topics of Rawls' philosophy. Starting with a brief biography and charting the influences on Rawls' early thinking, he goes on to discuss the heart of Rawls's philosophy: his principles of justice and their practical application to society. Subsequent chapters discuss Rawls's theories of liberty, political and economic justice, democratic institutions, goodness as rationality, moral psychology, political liberalism, and international justice and a concluding chapter considers Rawls' legacy. Clearly setting out the ideas in Rawls' masterwork, A Theory of Justice, Samuel Freeman also considers Rawls' other key works, including Political Liberalismand The Law of Peoples. An invaluable introduction to this deeply influential philosopher, Rawlsis essential reading for anyone coming to his work for the first time.
The Cambridge Companion to Rawls by
Publication Date: 2002-11-04
Each volume of this series of companions to major philosophers contains specially commissioned essays by an international team of scholars and will serve as a reference work for students and nonspecialists. John Rawls is the most significant and influential philosopher and moral philosopher of the twentieth century. His work has profoundly shaped contemporary discussions of social, political and economic justice in philosophy, law, political science, economics and other social disciplines. In this exciting collection of essays, many of the world's leading political and moral theorists discuss the full range of Rawls's contribution to the concepts of political and economic justice, democracy, liberalism, constitutionalism, and international justice. There are also assessments of Rawls's controversial relationships with feminism, utilitarianism and communitarianism. New readers will find this to be an accessible guide to Rawls. Advanced students and specialists will find a conspectus of developments in the interpretation of Rawls.