It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
To access Academic Search Alumni, Business Source Alumni, or JSTOR Alumni, please call Alumni Affairs at 310.506.6190 or email@example.com ask a staff member for the database username and password.
With a broad academic scope, this database offers alumni an invaluable research tool for their post-college pursuits. It provides full text as well as indexing and abstracts for thousands of peer-reviewed journals and general periodicals
JSTOR is an extensive archive of interdisciplinary journals, covering subject disciplines in Arts, Business & Economics, History, Humanities, Law, Science & Mathematics, Social Sciences, and Religion. JSTOR Alumni provides access to the journal archives Arts & Sciences I, II, & III.
LISTA indexes more than 560 core journals, nearly 50 priority journals, and nearly 125 selective journals; plus books, research reports and proceedings. Subject coverage includes librarianship, classification, cataloging, bibliometrics, online information retrieval, information management and more.
Green FILE draws on the connections between the environment and a variety of disciplines such as agriculture, education, law, health and technology. Topics covered include global climate change, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling and more.
OpenDissertations is an open-access database built to assist researchers in locating both historic and contemporary dissertations and theses. Created with the generous support of the H.W. Wilson Foundation and the Congregational Library & Archives in Boston, it incorporates EBSCO’s previously released American Doctoral Dissertations, and features additional dissertation metadata contributed by select colleges and universities from around the world. Providing researchers with citations to graduate research across a span of time, from the early 20th century to the present, this database will continue to grow through regular updates and new partnerships with graduate degree-granting institutions.
Artstor’s ever-growing Public Collections offer approximately 1.3 million freely accessible images, videos, documents, and audio files from library special collections, faculty research, and institutional history materials, as well as hundreds of thousands of open access images from partner museums.
The arXiv.org is an archive for electronic preprints of scientific papers in the fields of mathematics, physics, astronomy, computer science, quantitative biology, statistics, and quantitative finance which can be accessed online.
The DPLA offers a single point of access to millions of items—photographs, manuscripts, books, sounds, moving images, and more—from libraries, archives, and museums around the United States.
Users can browse and search the DPLA’s collections by timeline, map, format, and topic; save items to customized lists; and share their lists with others. Users can also explore digital exhibitions curated by the DPLA’s content partners and staff.
The Directory of Open Access Books (DOAB), a service provided by the OAPEN Foundation, is a discovery service that points to open access books. The primary aim of DOAB is to increase discoverability of Open Access books. As of Feb. 2014 there were 1806 Academic peer-reviewed books from 57 publishers. DOAB is open to all publishers who publish academic, peer reviewed books in Open Access and should contain as many books as possible, provided that these publications are in Open Access and meet academic standards.
This service covers free, full text, quality controlled scientific and scholarly journals covering all subjects and languages from 134 countries. There are over 9,950 journals in the directory. As of 2014, 5,835 journals are searchable at article level.
The Virtual Library includes titles published by the J. Paul Getty Museum, the Getty Conservation Institute, and the Getty Research Institute.The publications span the Getty’s publishing history, and include collection catalogues that highlight masterpieces from Getty collections, translations of texts on the visual arts, essential works of art historical research, exhibition catalogues, journals, and publications that serve as key resources in the conservation of the world’s cultural heritage.
PubMed comprises more than 22 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations may include links to full-text content from PubMed Central and publisher web sites.
PsyArXiv (psychology archive) is designed to facilitate rapid dissemination of psychological research. PsyArXiv is a creation of theSociety for the Improvement of Psychological Science (SIPS) and the Center for Open Science (COS) and provides free preprints for the psychological sciences.
SocArXiv, open archive of the social sciences, is a partner of the nonprofit Center for Open Science (COS) and is housed at the University of Maryland.
Open Access Articles
Try using Unpaywall, an open database of 24,188,597 free scholarly articles. The Unpaywall browser extension harvests content directly from over 50,000 journals and open-access repositories from all over the world. It also uses open data from PubMed Central, the DOAJ, Crossref (particularly their license info), and DataCite.
The Open Access Button is another free tool that allows you to find free, legal articles with just a click, and it will email an author to get a copy if one isn't available. It's available as a Chrome and Firefox browser plugin, as well as a website.
Many public libraries offer a variety of databases free of charge for library card holders. Users must apply for library cards in person. Some databases are accessible over the web and some are accessible in libraries.
Some public libraries may impose residential restrictions on the issuance of a library card.
In 2010, Pepperdine Libraries launched Pepperdine Digital Collections, a project designed to facilitate the discovery of and access to a wide variety of digital materials drawn from Pepperdine's unique archival holdings.
Our most recent initiative is Pepperdine Digital Commons, which offers an e-publication and digital archiving platform for the scholarly output of Pepperdine's vibrant academic community, including journals, faculty webpages, conference proceedings, exemplary student research, and more.
Click here to learn more about Pepperdine Digital Commons.