Guides: ARTH 436 Modern Art and the Experience of Modernity, 1880s-1950s: Home

Getting Started: Grove Art Online

For background information, start with an exhaustive reference work such as Grove Art Online Oxford Art Online also includes the Encyclopedia of Aesthetics and The Oxford Companion to Western Art.

Bibliographies located in books or at the end of journal articles can be very helpful. To learn if Pepperdine has access to a particular journal, search for the name of the journal in the library catalog, or use the 'Find E-journals' search feature on the Library's Web site.

Useful Subject Headings for Modern Art

Artistic collaboration

Art, Modern
Arts, Modern--19th century
Arts, Modern--20th century

Art and photography

Art and motion pictures

Avant-garde (aesthetics)

Criticism--History--19th century
Criticism--History--20th century

Design--History--19th century
Design--History--20th century
Designers--Biography

Feminism and art

Modernism (aesthetics)
Modernism (art)
Modern Movement (architecture)

Painting, French--19th century
Painting, French--20th century

Women in art

Art History Databases

Art Full Text This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive, international resource covering fine, decorative and commercial art, as well as photography, folk art, film, and architecture.
Full-text articles from more than 300 periodicals dating back to 1995
High-quality indexing and abstracting of over 600 periodicals dating as far back as 1984, including 280 peer-reviewed journals
Indexing and abstracting of over 13,000 art dissertations
Indexing of nearly 200,000 art reproductions

Bibliography of the History of Art (BHA)
The Getty Research Institute provides access to the BHA and to the Repertoire de la litterature de l'art (RILA) for no charge on its Web site. The databases, searchable together, cover material published between 1975 and 2007.

Grove Art Online (now part of Oxford Art Online) This link opens in a new window
Access to foremost scholarly art encyclopedia covering all aspects of Western and non-Western visual art, including the full text of The Dictionary of Art.
Also includes The Oxford Companion to Western Art, edited by Hugh Brigstocke (2001), The Concise Oxford Dictionary of Art Terms by Michael Clarke and Deborah Clarke, and Encyclopedia of Aesthetics edited by Michael Kelly (1998).

Getting Started with Multidisciplinary Databases

JSTOR
Access the journal archives Arts & Sciences I, II, III, IV, VI, & VII and over 40,000 ebooks on the JSTOR platform; book chapters and journal articles are cross-searchable. JSTOR is an extensive archive of interdisciplinary journals and books, covering subject disciplines in Arts, Business & Economics, History, Humanities, Law, Science & Mathematics, Social Sciences, and Religion.

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Provides full text coverage to peer-reviewed titles in the social sciences, humanities, general science, multi-cultural studies, education and more.
Dissertations & Theses Global (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Doctoral dissertations and master's theses, from 1743 to the present. Full text for most dissertations since 1997.

ARTstor Images for Your Presentations

Paul Cézanne. 1890 - 1894. Woman with Coffeepot. Place: Musée d'Orsay. https://library.artstor.org/asset/SCALA_ARCHIVES_1039930400.

The best place to find images for your presentation is the database, ARTstor . Log on to ARTstor, create a personal account and create an image group. Then view information on how to Export of Power Point

You can search ARTstor by the name of an art work, by geography, by classification (for example, sculpture and instrallations), or by collection (for example, Detroit Institute of Arts Collection). Use the Advanced Search to limit by date.

Helpful videos on using ARTstor can be found on UTube

Call Numbers for Art

The call numbers ranges for Art are:

N Visual arts
NA Architecture
NB Sculpture
NC Drawing. Design. Illustration
ND Painting
NE Print media
NK Decorative arts
NX Arts in general

Books can be found in both the regular and Oversize book stacks. Many art books are in storage in Calabasas and must be requested through the library catalog. Selected books from the Starr Collection are on display in the middle of the Main Stacks; these books must be used in the library and cannot be checked out.

ARTH 436 Modern Art and the Experience of Modernity, 1880s-1950s

Welcome

Librarian