Guides: GSSO 199.03 Concepts in Positive Psychology (N.Fitzpatrick): Getting Started

Online Books

Positive Psychology: A Toolkit for Happiness, Purpose and Well-being by Bridget Grenville-Cleave
ISBN: 9781848319561
Publication Date: 2016-03-03
Positive Psychology will help you to look on the bright side and to find your place in the world around you.With expert encouragement and guidance, you will set out your own positive psychology project to discover your strengths, overcome negative attitudes, focus on what gives you purpose, and take control of your life choices.
Positive Psychology in a Nutshell by Ilona Boniwell
Call Number: EBL Library
ISBN: 9780335247202
Publication Date: 2012-10-01
The book provides a breadth of information about positive psychology with a pinch of critical commentary, and practical tips and tools throughout on how to practice so that you flourish.
Mindfulness, Acceptance, and Positive Psychology by Joseph Ciarrochi (Editor); Todd B. Kashdan (Editor)
Call Number: EBL Library
ISBN: 9781608823376
Publication Date: 2013-04-01
For decades now, scientists and psychologists alike have been studying the strengths and virtues that enable individuals and communities to thrive. The positive psychology movement was founded on the belief that people want to lead meaningful and fulfilling lives, to cultivate what is best within themselves, and to enhance their experiences of love, work, and play.

Reference Books

The Encyclopedia of Positive Psychology by Shane J. Lopez; Shane J. Lopez (Editor)
Call Number: Wiley Online Library
ISBN: 9781405161251
Publication Date: 2009-02-02
Provides a comprehensive and accessible summary of this growing area of scholarship and practice.
Handbook of Positive Emotions by Michele M. Tugade (Editor); Michelle N. Shiota (Editor); Leslie D. Kirby (Editor); Barbara L. Fredrickson (Foreword by)
Call Number: EBL Library
ISBN: 9781462513970
Publication Date: 2014-02-03
Reviews the breadth of current knowledge about positive emotions: their nature, functions, and consequences for individuals and society.
The Wiley Handbook of Positive Clinical Psychology by A. M. Wood
ISBN: 9781118468210
Publication Date: 2016-04-21
Edited by the founder of the field, this is the first handbook on positive clinical psychology--a revolutionary approach that places equal importance on both the positive and negative aspects of mental health and well-being. Discusses theory, research, and practice across a broad range of topics such as optimism, positive affect, well-being therapy, childhood well-being, evolutionary perspectives, and clinical implementation

Journal

Issues of The Journal of Positive Psychology from 1997 to date are available to Pepperdine through the Taylor & Francis Social Science & Humanities Library

Useful Databases for Finding Articles

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Provides full text coverage to nearly 9,100 journals, including over 7,900 peer-reviewed titles in the social sciences, humanities, general science, multi-cultural studies, education and more. Full-text coverage dates back to 1985 and is updated daily.
PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
The American Psychological Association’s (APA) resource for abstracts of scholarly journal articles, book chapters, books, and dissertations, is the largest resource devoted to peer-reviewed literature in behavioral science and mental health. It contains over 5 million records and summaries dating as far back as the 1600s. Journal coverage, which spans from the 1800s to the present, includes international material selected from around 2,500 periodicals in dozens of languages.
PsycARTICLES This link opens in a new window
From the American Psychological Association (APA), is a definitive source of full text, peer-reviewed scholarly and scientific articles in psychology. It contains more than 178,000 articles from 103 journals published by the American Psychological Association (APA), and from allied organizations. It includes all journal articles, book reviews, letters to the editor, and errata from each journal. Coverage spans 1894 to the present and nearly all APA journals go back to Volume 1, Issue 1.
Health Source : Nursing/Academic Edition This link opens in a new window
Provides access to over 500 scholarly full-text journals, including 436 peer-reviewed journals focusing on many medical disciplines. Also featured are abstracts and indexing for 829 journals. Full-text information in this database dates as far back as 1975.

Coverage of nursing and allied health is particularly strong, including full text from Creative Nursing, Issues in Comprehensive Pediatric Nursing, Issues in Mental Health Nursing, Journal of Advanced Nursing, Journal of Child & Adolescent Psychiatric Nursing, Journal of Clinical Nursing, Journal of Community Health Nursing, Journal of Nursing Management, Nursing Ethics, Nursing Forum, Nursing Inquiry, and many more. In addition, this database includes Lexi-PAL Drug Guide.
Sage Journals Online This link opens in a new window
Provides access to the full text of individual SAGE journals, including issues dating back to 1999. SAGE publishes journals in Business, Communication, Humanities, Social Sciences, and Science, Technology and Medicine and includes leading international peer-reviewed titles, including high-impact research journals published on behalf of over 245 scholarly and professional societies.

How to Read a Journal Article

Anatomy of a scholarly journal
How to read a journal article
Tips and tricks to make reading and understanding social science journal articles easier. [from the ICPSR website]

Current Newspapers Online

Los Angeles Times This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Indexing and full-text access to the Los Angeles Times including extensive coverage of national, international and local news. Covers 1985 to current date.
New York Times (NYTimes.com) This link opens in a new window
**Access requires logging in with a NYTimes.com account. Register using your Pepperdine email address here. (Do not click "Continue with Google"). For more information, visit our Guide. ** With NYTimes.com Passes, you have full access to the extensive breaking news, world news, and multimedia of The New York Times without needing your own subscription. Enjoy full access to NYTimes.com, INYT.com and NYT mobile apps from any device. Articles printed prior to 1980 are available by searching NYTimes.com.
Newspaper Source This link opens in a new window
Newspaper Source provides cover-to-cover full text for 40 national (U.S.) & international newspapers, including The Christian Science Monitor, USA Today, The Washington Post, The Washington Times, The Times (London), Toronto Star, etc. The database also contains selected full text for more than 330 regional (U.S.) newspapers, including The Boston Globe, Chicago Tribune, Detroit Free Press, The Miami Herald, Daily News (New York), San Jose Mercury News, etc.

Full text television & radio news transcripts are provided from CBS News, CNN, CNN International, FOX News, NPR, and others

Watch Streaming Video

Academic Video Online This link opens in a new window
Academic Video Online is a comprehensive video subscription, delivering almost 70,000 titles spanning subject areas including anthropology, business, counseling, film, health, history, music, and more.

Web Sites

Positive Psychology Center at the University of Pennsylvania
"The Positive Psychology Center promotes research, training, education, and the dissemination of Positive Psychology." (from the website)
Authentic Happiness
"Authentic Happiness is the homepage of Dr. Martin Seligman, Director of the Positive Psychology Center at the University of Pennsylvania and founder of positive psychology, a branch of psychology which focuses on the empirical study of such things as positive emotions, strengths-based character, and healthy institutions."

Course Description

This seminar will explore concepts in positive psychology. Students will be challenged to think critically about the research in this area, as well as their own subjective experience. Students will increase their knowledge and experience of positive psychology in everyday life.

Librarian

Elizabeth Parang

Email Me

Contact:

Pepperdine University Libraries
24255 Pacific Coast Hwy
Malibu, CA 90263

310-506-4046

Subjects: African American Studies, American Studies, Art, Art History, Creative Writing, Education, English 101 & 100, English Literature, Humanities, Literature, Music, Psychology