Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
A sample of books in the Payson Library collection
Ghada Amer by
Call Number: Oversize N7385.A44 R45 2010
Publication Date: 2010
Over the past 20 years, Ghada Amer's quest to forge an aesthetic language for the oppression of women has established her as one of the most important and widely exhibited contemporary artists. This monograph is the first publication to document the full breadth of her art, with numerous images of and detailed commentary on her paintings, sculptures, drawings, prints, videos, performances and garden works. Art historian Maura Reilly contributes a substantial scholarly text that chronicles the trajectory of Amer's career, and art historian Laurie Farrell focuses on the artist's collaborative works with Reza Farkondeh.
Who Is Sleeping on My Pillow by
Call Number: Oversize ND793.A575 A4 2010
Publication Date: 2010
The Swedish artist couple Mamma Andersson (born 1962) and Jockum Nordström (born 1963) have been at the forefront of contemporary figurative painting since the late 1980s. Updating Vuillard for a post- Hitchcock age, Andersson paints beguilingly eerie untenanted interiors and landscapes. Who Is Sleeping on My Pillow showcases Andersson and Nordström's work from the late 1980s to the present day in over 260 full-colour plates. Alongside these, it also includes family snapshots and source materials, texts by Paolo Colombo and Anders Krüger, a poem by Stig Claesson and an interview with Nordström by Marcel Dzama.
Adrian Ghenie : new paintings by
Call Number: Oversize ND933.G44 A4 2013
Publication Date: 2013
Catalog of an art exhibition held March 8 - May 4, 2013, Pace Gallery, New York, New York
Eat, Child, Eat! by
Call Number: Oversize ND588.G694 A4 2011
Publication Date: 2011
Katharina Groose is one of the internationally most important representatives of contemporary painting. This book presents a selection of her canvas paintings.
Julie Mehretu by
Call Number: Oversize ND237.M4165 A4 2006
Publication Date: 2007
This is the first comprehensive monograph on a strong new talent in contemporary painting.
Yue Minjun by
Call Number: Oversize N7349.Y85 A4 2012
Publication Date: 2013
Born in 1962 in the city of Daqing in Heilongjiang Province in China, Yue Minjun is an icon of contemporary Chinese painting. Yue Minjun's paintings are immediately recognizable: they are painted in bright colors on large canvases and peopled almost exclusively by laughing male figures, all which are self-portraits either presented as a single figure or replicated over and over again to form a battalion of grinning frozen-faced clones.
Murakami: Ego by
Call Number: Oversize N7359.M87 A4 2007
Publication Date: 2012
A comprehensive volume—overseen by the artist himself—on one of the most renowned living artists today, Takashi Murakami. Takashi Murakami is celebrated the world over for his deft blurring of high and low art. Conceived by the artist as a self-portrait in the guise of a cartoon, Murakami – Ego illuminates the role of the artist as a cipher and critic of pop phenomena as well as a mirror of global networks of consumerism, interpretation, and exchange. The book features some of the artist’s most celebrated series, including Kaikai Kiki Lots of Faces and Pom and Me.
Chris Ofili by
Call Number: Oversize ND497.O345 A4 2009
Publication Date: 2009
Chris Ofili's intricately constructed works, combining beadlike dots of paint, collaged images from popular media, and elephant dung, create a unique iconography that marries African artistic and ritual practices with Western art historical traditions and contemporary hip-hop culture. This beautifully designed book, made in close collaboration with the artist, is the first to examine Ofili's artistic development and surveys his work in watercolor, graphite drawing, and sculpture.
Laura Owens by
Call Number: Oversize ND237.O96 A4 2015
Publication Date: 2015
Since first coming into prominence in the '90s and early 2000s, Laura Owens's work has offered a set of wholly new and critical ideas about painting. Propelled by the conviction that her work should prompt difficult questions about the nature of painting, Owens distinguishes her work by refusing to commit to one artistic identity. LAURA OWENS surveys the many facets of the artist's work that have been responsible for her influential career.
Elizabeth Peyton by
Call Number: Oversize N6537.P428 A4 2005
Publication Date: 2005
American artist Elizabeth Peyton is one of the outstanding painters of her generation, a painter known for her intimate figurative portraits of youthful, romantic people, ranging from friends, to historical figures, to music world celebrities. Compiled by Peyton herself, the book chronicles ten years of inspiration, her works in many media, and her exhibitions, revealing the evolution of this exceptional artist who has been highly influential, in the words of the New York Times, in bringing "a return to beauty in art, a resurgence of figurative work, and a revival of painting."
Jenny Saville by
Call Number: Oversize ND1329.S29 A4 2005
Publication Date: 2005
At thirty-two, Jenny Saville has had a career most artists twice her age would envy. In 1992, the year she completed her studies at Glasgow School of Art, her graduation exhibition sold out. Most notably, one painting was bought by Charles Saatchi and, since then, her international reputation has grown at a rapid and steady pace. This is the only monograph devoted to the critically acclaimed young artist and features all of Jenny Saville's paintings to date-including many previously unpublished.
Kehinde Wiley by
Call Number: Oversize ND237.W553 A8 2012
Publication Date: 2012
Known for his oversize paintings of contemporary African-Americans in heroic poses inspired by the great history and portrait painters of the past, Kehinde Wiley's clever and ironic 'reversals' have provided rich commentary on the nature of race and power in our society. His work began primarily from photographs he took of young men on the street in Harlem that he remixed with a fusion of historic painting styles, including elements of the French rococo. This volume-the only comprehensive monograph on Wiley's work-offers an in-depth understanding of this important artist's work. It chronicles both the earliest paintings and photographs and his recent forays into sculpture-bust portraits in bronze in the manner of Renaissance artists.
Read books online
Search for your artist in e-books:
ProQuest Ebook Central This link opens in a new window
Includes e-books that were formerly in Pepperdine's ebrary and EBL collections.This database is only available to current Pepperdine students, faculty, and staff.
ProQuest Ebook Central tutorials This link opens in a new window
Tutorials on how to borrow, download, annotate, and create an online bookshelf for ebooks using Ebook Central.
Vitamin P: new perspectives in painting by
Call Number: Oversize ND195 .V55 2005
Publication Date: 2007-06-22
Vitamin P is an image-heavy book offering an overview of the state of painting today, and documents the most recent concerns and ideas among contemporary painters. In the wake of new media such as installation, video, performance and digital art, the traditional medium of painting has enjoyed a renaissance among a recent generation of artists. Alongside the ever growing reputation of significant living painters such as Gerhard Richter, Agnes Martin and Peter Halley, many younger artists have chosen painting over any other medium, and are exploring new means to broaden the traditional field of 'oil on canvas'. It is this younger generation (who emerged in the 1990s) that Vitamin P aims to represent in an A-Z survey of 114 of its leading, new, international practitioners, with each artist illustrated by numerous examples of his or her works, accompanied by a short explanatory text.
The Reckoning: women artists of the new millennium by
Call Number: N8354.H43 R43 2013
Publication Date: 2013-09-23
The authors bring into focus the accomplishments of 24 acclaimed international women artists born since 1960 who have benefited from the groundbreaking efforts of their predecessors. The book is organized in four thematic sections: "Bad Girls" profiles artists whose work represents an assault on conventional notions of gender and racial difference. "History Lessons" offers reflections on the self in the context of history and globalization. "Spellbound" focuses on women's embrace of the irrational, subjective, and surreal, while Domestic Disturbances" takes on women's conflicted relationship to home, family, and security. Written in lively prose and fully illustrated throughout, this book gives an informed account of the wonderful diversity of recent contemporary art by women. Includes GHADA AMER and JULIE MEHRETU
Painting People by
Call Number: Oversize ND1300.M85 P3 2006
Publication Date: 2008
Painting People, edited by the prominent London art historian and critic Charlotte Mullins, unites and contrasts the work of a key group of artists from around the world and investigates their richly varied accomplishments in lucid text with detailed commentaries accompanied by more than 150 reproductions. The list of contributing artists is stellar, ranging from photo-based painters like Luc Tuymans, Peter Doig and Marlene Dumas to Pop artists like Sigmar Polke and Alex Katz, photorealists like Chuck Close and Gerhard Richter, Neoexpressionists like Cecily Brown and comics-inspired painters like Yoshitoma Nara, Inka Essenhigh and TAKASHI MURAKAMI. There are erotic grotesques from John Currin and Lisa Yuskavage, meditations on the muse by ELIZABETH PEYTON and Lucian Freud, "Repro-realistic" work from Neo Rauch and of course self-portraits by Philip Akkerman and Marcel Dzama, among others. Includes MAMMA ANDERSSON, CHRIS OFILI and JENNY SAVILLE
Call Number: ND196.2 .P33 2011
Publication Date: 2011
This first anthology to focus on painting's multiple discourses over the last three decades brings together key statements, dialogues, and debates that have moved the conversation beyond the modern/postmodern dialectic while redefining the conditions necessary for an artwork to be described as "painting." The diversity of contemporary painting's meanings and practices encompasses the randomness and eclecticism associated with Web-based creation. Compiled by a leading critic of painting who actively participated in these conversations while also teaching young artists in the studio classroom, this collection ranges widely, to reflect the diversity of ways in which painting continues to be investigated and evaluated in studios, exhibition spaces, and the marketplace of ideas. These writings, statements, and interviews reflect ongoing debates and reignite questions for an as yet unimagined future of painting. Includes KATHARINA GROSSE and TAKASI MURAKAMI
Generations and Geographies in the Visual Arts by
Call Number: N72.F45 G46 1996
Publication Date: 1996-12-24
Generations and Geographies collects a unique assembly of artists, curators, critics and researchers to consider the question of sexual difference and its significance in the production and reception of visual representation by women artists.Generations indicates a sense of awareness of the historical and political positioning of women, whereas Geographies calls attention to their location in terms of nationality, imperialism, migration, exile, diaspora and social difference. Drawing on the fullest range of current theoretical perspectives, works by women artists of the twentieth century are examined in terms of themes such as the mother, the body, the land and history/memory. While representing artistic practices in the United States, Canada and Europe through the work of Orlan, Ana Mendieta and JENNY SAVILLE, Generations and Geographies counters the West's artistic hegemony by equally studying women working in non-western contexts. Unique coverage of such artists as Chilean Cecilia Vicuna, Shimada Yoshika from Japan, Jin-me Yoon and Re-Hyun Park from Korea, Bracha Lichtenberg from Israel, and British/Zanibari artist Lubiana Himid provides a long awaited international scope to the study of feminist theory in the visual arts.
Half-Life of a Dream by
Call Number: N72.S6 H28 2008
Publication Date: 2008-08-04
"Published to coincide with an exhibition at the San Francisco Museum of Modern Art, this volume offers a fascinating survey of the Chinese art and culture scene post-Tiananmen Square. Contemporary Chinese art is often discussed as a cynical reaction to emerging consumerism or as a satiric response to the academic patriotism of Socialist Realism. This richly illustrated catalogue reveals the work to be more haunted than cynical, more a matter of a nation's suppressed psychic expression than of Pop iconoclasm or ironic detachment. Approximately fifty paintings, sculptures, and installations convey a sense of the shadows and masks that have haunted the Chinese collective psyche during the nation's troubled process of modernization."--BOOK JACKET. Includes work by YUE MINJUN
New Art by
Call Number: Oversize N6493 1990 .N48 1997
Publication Date: 1997
New Art includes work by more than 100 artists from around the globe. Most but not all of the artists are under the age of 50, and all of the works were made since 1990. Painting, sculpture, photography, drawing, installation and video are featured. Includes ELIZABETH PEYTON.