It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
GSFA 199 Art and Faith in Asia (Kristen Brennan): Books on Asian Art
The strict prohibition on the representation of the human form has channeled artistic creation into architecture and architectural decoration. This book is a magical tour through Central Asia - Khirgizia, Tadjikistan, Turkmenia, and Uzbekistan - a cradle of Ancient civilisations and a repository of the oriental arts inspired by Buddhism and Islam.
With a wealth of information about the history, traditions, and religious beliefs of Southeast Asia, Philip Rawson surveys a vast array of works of art and crafts from the region. Since prehistoric times, the countries of Southeast Asia have created a unique melange of indigenous art and the art of neighboring India and China. From the bronze tombs of the Dong-son people in 500 BC, to the mystical, dramatic form of Indonesia puppetry in current day Java and Bali, from architectural wonders such as Borobudur, to a host of pagodas, shrines, and temples, Rawson explores a medley of Southeast Asian art.
A Companion to Asian Art and Architecture presents a collection of 26 original essays from top scholars in the field that explore and critically examine various aspects of Asian art and architectural history. Brings together top international scholars of Asian art and architecture Represents the current state of the field while highlighting the wide range of scholarly approaches to Asian Ar; Features work on Korea and Southeast Asia, two regions often overlooked in a field that is often defined as India-China-Japan Explores the influences on Asian art of global and colonial interactions and of the diasporic communities in the US and UK Showcases a wide range of topics including imperial commissions, ancient tombs, gardens, monastic spaces, performances, and pilgrimages.
San Francisco's Asian Art Museum was a pioneering advocate for bringing Korean art into this country. One of the first museums in the United States to have a gallery solely dedicated to Korean art, it has built up a remarkable collection of more than 750 objects spanning millennia of Korean culture in a variety of mediums. More than 100 highlights of the collection are included here, along with detailed commentaries by Kumja Paik Kim, the museum's emeritus curator of Korean art, which together compose an accessible introduction to Korean art and culture. Dr. Kim has also contributed an essay that constitutes one of the most helpful overviews of Korean art currently available.
This catalogue highlights one hundred of the finest examples of Korean ceramics, metalwork, and decorative arts, Buddhist sculpture, and painting.
Catalog of an exhibition held at the Metropolitan Museum of Art, June 5, 1998-Jan. 24, 1999.
Modern and Contemporary Art in Korea deals with issues of tradition, modernity, and identity in modern and contemporary Korean art in Korea. On a deeper level, this is one of the only books of its kind in English that exposes readers to specific artists and their works.
"Deals with all aspects of Islamic art and architecture ranging from the Middle East to Africa to Central, South, and East Asia and includes entries on artists, rulers, writers, ceramics, sculpture, metalwork, painting, calligraphy, textiles, and more"
"This extensively illustrated book allows readers to identify those elements and themes that define art forms as Islamic, and to examine them in works of painting and metalwork, in calligraphy and manuscripts, ceramics, glass, wood, and ivory comprising one of the most imposing collections of arts from across the Muslim world."
"This illustrated book provides an overview of Islamic art and architecture from the seventh to the thirteenth centuries, a time of the formation of a new artistic culture and its first, medieval, flowering in the vast area from the Atlantic to India."
"The evolution of book art and painting in the Islamic world is the product of diverse regions and periods. Islamic art flourished in the great cities and centers of learning of the ottoman Turks, the Iranian Qajars, and the later Indian Mughals, spreading across a region that extended from the Atlantic Ocean to China."
Supported by a wide reading in anthropology, theology and philosophy, Minissale provides an intellectual context for reading the visual language of Indian and Persian miniature art. By decoding artistic conventions, and with searching visual analyses, the book attempts to transform our understanding of art as an illustration of history to art as a reflection of the intellect.
Dealing not only with architecture, sculpture, and painting, but also with bronze and ceramics, this text offers a complete panorama of Chinese arts and civilisation. In his text, the author Bushell stresses the importance of knowing the society to understand the arts.
Chinese Religious Art is a broad survey of the origins and development of the various forms of artistic expression of Chinese religions. All the religions are reviving after their extirpation during the Cultural Revolution. Using historical records and artistic evidence, much of which has not been published, this study examines their individual and shared manner of worshipping the divine forces.
Tracing the 3000-year history of the Chinese imperial collections, from the Bronze Age to the 21st century, this title follows the gradual formation of the Peking Palace Museum in 1925, its hasty fragmentation as large parts of the collection were moved, and finally its formal division into what are two Palace Museums.
"Beginning by asking, "What is Japanese art?" this book supplies an answer so broad in its reach, so rich in detail, and so extensively illustrated as to give a reader not just a true picture, but also a fine understanding, of Japanese art. Arranged thematically, the book includes chapters on nature and pleasure, landscape and beauty, all framed by the themes of serenity and turmoil, the two poles of Japanese culture ancient and modern.
Explores the transformation of Buddhism from the premodern to the contemporary era in Japan and the central role its visual culture has played in this transformation. Chapters elucidate the thread of change over time in the practice of Buddhism as revealed in temple worship halls and other sites of devotion and in imagery representing the religion's most popular deities and religious practices.
India, with its extensive and colourful history, has produced an artistic tradition in many forms: architecture, painting, sculpture, calligraphy, mosaics, and artisan products all display the country s cultural, religious and philosophical richness. From Hinduism, with its pantheon of imagery of gods, goddesses, animals and many other figures, to Islam, with its astounding architecture and intricate calligraphy, the many facets of India have given rise to a fascinating and beautiful collection of artworks.
This concise yet lively new survey guides the reader through 5,000 years of Indian art and architecture. A rich artistic tradition is fully explored through the Hindu, Buddhist, Islamic, Colonial, and contemporary periods, incorporating discussion of modern Bangladesh and Pakistan, tribal artists, and the decorative arts.
This richly illustrated volume explores the contested history of art and nationalism in colonial India during the period 1922-47. The author shows that modernist Western art, which was rebelling against the Western academic tradition, had a strong influence on Indian art made during this period.
The art of Hinduism constitutes one of the world's greatest traditions. This volume examines the entire period, covering shrines consecrated to Hindu cults and works of art portraying Hindu divinities and semi-divine personalities.
The papers in this volume discuss issues related to Tibetan art from the 7th the 20th century, dealing with relevant religious and historical sources, religious painting and iconography, medical iconography, painting materials and schools, metalwork, ritual objects, photographic records, artists.
Devoted to a period of extraordinary cultural achievement - from the 11th to the mid-15th century - when Tibet became known as the Buddhist holy land - this book accompanies a major touring show opening at the New York Metropolitan Museum of Art in October 1998.