Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
InfoGuides | Pepperdine Libraries

ENG 380 The Short Story (Mullins): Home

Resources for researching short stories

Literature Specific Database

Why is searching the MLA Bibliography better than Google?

  • The MLA International Bibliography contains over 2.5 million records that pertain specifically to language and literature. Material from other disciplines, like biology or political science, is not included.
  • The Bibliography provides the most comprehensive listing of scholarly material in language, literature, culture, and folklore, including publications not available on the Web.
  • A professional indexing staff and scholars in relevant fields review books, essay collections, journals, bibliographies, and electronic publications to create the most accurate listing possible.
  • The materials covered come from reputable publishers in over one hundred countries.
  • Indexers use controlled vocabulary as subject headings, enabling more precise searches than user-chosen keywords would allow.
  • Each citation contains the information users need to create a bibliography as part of a research project.

Multidisciplinary Databases

Locate Biographical Information

Librarian

Profile Photo
Elizabeth Parang
Contact:
Pepperdine University Libraries
24255 Pacific Coast Hwy
Malibu, CA 90263
310-506-4046
Contact: LinkedIn Page

Course Description

What is a short story? This course will focus on the development of the short story as an art form. We will read classic and contemporary short stories from world literature, and end our study with a consideration of two short stories adapted into film. Throughout, our aim will be to practice the close interpretive reading, writing, and research skills necessary for the study of literature. Our focus on the short stories will also serve as a context for considering historical and contemporary issues. Prerequisite: ENG 101 or equivalent.What is a short story? This course will focus on the development of the short story as an art form. We will read classic and contemporary short stories from world literature, and end our study with a consideration of two short stories adapted into film. Throughout, our aim will be to practice the close interpretive reading, writing, and research skills necessary for the study of literature. Our focus on the short stories will also serve as a context for considering historical and contemporary issues. Prerequisite: ENG 101 or equivalent.