Skip to Main Content
Research and Instruction Librarian
The Pepperdine University Library subscribes to these general databases,
covering a broad range of topics. Try them when you want to expand your
search to a wide range of periodicals!
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Provides full text coverage to nearly 9,100 journals, including over 7,900 peer-reviewed titles in the social sciences, humanities, general science, multi-cultural studies, education and more. Full-text coverage dates back to 1985 and is updated daily.
Here are some suggested Databases. For a full list of Databases you can search the Databases A-Z List. Pepperdine Only
arXiv is an e-print service in the fields of physics, mathematics, non-linear science, computer science, quantitative biology and statistics.
ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
Provides indexing and abstracting for over 2,500 scientific, technical and medical journals as well as access to 503 full-text Elsevier journals, and titles subscribed to by Pepperdine University Libraries, through the SCELC consortium, plus 45 titles in the Psychology backfile.
Scopus This link opens in a new window
Scopus is the largest abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature: scientific journals, books and conference proceedings. Delivering a comprehensive overview of the world's research output in the fields of science, technology, medicine, social sciences, and arts and humanities, Scopus features smart tools to track, analyze and visualize research.
Wiley Online Library This link opens in a new window
Wiley Online Library hosts the world's broadest and deepest multidisciplinary collection of online resources covering life, health and physical sciences, social science, and the humanities. It indexes over 4 million articles from 1500 journals, almost 10,000 online books, and hundreds of reference works, laboratory protocols and databases. Pepperdine has direct access to selected journal articles and online books.
Searching for a Topic?
Science (AAAS) This link opens in a new window
Published for scientists, engineers and others interested in science; contains articles, original research reports, news sections, editorials, and letters. Special issues devoted to science-related topics such as biotechnology.
Nature This link opens in a new window
An international weekly journal of science, Nature publishes the peer-reviewed research in all fields of science and technology as well as rapid, authoritative, insightful and arresting news and interpretation to all readers who have an interest in science.
American Men and Women of Science 31st ed. This link opens in a new window
Provides biographical information for the significant players in the physical, biological, and related sciences. Covers over 140,000 living scientists, providing birthdate; birthplace; field of specialty; education; honorary degrees; current position; professional and career information; awards; memberships; research information; and addresses for each entrant where available.
Looking for a Specific Journal?
Search WorldCat for a list of online and print journal holdings.
1. Enter Your Journal Title in the Search Box Labeled Title.
2. Scroll down to Format and select Journal/Magazine from the drop down menu.