SW 300: Social Welfare Policy Analysis (Smith): Dictionaries & Encyclopedias

This resource will assist practitioners as well as students in writing reports and papers and understanding terminology in journal articles.

Provides more than 200 up-to-date, concise, and readable entries in a single, authoritative volume covering historical and contemporary theories, concepts and real-world practices of juvenile justice. Key Features: · More than 200 articles, written by a stellar collection of both academics and professionals in juvenile justice · Complete review of the complicated juvenile legal and court system, juvenile punishment, rehabilitation efforts and legislation

A comprehensive guide to understanding and recognizing child abuse, as well as the factors that contribute to it, and how to protect children at risk. Topics include: protective laws, such as the Model Protection Act; battered child syndrome; controversial child abuse cases, such as Prince v. Massachusetts, 1944; statistics on fatalities, as well as on child abusers and victims; common physical and psychological injuries; and helpful organizations, such as VOCAL (Victims of Child Abuse Laws)."

Includes multidisciplinary information on issues, terms, people, theories and trends related to children and their development. Each of the approximately 800 alphabetically arranged entries is signed by one of the book's expert contributors and includes a resource list and a brief bibliography.

Some 500 entries cover a variety of enduring and newly vital areas of study and research methods. Experts review theoretical debates from neo-evolutionism and rational choice theory to poststructuralism, and address the great questions that cut across the social sciences.

This distinguished reference work is much more than a lexicon or ordinary dictionary. Each essay, complete with bibliographical references, presents a selective and critical discussion of some issue fundamental to sociology.

A unique interdisciplinary source, dealing with not only law but also sociology, psychology, history and economics. With entries ranging widely from abortion to rape and from family violence to wiretapping, the Encyclopedia covers issues dominating today's headlines.

Explores the social, medical, legal and political issues related to drugs and alcohol and associated behaviors. Includes emerging topics and developments in the many fields of addiction studies.

Encompasses all aspects of aging, covering a variety of disciplines including biology, medicine, economics, law psychology, sociology and history, and also explores related issues such as religion, spirituality, and ethics. Also provides a topical outline, primary source documents, addresses, and Web sites.

Covers today's leading cases, major statutes, legal terms and concepts, notable persons involved with the law, and important documents. Includes topics such as the Americans with Disabilities Act, capital punishment, domestic violence, gay and lesbian rights, physician-assisted suicide and more.