Skip to Main Content
Merck Index by Merck & Co.
Call Number: Ready Reference RS51 .M4 2006
Publication Date: 2006
The Merck Index is an encyclopedia of chemicals, drugs and biologicals. Each entry is a concise description of a single substance or a small group of closely related compounds.
Physicians' Desk Reference: PDR by Medical Economics Co.
Call Number: Ready Reference RS75 .P5 2012
Publication Date: 2012
PDR contains full FDA-approved drug label information, including warnings and precautions, drug interactions, and hundreds of full-color pill images. Every label in PDR includes information on dosages, side effects, and safety information, such as contraindications, pregnancy ratings, and interactions with other drugs, food, or alcohol. Data on clinical trials is also included.
The Gale Encyclopedia of Medicine by Thomson Gale
Call Number: e-book
Publication Date: 2006-07-01
Includes information on more than 1,600 medical disorders and concepts. Each article includes in-depth discussion of causes, symptoms, diagnosis, treatments, procedures, and other related topics.
The Oxford Companion to the History of Modern Science by John L. Heilbron (Editor)
Call Number: e-book
Publication Date: 2003-03-27
Oxford Companion to the History of Modern Science is a one-volume encyclopedia offering an excellent overview of the field of science and its development over the past few generations, ranging from biographies on Galileo and Dorothy Hodgkin to the discussions chronicling the change of science from simply a tool of learning to a major force in society. Along with chemistry, physics, and biology, the major scientific disciplines are represented in this alphabetically arranged work including astrology, ethnology, and zoology, among many others. The coverage is not limited to just one geographical area but is world-wide, tracing science from its traditional centres and explaining how non-western societies have modified and contributed to its global arena.
Online Reference Works
Gale Virtual Reference Library This link opens in a new window
Access to encyclopedias and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research. Titles can be searched alone, by subject, or all titles can be searched together.
Oxford Reference Online This link opens in a new window
Access to major reference works such as Grove Encyclopedia of Islamic Art and Architecture, Encyclopedia of the Middle Ages, The Oxford Encyclopedia of Educational Psychology, and more