Skip to Main Content
The Pepperdine University Library subscribes to these general databases,
covering a broad range of topics. Try them when you want to expand your
search to a wide range of periodicals!
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Provides full text coverage to nearly 9,100 journals, including over 7,900 peer-reviewed titles in the social sciences, humanities, general science, multi-cultural studies, education and more. Full-text coverage dates back to 1985 and is updated daily.
Health Source: Consumer Edition This link opens in a new window
Provides access to nearly 80 full text, consumer health magazines, includes searchable full text for more than 1,000 health-related pamphlets and 130 health reference books, including books published by the People's Medical Society. Contains more than 4,500 Clinical Reference Systems reports (in English and Spanish) and Merriam-Webster's Medical Desk Dictionary.
Here are some suggested Databases. For a full list of Databases you can search the Databases A-Z List. Pepperdine Only
ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
Provides indexing and abstracting for over 2,500 scientific, technical and medical journals as well as access to 503 full-text Elsevier journals, and titles subscribed to by Pepperdine University Libraries, through the SCELC consortium, plus 45 titles in the Psychology backfile.
PubMed This link opens in a new window
PubMed comprises more than 22 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations may include links to full-text content from PubMed Central and publisher web sites.
SPORTDiscus with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Access to comprehensive, bibliographic and full text coverage of sport, fitness and related disciplines, including over 530 full text titles. More than 1,200,000 records with journal and monograph coverage going back to 1800; over 20,000 dissertations and theses and reference to articles in 60 different languages.
PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
The American Psychological Association’s (APA) resource is the largest resource devoted to peer-reviewed literature in behavioral science and mental health. It contains over 5 million records and summaries dating as far back as the 1600s. Journal coverage, which spans from the 1800s to the present, includes international material selected from around 2,500 periodicals in dozens of languages.
Alt Health Watch This link opens in a new window
Focuses on perspectives of complementary, holistic and integrated approaches to healthcare and wellness. Provides full text for articles and often peer-reviewed reports, proceedings, and association and consumer newsletters. Also includes hundreds of pamphlets, booklets, special reports, original research and book excerpts. Features indexing and abstracts going back as far as 1984, and full text going back as far as 1990. An EBSCOhost database.
Looking for a Specific Journal?
for a list of online and print journal holdings.
1. Enter Your Journal Title in the Search Box Labeled Title.
2. Scroll down to Format and select Journal/Magazine from the drop down menu.