Guides: Bible Research: Finding Background Information

Online Background Resources

Encyclopedia of the Bible and Its Reception (EBR) This link opens in a new window
Entries on the Bible and its origins, development, and influence.
Encyclopedia of Religion (2nd edition) This link opens in a new window
Access to cross-cultural approach that emphasizes religion's role within everyday life and as a unique experience from culture to culture.
Encyclopedia of American Religions (7th ed. 2003) This link opens in a new window
Essays tracing the major religious families and traditions, plus directory of individual churches, religious bodies, and spiritual groups.
Oxford Reference Online This link opens in a new window
This resource includes the Oxford Dictionary of the Bible and the Oxford Companion to the Bible, among many other reference tools. Both of these can also be searched within Oxford Biblical Studies Online.
New Catholic Encyclopedia (2d ed 2003) This link opens in a new window
Entries on persons and subjects related to Catholicism and the humanities, includes biographies of contemporary religious figures, photos, maps, and illustrations.
Encyclopaedia Judaica (2d ed. 2007) This link opens in a new window
Overview of Jewish life and knowledge from the Second Temple period to the contemporary State of Israel.

Eerdmans Dictionary of the Bible
Call Number: Reference BS440 .E44 2000
ISBN: 0802824005
Also available as E-Book.
Find definitions, personal names and their derivation, places, and concepts from the Bible.
Zondervan NIV atlas of the Bible
Call Number: Atlas Cases BS630 .R37 1989
ISBN: 0310251605

Anchor Bible Dictionary Online
The Anchor Yale Bible Dictionary is a six-volume state-of-the-art dictionary of the Bible offering the most up-to-date and comprehensive treatment of biblical subjects and topics. Endpaper maps of the Near Eastern world keyed to text for quick location of archaeological and biblical sites.