Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
The Charles Korvin Photograph Collection contains more than two hundred original photographs of the Spanish Civil War, printed in Paris circa 1937-38. Charles Korvin was an actor, photographer, and documentary filmmaker best known for his recurring role in the 1950s television series "Zorro."
The bulk of the Korvin photograph collection may possibly be the still images taken during the preparation and filming of the documentary Heart of Spain. The photos document the military, medical, and social impact of the Spanish Civil War. Specific focus is placed on doctors (especially Dr. Norman Bethune), hospitals, and medical procedures. However, the photographs provide a broad overview of the war including bombings, political demonstrations, entertainment, and military training. A finding aid is available here.
- Southworth Spanish Civil War Collection
The Southworth collection at the University of California, San Diego, contains over 13,000 books, pamphlets, periodicals, newspapers, posters, and manuscripts.
- Abraham Lincoln Brigade Archives
The Abraham Lincoln Brigade is an organization dedicated to highlighting the role of North American volunteers in the war. Includes links to a biographical database, lesson plans, and much more.
- Abraham Lincoln Brigade Archives at Tamiment Library, NYU
New York University's Tamiment Library holds the Abraham Lincoln Brigade Archives.