Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
These online sources are good places to start your literature-related
research. For quick reference, hold your mouse over a link for a brief
description of the resource.
For more suggested sources, go to the tabs at the top of the page.
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Provides full text coverage to nearly 9,100 journals, including over 7,900 peer-reviewed titles in the social sciences, humanities, general science, multi-cultural studies, education and more. Full-text coverage dates back to 1985 and is updated daily.
Access the journal archives Arts & Sciences I, II, & III, and over 40,000 ebooks on the JSTOR platform; book chapters and journal articles are cross-searchable. JSTOR is an extensive archive of interdisciplinary journals and books, covering subject disciplines in Arts, Business & Economics, History, Humanities, Law, Science & Mathematics, Social Sciences, and Religion.
LexisNexis Uni (formerly LexisNexis Academic) This link opens in a new window
Provides full-text coverage of approximately 15,000 national and regional newspapers, broadcast transcripts, magazines, wire services, federal and state court opinions, federal and state statutes, federal regulations and SEC filings such as 10-K's and 10-Q's. It provides access to company profiles, industry and market research information and trade journals. This product also provides access to the renowned Shepard's Citations® service for all federal and states court cases back to 1789. This database is only available to current Pepperdine students, faculty, and staff.
For an overview of how to use Nexis Uni, visit this page.
Databases Specific to Cinema and Society: The Case of Spain
Gale Virtual Reference Library This link opens in a new window
Access to encyclopedias and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research. Titles can be searched alone, by subject, or all titles can be searched together.
World History in Context
World History in Context moves chronologically over 5,000 years from antiquity to the present and geographically around the globe, to cover the events, movements and individuals that defined, informed and shaped world history.
MLA International Bibliography
MLA International Bibliography is an index of journal articles, books and dissertations. Produced by the Modern Language Association, the electronic version of the Bibliography dates back to the 1920s and contains over 1.8 million citations from more than 4,400 journals and series and 1,000 book publishers. Coverage is international and subjects include literature, language and linguistics, folklore, literary theory and criticism, dramatic arts, as well as the historical aspects of printing and
Reference guide to the history of the world from 1450 to the present (excluding the United States and Canada) includes over 800,000 annotated bibliographic citations to articles and book reviews in over 1600 journals, plus citations to abstracts of dissertations completed worldwide of particular interest for historical research.
Search Tip: Truncation
Truncation allows you to get more out of your search term.
Often times the databases do not understand plurals.
A search of OIL SPILL might give you 70 Results.
A search of OIL SPILLS might give you 186 Results.
However a search of OIL SPILL* will give 203 Results.
Truncation Symbols Vary:
Library Catalog and Most Databases is: * (asterisk)
Lexis Nexus is: ! (Exclamation Point)