Skip to Main Content
Understanding Journal Articles
Anatomy of a Scholarly Article
Interactive presentation created by NCSU Libraries demonstrates
The Psychology Student Writer's Manual and Reader's Guide by Stephen M. Garrison; Gregory M. Scott; Jill M. Scott
Publication Date: 2018-03-02
Part 1 begins by teaching students to read newspapers and other media sources critically and analytically. It focuses on the crafts of writing and scholarship by providing the basics of grammar, style, formats, and source citation, and then introduces students to a variety of rich information resources. Part 2 prepares students to research, read, write, review, and critique psychology scholarship. Part 3 provides exercises in advanced studies, including biological psychology, sensation and perception, developmental psychology, social psychology, and abnormal psychology.
Handbook of Psychology (2d ed.) by Irving B. Weiner
Call Number: Online in EBL
Publication Date: 2012-10-16
This award-winning twelve-volume reference covers every aspect of the ever-fascinating discipline of psychology and represents the most current knowledge in the field. This ten-year revision now covers discoveries based in neuroscience, clinical psychology's new interest in evidence-based practice and mindfulness, and new findings in social, developmental, and forensic psychology.
Effective Writing in Psychology: Papers, Posters,and Presentations by Agatha M. Beins; Bernard C. Beins
Call Number: Online in EBL
Publication Date: 2012-05-15
The second edition of Effective Writing in Psychology helps users produce crisp scientific communication, form concise unambiguous arguments, and render technical information clear and comprehensible. The new edition incorporates the latest guidelines contained within the 6th edition of the APA Publication Manual. Features a sample manuscript showing common deviations from correct APA style and a version demonstrating appropriate use of APA style
The Encyclopedia of Positive Psychology by Shane J. Lopez; Shane J. Lopez (Editor)
Call Number: Online in Wiley Online Library
Publication Date: 2009
Positive psychology, the pursuit of understanding optimal human functioning, is reshaping the scholarly and public views of how we see the science of psychology. The Encyclopedia of Positive Psychology provides a comprehensive and accessible summary of this growing area of scholarship and practice.
Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association by American Psychological Association
Call Number: BF76.7 .P83 2020 located in Payson Reference and Reserves
Publication Date: 2019-10-01
The official source for APA Style. Known for its authoritative, easy-to-use reference and citation system, the Publication Manual also offers guidance on choosing the headings, tables, figures, language, and tone that will result in powerful, concise, and elegant scholarly communication. Includes a dedicated chapter for new users of APA Style covering paper elements and format, including sample papers for both professional authors and student writers
American Psychological Association e-Books 2010-2015 This link opens in a new window
Includes access to the APA Handbook of Industrial and Organizational Psychology, APA Handbook of Personality and Social Psychology, APA Handbook of Testing and Assessment in Psychology, and APA Addiction Syndrome Handbook.
ProQuest E-Book Central This link opens in a new window
Includes e-books formerly in Pepperdine's ebrary and EBL collections.This database is only available to current Pepperdine students, faculty, and staff.
ProQuest E-Book Central tutorials This link opens in a new window
How to borrow, download, annotate, and create an online bookshelf using E-Book Central.
Wiley Online Library This link opens in a new window
Pepperdine has direct access to selected journal articles and online books.
Watch Videos Online
Academic Video Online This link opens in a new window
Streaming video titles spanning subject areas including anthropology, business, counseling, film, health, history, music, and more.
Psychotherapy.net Full Collection This link opens in a new window
Counseling and therapy streaming videos.