HUM 111 Western Culture I: Home

A concise one-volume survey that covers the subject's ancient origins through to the early 21st century stressing social and intellectual history, rather than merely listing names and dates. The text explores key events, figures, themes, and characteristics in the history of Western Civilization.

Profiles milestones and movements in the arts, literature, music and religion from a specific period. Each volume places the various disciplines of the humanities in relation to each other, as well as to history and culture. An overview of the period and a chronology of major world events begin each volume.

Covers a broad scope of topics including physical context, history, economic and social mechanisms, language, literature, and the visual arts Provides a chronological table at the start of each volume to help readers orient chapters within the wider historical context

Featuring 600 original articles written by leading scholars, the encyclopedia covers ancient Egyptian civilization, from the predynastic era to its eclipse in the seventh century CE: art, architecture, religion, language, literature, trade, politics, everyday social life and the culture of the court. Of special interest is the coverage of themes and issues that are particularly controversial--such as the new theories of the origins of complex society in the Nile Valley, new discoveries about Greco-Roman Egypt, and new developments in literature, religion, linguistics and other fields, including the debates about Egypt's African legacy.

A comprehensive overview of Near Eastern civilization from the Bronze Age to the conquests of Alexander the Great. Covers the civilizations of the Sumerians, Hittites, Babylonians, Assyrians, Israelites and Persians Places particular emphasis on social and cultural history Covers the legacy of the Ancient Near East in the medieval and modern worlds

This book provides an introduction to the complex world of the ancient societies of the Aegean, offering general insights into the Aegean civilisations of the Minoans, the Mycenaeans, the Trojans of the Bronze Age, and the later Classical Greeks. With regard to the latter, the book explores their history against the might of Persia and the strife and tribulations between their own Greek city states--particularly Athens and Sparta.

A systematic survey of archaic Greek society and culture which introduces the reader to a wide range of new approaches to the period. Places Greek society of c.750-480 BCE in its chronological and geographical context Gives equal emphasis to established topics such as tyranny and political reform and newer subjects like gender and ethnicity Combines accounts of historical developments with regional surveys of archaeological evidence and in-depth treatments of selected themes Explores the impact of Eastern and other non-Greek cultures in the development of Greece Uses archaeological and literary evidence to reconstruct broad patterns of social and cultural development

This Companion provides scholarly yet accessible new interpretations of Greek history of the Classical period, from the aftermath of the Persian Wars in 478 B.C. to the death of Alexander the Great in 323 B.C. Topics covered range from the political and institutional structures of Greek society, to literature, art, economics, society, warfare, geography and the environment

Covering the period from the death of Alexander the Great to the celebrated defeat of Antony and Cleopatra at the hands of Augustus, this Companion explores the world that Alexander created but did not live to see. Covers a broad range of topics, spanning political, religious, social, economic and cultural history

Presents a comprehensive overview of ancient Near Eastern, Greek and Roman epic. It offers a multi-disciplinary discussion of both longstanding ideas and newer perspectives. Provides a balanced overview of longstanding ideas and newer perspectives in the study of epic Covers recently introduced topics, such as the role of women, the history of reception, and comparison with living analogues from oral tradition Includes a detailed index of poems, poets, technical terms, and important figures and events

Explores the phenomenon of Greek myth from its origins in shared Indo-European story patterns and the Greeks contacts with their Eastern Mediterranean neighbours through its development as a shared language and thought-system for the Greco-Roman world. Includes coverage of Greek myth's intersection with history, philosophy and religion Addresses the Hellenistic and Roman periods as well as Archaic and Classical Greece

Provides a fundamental grounding in Greek tragedy and also introduces the various methodologies and the lively critical dialogue that characterize the study of Greek tragedy today. Pays attention to socio-political, textual, and performance aspects of Greek tragedy All ancient Greek is transliterated and translated, and technical terms are explained as they appear

Provides a comprehensive and current overview of the history of ancient Greek and Roman philosophy from its origins until late antiquity. Explores the development of various disciplines, such as mathematics, logic, grammar, physics, and medicine, in relation to ancient philosophy Includes an introduction, bibliography, chronology, maps and an index

Highlights recent developments, including archaeological discoveries, fresh approaches to textual sources, and the opening up of new areas of historical study Emphasizes not just the evidence of texts and physical remains, but also the models and assumptions that scholars bring to these artefacts Looks at the role played by the physical geography and environment of Italy Offers a compact but detailed narrative of military and political developments from the birth of the Roman Republic through to the death of Julius Caesar

Provides readers with a guide both to Roman imperial history and to the field of Roman studies, taking account of the most recent discoveries. Covers the social, intellectual, economic and cultural history of the Roman Empire

Provides an essential overview of current scholarship on late antiquity - from between the accession of Diocletian in AD 284 and the end of Roman rule in the Mediterranean Presents this once-neglected period as an age of powerful transformation that shaped the modern world Emphasizes the central importance of religion and its connection with economic, social, and political life

Covers the major issues in the study of medieval Europe, highlighting the significant impact the time period had on cultural forms and institutions central to European identity.. Examines changing approaches to the study of medieval Europe, its periodization, and central themes. Explores Europe's understanding of the wider world to place the study of the medieval society in a global context