Skip to Main Content
Helpful Books at the Irvine Library
International Legal Research by Marci Hoffman; Robert C. Berring
Publication Date: 2008-04-30
Providing a basic introduction to international legal research for the nonspecialist, Hoffman and Berring's International Legal Research in a Nutshell offers guidance through the unfamiliar pathways of research using international legal materials and demystifies the world of treaties. Because it is aimed at the nonspecialist, the text provides straightforward background information on the United Nations and the European Union and includes guidance using the documents and legal materials of these institutions. It includes extensive links to the rich world of Web resources, but it also describes paper research tools that remain important in this field.
Patent Law in a Nutshell by Martin J. Adelman; Randall R. Rader; Gordon Klancnik
Call Number: KF3114.85 .A32 2008
Publication Date: 2007-11-01
This Nutshell provides a succinct description of the fundamentals of U.S. patent law. Ranging from the acquisition of patent rights to their enforcement, it contains an overview of relevant statutes, rules, and cases that collectively define this area of intellectual property law. Topics include claim construction, obviousness, anticipation, written description and enablement, infringement, remedies, and other notable doctrines. Patent law has evolved quickly in the past few years. This Nutshell captures those changes and relates them well to the overall fabric of intellectual property law. This reference is suitable for use by those with a beginner's knowledge of patent law, but it has sufficient depth to be instructive for every practitioner in this exciting and dynamic field.
Global Internet Law in a Nutshell by Michael Rustad
Call Number: KF390.5.C6 R87 2016
Publication Date: 2015-11-20
Elder Law in a Nutshell, 6th by Lawrence A. Frolik; Richard L. Kaplan
Call Number: KF390.A4 F752 2014
Publication Date: 2014-04-29
This edition integrates the wide-ranging changes made by the Patient Protection and Affordable Care Act (health reform legislation), as well as other recent developments. It includes the following topics: the Elder Justice Act responding to elder abuse and neglect; criminal background checks of workers who work with older patients; major Medicare changes, such as cost-free annual wellness visits and personalized prevention assessments, end-of-life planning, tax increases on both earned and investment income, increased premiums on higher-income enrollees in Part D, and gradual filling of the Part D "donut hole"; Medicaid spousal impoverishment protection changes; and more.
Smith and Roberson's Business Law by Richard A. Mann; Barry S. Roberts
Publication Date: 2014-02-11
The most complete, credible, and authentic business law text available, the Sixteenth Edition of SMITH & ROBERSON'S BUSINESS LAW by Richard A. Mann and Barry S. Roberts continues a long tradition of accuracy, thoroughness, and consistent coverage of the latest issues and emerging trends. This updated classic delivers a comprehensive, detailed presentation of business law that covers all topics included in the business law section of the certified public accountant (CPA) exam. In addition, this text covers the legal responsibilities and liabilities of accountants section and the corporate governance portion of business environment and concepts section of the CPA Exam. The cases--located at the end of each chapter--offer an excellent mix of landmark and current decisions and are edited to preserve a large portion of the language of the court. Proven, comprehensive, and completely up-to-date, this trusted and thorough text will challenge and engage your students--and ensure they leave your class with a solid understanding of modern business law.
Nexis Uni (formerly LexisNexis Academic) This link opens in a new window
Provides full-text coverage of approximately 15,000 national and regional newspapers, broadcast transcripts, magazines, wire services, federal and state court opinions, federal and state statutes, federal regulations and SEC filings. Access to company profiles, market research and trade journals plus Shepard's Citations® service for all federal and states court cases back to 1789. This database is only available to current Pepperdine students, faculty, and staff.
For an overview of how to use Nexis Uni, visit this page.
Columbia International Affairs Online (CIAO) This link opens in a new window
Access to materials related to international affairs from 1991 onward including working papers from university research institutes, occasional papers series from NGOs, foundation-funded research projects, proceedings from conferences, books, journals and policy briefs related to theory, policy, diplomacy, politics and law in the international arena.
Encyclopedia of Human Rights This link opens in a new window
This encyclopedia offers comprehensive coverage of all aspects of human rights theory, practice, law, and history includes major figures, organizations and institutions, human rights events and crises, and human rights norms.
Foreign Law Guide This link opens in a new window
The Foreign Law Guide provides an analysis of the legal systems of approximately 200 countries. Each country's analysis identifies publications for legal materials of that country, including publications with English translations; provides links to relevant Internet resources; and identifies relevant statutes. In addition, the Foreign Law Guide contains links to a wide range of conventions and treaties.
Gale Encyclopedia of American Law (3d ed., 2011) This link opens in a new window
Covers today's leading cases, major statutes, legal terms and concepts, notable persons involved with the law, and important documents. Includes topics such as the Americans with Disabilities Act, capital punishment, domestic violence, gay and lesbian rights, physician-assisted suicide and more.
HeinOnline This link opens in a new window
Online research tool with more than 90 million pages of legal history available in an online, fully-searchable, image-based format. Visit HeinOnline LibGuides
for tips on searching this database.
Legal Information Institute This link opens in a new window
The website is one of the most expansive legal reference collections in the world, with links to almost every legal topic, constitutions and codes, court opinions, law by source or jurisdiction.
EISIL This link opens in a new window
A website for locating the highest quality primary materials, authoritative web sites and helpful research guides to international law on the Internet, developed and maintained by the American Society for International Law.
ProQuest Legislative Insight This link opens in a new window
Selected compiled U.S. Congressional legislative histories, with links to the full-text of most of the identified documents.
Wall Street Journal Headlines
RSS Industry Feeds
Subscribe to Industry RSS feeds in your favorite reader to stay on top of the news.