It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Social Action and Justice (SAAJ): Home
This guide will suggest some starting points for research on issues of social justice such as human rights, wealth and poverty, the interplay of religion and culture, and the role of media in shaping social movements.
Marlon Riggs' Emmy-winning documentary that takes viewers on a disturbing voyage through American history, tracing for the first time the deep-rooted stereotypes which have fueled anti-black prejudice. Through these images we can begin to understand the evolution of racial consciousness in America.
Search the library catalog for:
•poor laws and poverty
Here are two of many great resources to help get you started.
Provides access to the most current and controversial issues of the day with complete summaries, insight into all sides of the issues, bibliographies and more, published weekly. Each single-themed, 12,000-word report is researched and written by a seasoned journalist, professionally fact-checked, and footnoted to facilitate further research. A feature called Hot Topics provides shorter reports on 20 of the most popular subjects. CQ Researcher's Archive goes back to 1923 and includes reports from its predecessor publication, Editorial Research Reports.
A complete one-stop source for information on social issues. Users have access to viewpoint articles, topic overviews, statistics, primary documents, links to websites, interactive maps, videos, streaming audio, and full-text magazine and newspaper articles.
From immigration to stem cells to texting-while-driving, Opposing Viewpoints in Context delivers 13,000+ pro/con views, 1,000+ court case overviews, and thousands more topic overviews, biographies and profiles.
This video covers the basics of using Opposing Viewpoints in Context:
Alternative to Wikipedia
Wikipedia is an encyclopedia written collaboratively; anyone with internet access can write and edit Wikipedia articles. Users can contribute anonymously, under a pseudonym, or, if they choose to, with their real identity.
Provides biographical information on more than 528,000 people throughout history, around the world, and across all disciplines and subject areas. The database also provides full-text articles plus much more
Some 50,000 new and/or updated biographies are added each year, as well as daily status updates of existing subjects
Social Action and Justice Colloquium: Do you care about social justice? This is an experiential course that involves service. We will go on field trips to Skid Row, Prisons, Disability Centers, Environmental sites, Museums, and other relevant sites. We will deal with issues that involve sex trafficking, prostitution, gangs, religious discrimination, and issues of race and class. Students will explore strategies for promoting social justice and engage in service learning activities.