Guides: Creative Writing: Finding Articles

Getting Started

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Provides full text coverage to peer-reviewed titles in the social sciences, humanities, general science, multi-cultural studies, education and more.

These online sources are good places to start your research. For quick reference, hold your mouse over a link for a brief description of the resource.

For more suggested sources, go to the tabs at the top of the page.

JSTOR
Access the journal archives Arts & Sciences I, II, III, IV, VI, & VII and over 40,000 ebooks on the JSTOR platform; book chapters and journal articles are cross-searchable. JSTOR is an extensive archive of interdisciplinary journals and books, covering subject disciplines in Arts, Business & Economics, History, Humanities, Law, Science & Mathematics, Social Sciences, and Religion.

Project MUSE This link opens in a new window
Full-text current and archival articles from scholarly journals covering literature and criticism, history, performing arts, cultural studies, education, philosophy, political science, gender studies, and more.
Literature Resource Center This link opens in a new window
Combines biographical, bibliographical, and contextual information to deliver a resource package on authors and their works (fiction, nonfiction, poetry, drama, history, and journalism).

Databases Providing Background Information

America: History and Life This link opens in a new window
Access to scholarly journals, dissertations and book and media reviews about U.S. and Canadian history and culture. Coverage for some titles back to the 19th and early 20th centuries.
MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new window
the research tool for literature because it most accurately reflects the state of literary studies in the United States and internationally. MLA includes listings of scholarly journal articles, books, book chapters, and dissertations, published from 1926 to the present. Abstracts are oftentimes not included, so you need to depend on subject headings to determine what the material is covering. Those subject headings are the key to organizing your search strategy.
In addition, the MLA Directory of Periodicals and their proprietary thesaurus used to assign descriptors within the Bibliography are included.
Biography in Context This link opens in a new window
Biographical information on more than 528,000 people throughout history, around the world, and across all disciplines and subject areas.

British Periodicals
British Periodicals offers facsimile page images and searchable full text for approximately 500 British periodicals published from the 17th through the early 20th centuries (1681-1920). Topics covered include literature, philosophy, history, science, the social sciences and the fine arts: music, art, drama, archaeology and architecture. The collection includes over 5 million pages.