Guides: Studio Art: Other Resources

Blogs, blogs, blogs…

University of Michigan’s Art and Design school blog
The University of Michigan’s Art and Design school blog. Updated daily with images, links, and general wackiness.
dETROITfUNK
A great blog that covers Detroit. Quirky images and good writing.
Barenforum
A blog on printmaking. Images and advice.
Be A Design Group
A blog created by and for graphic designers. Great images, critical discussion, and informed silliness.
Drawn! The Illustration Blog
A collective blog for illustrators, comic artists, and cartoonists. Great imagery and frequent updates.
LogoLounge
The website of the people who publish the Logo Lounge Books. Some of this site is searchable for free; other parts require you to register for a fee.
Photoblogs.org
A listing of registered photoblogs. Great place to search, see what other people are looking at. Some sites have free use- others are under copyright.
Pottery Blog: Emily Murphy
Emily Murphy’s blog on pottery. Contains images, and in the 26 April 2005 entry, there is an annotated list of other ceramics related blogs.
Painting a Day - A Paintingblog by Duane Keiser...
The ‘painting-a-day’ blog. Small postcard sized paintings uploaded daily.
Lisa Call's "New Work and Inspiration" blog
Lisa Call is an contemporary quilt artist whose blog traces the steps from inspiration to finished product. She talks about influences, materials, and methods. This is a great art process website.

Digital Collections

OAIster: union catalog of digital resources

American Memory, The Library of Congress

NYPDL Digital Gallery

California Digital Library

AHDS Visual Arts

MADID (Yale University Manuscripts & Archives Digital Images Database)

VIA (Harvard University Visual Information Access)

Bridgeman Art Library: art, culture & history images

Masters of Architecture Over 7,000 digital images of slides originally belonging to architects

Parker Library on the Web : Images of 6th-18th century manuscripts from Parker Library in Corpus Christi College, Camden.

National Galley of Art | NGA Images a repository of digital images of the collections of the National Gallery of Art

Public Photosharing Sites

Flickr

General Web Resources on Art

Smithsonian American Art Museum
The American Art Museum is the home to one of the largest and most inclusive collections of American art in the world. Museum staff maintain seven online research databases with more than 500,000 records, including the Inventories of American Painting and Sculpture that document more than 400,000 artworks in public and private collections worldwide.
IFAR: International Foundation for Art Research
A nonprofit educational and research organization dedicated to integrity in the visual arts. IFAR offers impartial and authoritative information on authenticity, ownership, theft, and other artistic, legal, and ethical issues concerning art objects.
Getty Vocabularies
contain structured terminology for art, architecture, decorative arts and other material culture, archival materials, visual surrogates, and bibliographic materials.
Mother of All Art and Art History Links Page
Maintained by the M school of art and design (University of Michigan)
Art History Resources on the Web
Maintained by Christopher L.C.E. Witcombe, Barton-Laing Professor in Art History, Sweet Briar College - online since 1995

Museums & Galleries

Art Institute of Chicago
Cleveland Museum of Art
Cooper Hewitt National Design Museum
Washington, D.C.
Freer + Sackler Galleries
Washington, D.C.
Metropolitan Museum of Art
New York, New York
MOMA, Museum of Modern Art
New York, New York
Musée du Louvre
Paris, France
Musée Rodin
Paris, France
Museum of Fine Arts, Boston
National Gallery of Art
Washington, D.C.
National Museum of African Art
Philadelphia Museum of Art
Prado
Madrid, Spain
Smithsonian American Art Museum
Washington, D.C.
Tate Online
Museums in the UK
The Getty
Los Angeles, CA
The Guggenheim
Tokyo National Museum
Vatican Museum
Vatican City
Victoria and Albert Museum
London, UK

Art Library Vocabulary

Art libraries have different kinds of material than other libraries, and they have different kinds of terms to describe those materials as well. Here are some terms to help you get started--if you click on the links, you will be taken to the Grove Art Online encyclopedias or to Wikipedia for more information.

Catalogue Raisonne
A book containing every single work that a specific artist ever created. These are great for researching artists for a paper or biography.
Festschriften
A collection of essays celebrating a certain person. It's not specific to art, but there are festschriften created for artists and art historians--BHA catalogs festschriften specifically.
Facsimile
A copy of an existing manuscript or book that tries to be as faithful to the original as possible.
Iconography
Refers to the content or subject matter of a work of art, not the form or technique of the work. For instance, a work of art may be Baroque in style, but its iconography would involve the fact that it depicts a Madonna and Child.
Livres d'Artiste
Special kind of book in which an artist created the illustrations directly onto the pages.
Artists' Books
Surprisingly, not the same as a livre d'artiste. An artist's book is a work of art expressed in book format. It could be made of any materials--cloth, metal, glass, etc.--and could be shaped like a traditional book, or not.
Exhibition Catalog
A listing of what was on display in a specific exhibition or show. May include images. These also sometimes include essays by the curator or others that describe the show.
Monograph
Sounds fancy, but it's just another name for a book, as opposed to a journal or magazine or some other continuing resource.

Heilbrunn Timeline of Art History - The Metopolitan Museum of Art
A chronological, geographical, and thematic exploration of the history of art from around the world, as illustrated by the Museum's collection. It is authored by The Met’s experts, and comprises 300 chronologies and close to 1,000 essays and more than 7,000 works of art.