Guides: BA 498 Service Leadership: Financial Data, Statistics, Directories, Demographics & Grants

Information about Nonprofit Organizations

Guidestar

This resource will help you identify nonprofit organizations.

If you are asked by the organization to locate similar nonprofits for benchmarking purposes. This a a useful resource.

You will need to register a free account to conduct effective searches.

The 990 forms will provide detailed financial data on nonprofit organizations.

Statista This link opens in a new window
Statista.com consolidates statistical data on over 80,000 topics from more than 22,500 sources and makes it available on four platforms: German, English, French and Spanish. Pepperdine's subscription includes access to the expert tools and the Global Consumer Survey .

990 Finder
By locating the 990 forms you will be able analyze the size of a nonprofit and learn about the organizations funding sources and expenditures.
Sample Nonprofit Business
The Gale Virtual Reference Database has sample business plans from non-profit organizations.
Charity Navigator
This web site provides rankings and scores for nonprofits based on their transparency and accountability.

Reference USA (now: Data Axle reference solutions) This link opens in a new window
An online directory of 24 million+ businesses in the United States and Canada. Users can search by company name, ticker symbol, executive name, geographic location, sales range, type of business and number of employees.

National Center for Charitable Statistics
Great source for statistical data on charities.

Contains free 990 forms.
ProPublica 990 Explorer

PrivCo This link opens in a new window
PrivCo.com is a well-known source for business and financial research on non-publicly traded corporations, including family-owned, private equity-owned, venture-backed and international unlisted companies.

Grant Directories

Foundation Directory Online (FDO) Essential
is available for remote access through 2021. Once on the site, you will be asked to create an account and sign up for a day pass. The day pass allows you to use FDO Essential remotely anytime within a 24-hour window. There is a clock at the top of the screen that will tell you how much time remains in the pass. After the 24 hour period ends, the clock will show the next date on which you can activate a new pass (every 30 days
Grants.gov Advanced Search
Search 26 federal agencies for grants.
The Grantsmanship Center Local Funding Sources
Locate Top grant making foundations, Community foundations, Corporate giving programs by state.
Foundation Directory Online
Searchable directory of grantmakers. You will have to register a free account.
MSU Libraries funding guides
These guides from Michigan State University provide funding sources for specific categories such as Education, Health, Homelessness, etc.
Community Foundation Locator
Community foundations are grantmaking public charities that are dedicated to improving the lives of people in a defined local geographic area.
infoEd SPIN
Must search on-campus.
California Department of Education
Annual register of grant support.
This is a print resource that lists grants. It is available at the Payson library reference section.

Demographic Information

Census Bureau
Excellent resource for demographic data.

Example: I need demographic information on San Ramon.

Click Data at the top of the screen and select American FactFinder
Type San Ramon into the box for state, county or place and click Go
Click the links for categories such as Profile of General Population, Housing Characteristics: 2010 and Selected Economic Characteristics

Mintel Reports This link opens in a new window
Provides market research report insights for market share, consumer profiles, forecasting, driving forces, and distribution methods on very specific consumer markets in the US. Common data sources include: Simmons Consumer Research Information Resources, Inc., (IRI) Nielsen/NPD, Trade Associations and Mintel's unique consumer research. This database is only available to current Pepperdine students, faculty, and staff.

Mintel is a good resource for marketing information and demographics.

A useful report is titled "Attitudes toward Nonprofits - US - 2022." This report has demographic information on donors and discuss why people donate to charities.

Another useful Mintel report is "Social Media Trends - US - May 2021."

Association of Religion Data Archives
This web site provides statistics on religion by region. Click the link for Religion Reports (InfoGroup). To obtain geographic information that is more precise than the county level, you will have to use the public microdata access codes (PUMA. Visit the PUMA page from the census bureau to match the codes to the geography you need.
Bureau of Labor Statistics
The Bureau of Labor Statistics tracks unemployment by factors such as age, gender, education and race/ethnicity.

eMarketer (now Insider Intelligence) This link opens in a new window
Includes daily research articles, analyst reports, and a database of e-business and online marketing statistics, aggregated and analyzed from over 4,000 sources. Topics include market research and trend analysis on Internet, e-business, online marketing, media and emerging technologies.

Next Generation of American Giving
This report discusses generational differences in giving to nonprofits. You must register to receive this free report.