It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
HIST 204: History of the American Peoples: Scholarly Articles
these will help you find resources for your assignment
Provides access to scholarly literature from journals, dissertations and book and media reviews on the history and culture of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present. Indexing covers 1,800 journals from 1964 to the present and approximately 16,000 entries are added each year. Coverage for some titles back to the 19th and early 20th centuries
Strong English-language journal coverage is balanced by an international perspective on topics and events, including abstracts in English of articles published in more than 40 languages.
The search example below is for the America: History and Life database. All of the EBSCO databases have the same search interface. Depending on your topic, other EBSCO database might be more appropriate. For example, the SPORTDIscus database is a good choice if your topic relates to sports.
Example: I'm searching for scholarly articles on the Great Depression and farmers.
Type great depression into the first box
Type farmers or agricultur* into the second box (the asterisk gives variations of root word like agriculture, agricultural, etc)
On the left-hand side, click the box for Scholarly (Peer Reviewed Journals)
Provides full text coverage to nearly 9,100 journals, including over 7,900 peer-reviewed titles in the social sciences, humanities, general science, multi-cultural studies, education and more. Full-text coverage dates back to 1985 and is updated daily.
Provides access to education literature and resources. The database provides access to information from journals included in the Current Index of Journals in Education and Resources in Education Index. The database contains more than 1.6 million records and links to more than 337,000 full-text documents dating back to 1966.
Searchable reference guide to the history of the world from 1450 to the present (excluding the United States and Canada), and includes over 800,000 annotated bibliographic citations to articles and book reviews provides indexing of more than 2,600 academic historical journals in over 40 languages back to 1955.. Also included are the citations to abstracts of dissertations completed worldwide of particular interest for historical research.
Access to comprehensive, bibliographic and full text coverage of sport, fitness and related disciplines, including over 530 full text titles. More than 1,200,000 records with journal and monograph coverage going back to 1800; over 20,000 dissertations and theses and reference to articles in 60 different languages.
Access to the definitive online tool for film and television research. Subject coverage includes film & television theory, preservation & restoration, screenwriting, production, cinematography, technical aspects, and reviews. The database provides cover-to-cover indexing and abstracts for more than 380 publications (and selected coverage of 300), as well as full text for more than 120 journals, and 100 books.
In addition, Film & Television Literature Index with Full Text includes Variety movie reviews from 1914 to the present and over 36,300 images from the MPTV Image Archive.
Indexes 425 international music periodicals from over 20 countries, with full text for 140 journals. Articles examine the full spectrum of subjects and all aspects of music, including music education, performance, ethnomusicology, musical theatre, theory, popular music forms, and composition.
IIMP covers a comprehensive range of subject areas in both scholarly and popular music journals ranging from International Journal of Music Education, Ethnomusicology, Jazz Education Journal and Musical Times to Rock and Rap Confidential, and Rolling Stone. The database currently includes over 770,000 records, the majority of which index the most recent years of publication. More than 200,000 records in IIMP are from the backfile (up to 1995) and much of this coverage commences at the first issue of the journal run, some starting as early as 1874. Over 30 titles are indexed from first issue to last. IIMP is a dynamic database, with records added on a monthly basis.
This database abstracts and indexes the international literature of sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences. The database provides abstracts of journal articles and citations to book reviews drawn from thousands of serials publications and also provides abstracts of books, book chapters, dissertations, conference papers and working papers.
EBSCOhost is a powerful online reference system accessible via the Internet. It offers a variety of proprietary full-text databases and popular databases from leading information providers. The comprehensive databases range from general reference collections to specially designed, subject-specific databases for public, academic, medical, corporate and school libraries.
Access the journal archives Arts & Sciences I, II, & III, and over 40,000 ebooks on the JSTOR platform; book chapters and journal articles are cross-searchable. JSTOR is an extensive archive of interdisciplinary journals and books, covering subject disciplines in Arts, Business & Economics, History, Humanities, Law, Science & Mathematics, Social Sciences, and Religion.
JSTOR provides scholarly articles and many of the articles were written a long time ago and could be primary sources if they were written when an event took place.
Example: I want articles on the women's suffrage movement that were written between 1900 and 1921
Click Advanced Search
Type women into the first box
Type suffrage or voting in the second box
Click the box for articles (to eliminate book reviews)
Scroll down to Date and type 1900 as the starting date and 1921 as the end date