Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Useful Newspapers and Individual Journals
Reviews current events as they affect US relations worldwide, focusing on international, political, commercial and cultural relations.
Economist (Economist.com) This link opens in a new window
Full-text access to The Economist magazine, covering 1997 to present and related web content.
New York Times (NYTimes.com) This link opens in a new window **Access requires logging in with a NYTimes.com account. Register using your Pepperdine email address here. (Do not click "Continue with Google"). For more information, visit our Guide. **
With NYTimes.com Passes, you have full access to the extensive breaking news, world news, and multimedia of The New York Times without needing your own subscription. Enjoy full access to NYTimes.com, INYT.com and NYT mobile apps from any device. Articles printed prior to 1980 are available by searching NYTimes.com.
Wall Street Journal (WSJ.com) This link opens in a new window **Access requires logging in with a WSJ.com account. Register using your Pepperdine email address here.**
Get unlimited access to WSJ.com, WSJ mobile apps, curated newsletters and podcasts.
International Studies and Modern Languages
Links to Other Useful Guides
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Provides full text coverage to nearly 9,100 journals, including over 7,900 peer-reviewed titles in the social sciences, humanities, general science, multi-cultural studies, education and more. Full-text coverage dates back to 1985 and is updated daily.
Columbia International Affairs Online (CIAO) This link opens in a new window
Access to materials related to international affairs from 1991 onward including working papers from university research institutes, occasional papers series from NGOs, foundation-funded research projects, proceedings from conferences, books, journals and policy briefs related to theory, policy, diplomacy, politics and law in the international arena.
EBSCOhost databases This link opens in a new window
EBSCOhost is a powerful online reference system accessible via the Internet. It offers a variety of proprietary full-text databases and popular databases from leading information providers. The comprehensive databases range from general reference collections to specially designed, subject-specific databases for public, academic, medical, corporate and school libraries.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Access the journal archives Arts & Sciences I, II, III, IV, VI, & VII and over 40,000 ebooks on the JSTOR platform; book chapters and journal articles are cross-searchable. JSTOR is an extensive archive of interdisciplinary journals and books, covering subject disciplines in Arts, Business & Economics, History, Humanities, Law, Science & Mathematics, Social Sciences, and Religion.
Sage Journals Online This link opens in a new window
Provides access to the full text of individual SAGE journals, including issues dating back to 1999. SAGE publishes journals in Business, Communication, Humanities, Social Sciences, and Science, Technology and Medicine and includes leading international peer-reviewed titles, including high-impact research journals published on behalf of over 245 scholarly and professional societies.
LexisNexis Uni (formerly LexisNexis Academic) This link opens in a new window
Provides full-text coverage of approximately 15,000 national and regional newspapers, broadcast transcripts, magazines, wire services, federal and state court opinions, federal and state statutes, federal regulations and SEC filings such as 10-K's and 10-Q's. It provides access to company profiles, industry and market research information and trade journals. This product also provides access to the renowned Shepard's Citations® service for all federal and states court cases back to 1789. This database is only available to current Pepperdine students, faculty, and staff.
For an overview of how to use Nexis Uni, visit this page.
Statista This link opens in a new window
Statista.com consolidates statistical data on over 80,000 topics from more than 22,500 sources and makes it available on four platforms: German, English, French and Spanish. Pepperdine's subscription includes access to the expert tools and the Global Consumer Survey .
Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window
Access to the industry’s most used business research database, providing full text for more than 2,200 journals, including full text for more than 1,100 peer-reviewed titles. This database provides full text back to 1886, and searchable cited references back to 1998. Full text coverage in all disciplines of business, including marketing, management, MIS, POM, accounting, finance and economics is included. Updated daily
Communication & Mass Media Complete This link opens in a new window
Access to content from CommSearch and Mass Media Articles Index along with numerous other journals in communication, mass media, and other closely-related fields of study. CMMC offers cover-to-cover indexing and abstracts for more than 620 journals, and selected coverage of nearly 200 more, for a combined coverage of more than 820 titles.
HeinOnline This link opens in a new window
Online research product with more than 90 million pages of legal history available in an online, fully-searchable, image-based format. Visit HeinOnline LibGuides
for tips on searching this database.
Get the Latest World News from the New York Times!