Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
InfoGuides | Pepperdine Libraries

RefWorks: Importing References

Ways to Add References

The first step in working with RefWorks is creating your database. There are four ways to create a database:

Supported Databases

ABC-CLIO

  • America: History and Life
  • Historical Abstracts

ACS Publications

  • Medline

BIBSYS (RIS Import Format)

  • All Databases

BibTeX

  • ACM Digital Library (BibTeX format)
  • MathSciNet (AMS) (BibTeX format)

BooksInPrint

  • BooksInPrint (ASCII Full Record)

CAS SciFinder

  • Medline

CSA (Cambridge Scientific Abstracts)

  • AGRICOLA
  • ASFA: Aquatic Sciences and Fisheries Abstracts
  • ATLA Religion Database
  • ERIC
  • EconLit
  • Index Islamicus
  • MEDLINE
  • Philosopher's Index
  • PsycARTICLES
  • PsycINFO
  • Social Services Abstracts
  • Sociological Abstracts
  • Worldwide Political Science Abstracts

Desktop Biblio. Mgt. Software

  • Endnote Macintosh (RefMan RIS format)
  • Endnote Windows (RefMan RIS format)
  • ProCite (RIS Format)
  • Reference Manager (RIS Format)

EBSCO MARC

  • EBSCO MARC

EBSCOhost

  • AMED (Alternative Medicine)
  • Academic Search Premier
  • Business Source Complete
  • ERIC
  • EconLit
  • MEDLINE
  • MLA International Bibliography
  • PsycINFO
  • SPORTDiscus

EDINA

  • EconLit (OVID)
  • Palmer's Index

Emerald

  • All Databases

Endeavor Voyager

  • Loyola University Chicago (*Pegasus online catalog)

Endnote version 8.x library

  • Endnote version 8 library

Endnote View

  • Endnote View

Family and Society Studies Worldwide

  • All Databases

GALE InfoTrac Web

  • InvestText

H.W. Wilson

  • All Databases

International Medieval Bibliography

  • International Medieval Bibliography

ISI (Institute for Scientific Information)

  • Web of Science

JSTOR

  • JSTOR

L'Annee Philologique

  • L'Annee Philologique

MARC Format

  • All MARC Formats
  • ECLAS

NetLibrary

  • NetLibrary

NISC

  • AGRICOLA



OCLC FirstSearch

  • ABI_INFORM
  • AGRICOLA
  • Art Abstracts
  • Article First
  • Book Review
  • Books In Print
  • Consumer Index
  • ECO
  • ERIC
  • EconLit
  • Fact Search
  • GEOBASE
  • GPO
  • MEDLINE
  • MLA
  • Media Review Digest
  • News Abstract
  • PapersFirst
  • Periodical Abstracts
  • Philosopher's Index
  • Proceedings
  • PsycARTICLES
  • PsycINFO_1887
  • WilsonSelect
  • WorldCat

OVID

  • ABI/Inform
  • AGRICOLA
  • AMED (Allied and Complementary Medicine)
  • ATLA
  • Biological Abstracts
  • EBM Reviews
  • EBMR Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews
  • EBMR Database of Abstracts of Reviews of Effects
  • ERIC
  • EconLit
  • Health and Psychosocial Instruments (HaPI)
  • HealthStar
  • MEDLINE
  • MLA
  • PsycINFO
  • SPORTDiscus
  • Sociological Abstracts

OvidMARC

  • Ovid MARC

ProQuest

  • All Databases
  • ERIC

ProQuest Digital Dissertations

  • Digital Dissertations

Refer Format

  • EndNote
  • Science Direct (Refer Format)

RefWorks Tagged Format

  • Tagged Format

RIS Format

  • Endnote Macintosh
  • Endnote Windows
  • IEEE
  • Literature Online (Chadwyck)
  • RIS Format Macintosh
  • RIS Format UTF-8
  • RIS Format

RLG Eureka (Full Format)

  • Anthropology Plus
  • Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals
  • Handbook of Latin American Studies

SBBL - Ciela/MetaCrawler

  • CINAHL

ScienceDirect (RIS Format)

  • GEOBASE
  • MEDLINE
  • PsycINFO

SilverPlatter WebSPIRS

  • ABI/INFORM
  • AGRICOLA
  • ASFA
  • ATLA Religion Database + ATLAS
  • Analytical Abstracts
  • Applied Sci & Technol Abst
  • Applied Sci & Technol FTX
  • Art Abstracts
  • Biological Abstracts
  • CINAHL
  • Criminal Justice Abstracts
  • ERIC Database
  • EconLit
  • GEOBASE
  • GPO
  • MLA Bibliography
  • PsycINFO
  • SPORT Discus
  • Social Work Abstracts
  • Sociological Abstracts

UKMARC

  • UKMARC

UniMARC

  • UNIMARC

For a complete list, see: http://www.refworks.com/content/products/import_filter.asp