Guides: Philosophy: Finding Articles & Reference Sources

Philosophy & Interdisciplinary Databases

Atla Religion Database This link opens in a new window
Includes theology and religious journals reflecting all major faiths, denominations and language groups, plus book reviews, essays, ministry reports and multimedia citations. Collection dates to 1949.
Philosopher's Index This link opens in a new window
Abstracts from books and journals in areas of ethics, aesthetics, social philosophy, political philosophy, epistemology, and metaphysic logic, plus philosophy of law, religion, science, history, education, and language.
Philosophy Compass This link opens in a new window
Scholarly journal covering entire discipline of philosophy.

PhilPapers
PhilPapers is a comprehensive index and bibliography of philosophy maintained by the community of philosophers. All sources of research content in philosophy, including journals, books, open access archives, and personal pages maintained by academics, are monitored. The site also hosts the largest open access archive in philosophy.
Open Access Philosophy Journals

Project MUSE This link opens in a new window
Full-text current and archival articles from scholarly journals covering literature and criticism, history, performing arts, cultural studies, education, philosophy, political science, gender studies, and more.
Literature Resource Center This link opens in a new window
Provides up-to-date biographical information, overviews, full-text literary criticism and reviews on writers in all disciplines, from all time periods and around the world.
Brill Publishing Online This link opens in a new window
Includes titles in the area of Humanities & Social Sciences, International Law, and Biology & Sciences from 2000 to 2016, plus e-book collections:
Asian Studies, 2007-2014; Biblical Studies, Ancient Near East, and Early Christianity, 2007-2014 Classical Studies, 2007-2014 Middle East and Islamic Studies, 2007-2014 Religious Studies, Theology and Philosophy, 2007-2014
Wiley Online Library This link opens in a new window
Multidisciplinary collection of online resources covering life, health and physical sciences, social science, and the humanities.
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Provides full text coverage to peer-reviewed titles in the social sciences, humanities, general science, multi-cultural studies, education and more.

JSTOR
Access the journal archives Arts & Sciences I, II, III, IV, VI, & VII and over 40,000 ebooks on the JSTOR platform; book chapters and journal articles are cross-searchable. JSTOR is an extensive archive of interdisciplinary journals and books, covering subject disciplines in Arts, Business & Economics, History, Humanities, Law, Science & Mathematics, Social Sciences, and Religion.

Dissertations & Theses Global (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Doctoral dissertations and master's theses, from 1743 to the present. Full text for most dissertations since 1997.

Philosophy Compass This link opens in a new window
Scholarly journal covering entire discipline of philosophy.

Faith and Philosophy v.7(1990)+ available in Payson Library

Journal of Philosophy (ISSN:0022362X) v.18(1921)-v.101(2004) available in JSTOR

Journal of Philosophy (ISSN:0022362X) v.18(1921 to present) available through Philosophy Documentation Center

Philosophical Review v.109(2000)+ at Duke University Press; v.1(1892)-v.115(2006) availalbe in JSTOR

Philosophical Topics v.12(1981+ available in Payson Libary

Southern Journal of Philosophy v.35(1997)+ available in Wiley Online Library

Encyclopedia of Philosophy This link opens in a new window
Entries on wide-ranging philosophical topics plus biographical entries on notable thinkers in field of philosophy.
Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy This link opens in a new window
Reference work written, reviewed, and maintained by professional philosophers.
Internet Encyclopedia of Philosophy This link opens in a new window
Access to peer-reviewed reference source.

Gale Encyclopedia of Philosophy
Clear and accessible reference articles on wide-ranging philosophical subjects.
Oxford Dictionary of Philosophy
Entries include over 500 biographies of famous and influential philosophers, in-depth analysis of philosophical terms and concepts, a chronology of philosophical events stretching from 10,000 BC to the present day.
New Dictionary of the History of Ideas
Brings fresh intelligence and a global perspective to bear on timeless questions about the individual and society.

Biography in Context This link opens in a new window
Biographical information on more than 528,000 people throughout history, around the world, and across all disciplines and subject areas.
Oxford English Dictionary This link opens in a new window
Authority on the evolution of the English language over the last millennium: the meaning, history, and pronunciation of over more than 600,000 words.
Every three months updates revise existing entries and add new words

Assembled Western Philosophers
Detailed discussion of several major Philosophers by Garth Kemerling.
A Dictionary of Philosophical Terms and Names
A concise guide to technical terms and personal names often encountered in the study of philosophy.
Early Modern Philosophy Texts
Here are versions of some classics of early modern philosophy, and a few from the 19th century, prepared with a view to making them easier to read while leaving intact the main arguments, doctrines, and lines of thought.
Philosophy Since the Enlightenment
Summary of major philosophical movements and ideologies proposed since 1800s.
Eighteenth-Century Resources — Philosophy
Part of the larger collection of Eighteenth-Century Resources on the Net.
Globethics.net Library
Digital library focused on applied ethics and theology. Free registration is required.
Tanner Lectures on Human Values
A collection of educational and scientific discussions relating to human values conducted by leaders in their fields.
The Paideia Project: Proceedings of the Twentieth World Congress of Philosophy.
Archive of papers presented at the Twentieth World Congress of Philosophy held in 1998.