"A primary source is a first-hand record of an event or topic created by a participant in or a witness to that event or topic. Primary sources can be a document, letter, eye-witness account, diary, article, book, recording, statistical data, manuscript, or art object. Primary sources vary by discipline and provide an original source of information about an era or event. Although primary sources can include first-hand accounts that were documented later, such as memoirs or oral histories, primary sources created or written closest to the time of the actual event are considered to be the most useful sources for research purposes." (Source)
These collections have historical documents covering a wide range of time periods, regions, and people.
Includes full-text of the Los Angeles Sentinel newspaper from 1934 to 2010.
Over 450 prison newspapers from across the country in one collection representing penal institutions of all kinds, with special attention paid to women's-only institutions.
Series I offers more than 700 historical American newspapers from 23 states and the District of Columbia printed between 1690 and 1876
Access to more than 700 historical American newspapers from 23 states and the District of Columbia printed between 1690 and 1876.
Provides page images and searchable full text for approximately 500 British periodicals published from the 17th through the early 20th centuries (1681-1920).
Access to selected newspaper pages from 1836 to 1922. Use the U.S. Newspaper Directory to find information on newspapers published between 1690-present.
Search the Illustrated London News together with The Times Digital Archive 1785-1985.
Complete digital edition of The Times (London), including all articles, advertisements and illustrations/photos.
The Late Qing and Republican-Era Chinese Newspapers collection covers 1912 to 1949. The press of more than twenty cities is represented, spanning the Chinese mainland and the entire half century.
Provides unique insights into the history of individual countries, as well as broad viewpoints on key historic events from the late nineteenth century through the present.
Primary source material from 18th and 19th century including historical periodicals and books; eyewitness accounts of historical events, descriptions of daily life, business advertisements, and genealogical records.
Includes every issue published in volumes 1-9, from March 12, 1871 through February 22, 1880. The Capital is a primary record of the American Reconstruction Period.
By using a proper search strategy, you can find Primary Source material at Pepperdine University Libraries and over 70,000 libraries worldwide.
Search by people who witnessed or participated in an event:
The Library of Congress assigns subject headings that are useful terms to add to your search for primary sources:
Please note: books with the phrase "documentary history" in the title often contain primary sources.
Try limiting your search to books that were written at the time of the historical event to target primary sources.
History is a vast subject and there are many other primary sources out there. Below are some places and strategies you can implement to locate more specific and useful resources.
Explore. Discover. Create.
24255 Pacific Coast Highway, Malibu, CA 90263 Phone: 310.506.7273Copyright © 2022 Pepperdine University
