It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Art History: 19th Century
This guide will introduce art history resources available to Pepperdine University students.
Lawrence Alma-tadema by Edmund Swinglehurst; Lawrence Alma-Tadema
Call Number: Oversize ND497.A4 S94 2001
Publication Date: 2001-08-01
Lawrence Alma-Tadema was the quintessential Classicist painter, taking many of his themes from Greek & Roman Mythology. His work has a rich dream-like quality which is well illustrated in this book.
Albert Bierstadt: painter of the American West by Gordon Hendricks
Call Number: Oversize ND237.B585 H42 1988
Publication Date: 1988-05-21
"Published by arrangement with Harry N. Abrams, Inc., in association with the Amon Carter Museum of Western Art."
Georges Braque by Raymond Cogniat
Call Number: Oversize N6853.B7 C6213
Publication Date: 1980-03-01
Mary Cassatt by Judith A. Barter; Erica E. Hirshler (Editor); George T. Shackelford (Editor); Kevin Sharp (Editor); Andrew J. Walker (Editor); Mary Cassatt (Editor)
Call Number: Oversize N6537.C35 A4 1998
Publication Date: 1998-10-15
Published to accompany a traveling exhibition opening at the Art Institute of Chicago. Includes bibliographical references and index.
Cezanne by Francoise Cachin; Isabelle Cachin; Henri Loyrette; Joseph J. Rishel
Call Number: Oversize ND553.C33 A4 1996
Publication Date: 1996-03-30
"Published in conjunction with the exhibition Cézanne, held at the Galleries nationales du Grand Palais, Paris, September 25, 1995, to January 7, 1996, the Tate Gallery, London, February 8 to April 28, 1996, and the Philadelphia Museum of Art, May 30 to August 18, 1996"-
Marc Chagall by Jean-Michel Foray; Meret Meyer Graber; Jakov Bruk
Call Number: Oversize N6999.C46 A4 2003
Publication Date: 2003-09-01
This beautifully designed volume--the first comprehensive survey of Chagall's work since 1985--organizes the artist's oeuvre into four full-color plate sections, each accompanied by introductory texts and entries on key artworks and themes.
Degas by Jean Sutherland Boggs; Susan F. Rossen (Editor)
Call Number: N6853.D33 A4 1996a
Publication Date: 1996-09-01
This compact and appealing volume is the second in the Artists in Focus series from The Art Institute. It is intended for the general reader, but the quality of the works featured and the eloquence of their authors will attract students and scholars.
Marcel Duchamp by Caroline Cros; Vivian Rehberg (Translator)
Call Number: N6853.D8 C76 2006
Publication Date: 2006-04-01
A revealing account of an artist whose enduring obsession with chance and coincidence shaped both his life and work, 'Marcel Duchamp' illuminates one of the most important and influential figures in all of modern art. Drawing on the artist's own correspondence as well as interviews, Paris-based curator and art critic Caroline Cros explores the creative processes behind Duchamp's works;including his famous anti-sculptures, the "Readymades"; the enigmatic Grand Verre; and the seductive, disturbing Etant Donn's; as well as the often hostile reception he encountered in Paris and around the world.
Cros also examines Duchamp's work after he abandoned his art at the age of thirty-six. Notoriously, Duchamp claimed that he would dedicate the remainder of his life to chess, but here we learn of his ongoing contributions to the art world, including his intense involvement in museums, foundations, and surrealist publications.
M. C. Escher by Doris Schattschneider; M. C. Escher
Call Number: Oversize NC263.E83 S3 2004
Publication Date: 2004-05-21
Doris Schattschneider's classic "M. C. Escher: Visions of Symmetry (1990) is the most penetrating study of Escher's work in existence, and the one most admired by mathematicians and scientists. It deals with one powerful obsession that preoccupied Escher: what he called the regular division of the plane
Paul Gauguin by Nancy Mowll Mathews
Call Number: Oversize ND553.G27 M378 2001
Publication Date: 2001-09-10
In this penetrating and daring biography of Paul Gauguin (1848P1903), Mathews traces the themes of sex and violence through the artist's life, from the near-murderous quarrels of his grandparents to his abusive treatment of his wife to his sexual encounters in French Polynesia. 80 illustrations.
Kandinsky by Thomas M. Messer
Call Number: Oversize ND699.K3 M47 1997
Publication Date: 1997-09-01
Modern Historiographyis the essential introduction to the history of historical writing. It explains the broad philosophical background to the different historians and historical schools of the modern era. In a unique overview of modern historiography, the book includes surveys on the Enlightenment and Counter Enlightenment; Romanticism; the voice of Science and the process of secularization within Western intellectual thought; the influence of, and broadening contact with, the New World; theAnnalesschool in France; and the effects of the repression and exile of the inter-war years and the Post-War `moods.'Modern Historiographyprovides a clear and concise account of this modern period of historical writing.
Color, Myth, and Music: Stanton Macdonald-Wright and synchromism by Will South; Stanton Macdonald-Wright; North Carolina Museum of Art Staff (Contribution by); Los Angeles County Museum of Art Staff (Contribution by); Museum of Fine Arts, Houston Staff (Contribution by)
Call Number: Oversize N6537.M3124 A4 2001
Publication Date: 2001-01-01
Exhibition itinerary, North Carolina Museum of Art, 4 March-3 July 2001, Los Angeles County Museum of Art, 5 August-29 October 2001, the Museum of Fine Arts, Houston, 2 December 2001-24 February 2002.
Magritte by Renilde Hammacher (Contribution by); Rene Magritte (Illustrator); Alain Robbe-Grillet (Introduction by); Jean Roudaut (Contribution by); Patrick Roegiers (Contribution by); Daniel Abadie (Contribution by); Jean-Michel Goutier (Contribution by); Bernard No
Call Number: Oversize ND673.M35 A4 2003
Publication Date: 2003-03-02
A picture of a pipe is not really a pipe, and a daylight-filled sky can shine over a streetlamp-lit townhouse, and a painting of a window inside a painting of a sitting room can be the window in that sitting room, and a room-sized rock can gaze out of that room at the sea, and, of course, a man in a suit can have a green apple for a face. At least, that is, in the world of Magritte. One of the most charming and beloved of the surrealists, Rene Magritte took a light, witty paintbrush and created a world both familiar and not--but always recognizable in our dreams. His plays on semiotics, identity, the idea of woman, the possibilities inherent in objects, and the idea that everything was not necessarily what it seemed--or what it was supposed to be--are celebrated here in an intelligent retrospective monograph, featuring more than 150 paintings, sculptures, objects, and works on paper. This catalogue is published in conjunction with an exhibition at the Galerie Nationale duJeu de Paume in Paris.
Henri Matisse by John Elderfield
Call Number: Oversize N6853.M33 A4 1992
Publication Date: 1992-10-01
Complete overview of the art and career of Henri Matisse through an exhibiton at the Museum of Modern Art.
Claude Monet by Confidential Concepts Staff
Call Number: ND553.M7 C53 2004
Publication Date: 2005-01-01
An overview of the artist's scope of work. The highlights are: Important works; illustrations with an index for each work; details on each illustration with its size and where it is displayed.
Thomas Moran: watercolors of the American West by Carol Clark
Publication Date: 1980-06-01
Issued on the occasion of an exhibition to be held May 23-July 13, 1980 at Amon Carter Museum of Western Art, Fort Worth, Tex., Aug. 5-Oct. 5, 1980 at Cleveland Museum of Art, and Oct. 23, 1980-Jan. 4, 1981 at Yale University Art Gallery.
"Catalogue raisonné": p. 121-158.
Edvard Munch by Gerd Woll (Contribution by); Edvard Munch (Illustrator); Klaus Albrecht Schroeder (Editor); Christoph Asendorf (Contribution by); Marian Bisanz-Prakken (Contribution by); Dieter Buchhart (Contribution by); Antonia Hoerschelmann (Contribution by); Frank Ho
Call Number: Oversize N7073.M8 A4 2003
Publication Date: 2003-05-02
"Love, jealousy, loneliness, angst, and death - fundamental experiences of human life - are described with penetrating immediacy in the works of Norwegian artist Edvard Munch (1863-1944), many of which have become icons of modern art. Presenting 70 paintings and 135 works on paper, accompanied by a collection of new essays by recognized Munch scholars, this book explores the origins, development, and interdependence of theme and variation in Munch's oeuvre."--BOOK JACKET.
Georgia O'Keeffe by Achille Bonito Oliva (Text by); Yvonne Scott (Text by); Richard D. Marshall (Text by); Georgia O'Keefe (Illustrator)
Call Number: Oversize ND237.O5 A4 2007b
Publication Date: 2007-11-27
Georgia O'Keeffe: Nature and Abstraction-published for the exhibition at Irish Museum of Modern Art, Dublin-explores O'Keeffe's method of transforming known or recognizable objects into painted abstractions that express the essential elements of form, color, and allusion. This catalog presents O'Keeffe's oeuvre through a selection of paintings that display her penchant for abstract forms derived from her personal observation of the natural world. It displays the development of her aesthetic vocabulary, as well as it's evolution-as seen through her later work which she created well into the 1970s. Also presented are examples of O'Keeffe's personal inspirations, such as flowers, trees, dried bones, and aerial perspectives, as well as her favorite places, such as New York City and New Mexico.
Picasso by Marilyn McCully (Editor)
Call Number: Oversize N6853.P5 A4 1997
Publication Date: 1997-03-27
This book focuses on Picasso's early works, placing them in the context of Picasso's life and the cultural and political currents of his times. The book also presents the latest scientific research into Picasso's methods and materials.
Frederic Remington - the Hogg Brothers Collection of the Museum of Fine Arts, Houston by Emily Ballew Neff; Wynne H. Phelan
Call Number: Oversize ND237.R36 A4 2000
Publication Date: 2000-02-14
The Museum of Fine Arts, Houston, houses one of the most distinguished collections of works by Frederic Remington (1861-1909) in the country. Featuring 'Fight for the Water Hole', one of the icons of American art, and many other highlights, the Hogg Brothers Collection is remarkably comprehensive, representing an unparalleled survey of Remington's career.
This handsome and generously illustrated book showcases the most important works from this collection--including paintings, works on paper, and a bronze sculpture--establishing each within its appropriate historical, cultural, and political contexts. Drawing on unpublished archival information, the book discusses Remington's spectacular rise to fame as a popular illustrator who mythologized the experience of westward expansion and whose works created the enduring American cowboy archetype, while chronicling the rapidly disappearing Native American cultures.
Henri Rousseau by Gotz Adriani
Call Number: Oversize ND553.R67 A4 2001a
Publication Date: 2001-12-11
"Henri Rousseau, called 'Le Douanier' because of his early career with the French customs service, is one of the most important, fascinating and least studied of late nineteenth-century artists. His determined and unapologetic primitivism distanced his work from most of his contemporaries, but he was widely admired by Picasso, Apollinaire and Kandinsky, and is now seen as one of the pioneers of the modern movement. This book offers a detailed portrait of Rousseau's life and career as well as sensitive interpretations of his unusual, individualistic art."--BOOK JACKET.Title Summary field provided by Blackwell North America, Inc. All Rights Reserved
Van Gogh by Steven Naifeh; Gregory White Smith
Call Number: N6953.G3 N35 2011
Publication Date: 2011-10-18
Working with the full cooperation of the Van Gogh Museum in Amsterdam, Naifeh and Smith have accessed a wealth of previously untapped materials. While drawing liberally from the artist's famously eloquent letters, they have also delved into hundreds of unpublished family correspondences, illuminating with poignancy the wanderings of Van Gogh's troubled, restless soul. Naifeh and Smith bring a crucial understanding to the larger-than-life mythology of this great artist-his early struggles to find his place in the world; his intense relationship with his brother Theo; his impetus for turning to brush and canvas; and his move to Provence, where in a brief burst of incandescent productivity he painted some of the best-loved works in Western art.
The Private Collection of Edgar Degas by Ann Dumas; Colta Ives; Susan Alyson Stein; Gary Tinterow; Mark Polizzotti (Translator)
Call Number: Oversize N6847 .P77 1997
Publication Date: 1997-09-01
#Catalog of an exhibition held at the Metropolitan Museum of Art, Oct. 1, 1997-Jan. 11, 1998.#Includes bibliographical references and index.
When Edgar Degas died in 1917, his enormous art collection, consisting of several thousand paintings, drawings, and prints, came to light. This remarkable assemblage included great numbers of works by the French nineteenth-century masters whom Degas revered - Delacroix, Ingres, and Daumier - and at the same time demonstrated Degas's profound interest in the art of certain of his contemporaries, particularly Manet, Cezanne, Gauguin, and Mary Cassatt.
Nineteenth Century Art by Stephen Eisenman
Call Number: Oversize N6450 .E39 2002
Publication Date: 2002-03-01
"This is a reconsideration of the origins of modern painting, sculpture and photography in Europe and North America. In the arenas of art and representation, the nineteenth century was a time of questioning, experimentation, discovery and modernization; artists challenged, as never before, prevailing definitions of art and the social order."
Nineteenth-Century European Art by Petra ten-Doesschate Chu
Call Number: Oversize N6757 .C484 2003
Publication Date: 2010-12-27
This essential survey of European art and visual culture in the nineteenth-century treats art forms within a broad historical framework to show the connections between visual cultural production and the political, social, and economic order of the time.
Modernity and Modernism by Francis Frascina; Nigel Blake; Briony Fer; Tamar Garb; Charles Harrison
Call Number: ND547.5.I4 M64 1993
Publication Date: 1993-02-24
The authors seek to explain the most important issues confronting any study of modern art, without attempting exhaustive coverage. The books present a range of approaches characteristic of current art-historical debates. The book focuses on aspects of Realism, Impressionism and Post-Impressionism in Paris between about 1848 and 1900.
Art in an Age of Bonapartism, 1800-1815 by Albert Boime
Call Number: N6757 .B56 1991
Publication Date: 1991-05-07
This volume offers a major critique and revisionist interpretation of Western European culture, history, and society from Napoleon's seizure of power to 1815. Boime argues that Napoleon manipulated the production of images, as well as information generally, in order to maintain his political hegemony. He examines the works of French painters such as Jacques-Louis David and Jean Auguste Dominique Ingres, to illustrate how the art of the time helped to further the emperor's propagandistic goals. He also explores the work of contemporaneous English genre painters, Spain's Francisco de Goya, the German Romantics Philipp Otto Runge and Caspar David Friedrich, and the emergence of a national Italian art.
Art in Theory 1815-1900 by Charles Harrison (Editor); Paul Wood (Editor); Jason Gaiger (Editor)
Call Number: N6450 .A779 1998
Publication Date: 1998-03-16
Art in Theory 1815-1900 provides a wide-ranging and comprehensive collection of documents on nineteenth-century theories of art.
Hudson River School by Elizabeth Mankin Kornhauser; Amy Ellis; Maureen Miesmer (Contribution by); Wadsworth Atheneum Museum of Art Staff (Contribution by)
Call Number: Oversize ND1351.5 .K67 2003
Publication Date: 2003-09-10
"Hudson River School paintings are among America's most admired and well-loved artworks. Such artists as Thomas Cole, Frederic Church, Albert Bierstadt, and Martin Johnson Heade left a powerful legacy to American art, embodying in their epic works the reverence for nature and the national idealism that prevailed during the middle of the nineteenth century. This book features fifty-seven major Hudson River School paintings from the collection of the Wadsworth Atheneum Museum of Art, recognized as the finest and most extensive in the world." "Amply illustrated, the book includes paintings by all of the major figures of the Hudson River School. Each work is beautifully reproduced in full color and is accompanied by a concise description of its significant and historical background. The book also includes artists' biographies and a brief introduction to American nineteenth-century landscape painting and the Wadsworth Atheneum's unique role in collecting Hudson River pictures."--BOOK JACKET.T
Modern Art, 1851-1929 by Richard Brettell
Call Number: N6757 .B74 1999
Publication Date: 1999-07-22
Beginning with The Great Exhibition of 1851 in London, Brettell follows the development of the major European avant-garde groups: the Realists, Impressionists, Post-Impressionists, Symbolists, Cubists, and Surrealists. Giving attention to the changing social, economic, and political climate, the book focuses on conditions for the development of modern art such as urban capitalism, modernity, and the accessible image made possible by art museums, temporary exhibitions, lithography, and photography. Brettell examines artists' responses to modernism, including changes in representation, vision, and "the art of seeing." Combining the most recent scholarship with 140 illustrations--75 in full color--the book chronicles the change in art and image itself, from the iconology of new representations of the nude human form to the anti-iconography of "art without 'subject'": landscape painting, text and image, and abstraction.
American Painting of the Nineteenth Century by Barbara Novak
Call Number: ND210 .N68 2007
Publication Date: 2007-01-12
In this distinguished work, which Hilton Kramer in The New York Times Book Review called "surely the best book ever written on the subject," Barbara Novak illuminates what is essentially American about American art. She highlights not only those aspects that appear indigenously in our art works, but also those features that consistently reappear over time. Novak examines the paintings of Washington Allston, Thomas Cole, Asher B. Durand, Fitz H. Lane, William Sidney Mount, Winslow Homer, Thomas Eakins, and Albert Pinkham Ryder. She draws provocative and original conclusions about the role in American art of spiritualism and mathematics, conceptualism and the object, and Transcendentalism and the fact. She analyzes not only the paintings but nineteenth-century aesthetics as well, achieving a unique synthesis of art and literature. Now available with a new preface and an updated bibliography, this lavishly illustrated volume--featuring more than one hundred black-and-white illustrations and sixteen full-color plates--remains one of the seminal works in American art history.
Cezanne to Picasso: Ambroise Vollard, patron of the avant-garde by Rebecca A. Rabinow (Editor); Douglas W. Druick (Editor); Ann Dumas (Editor); Gloria Groom (Editor); Anne Roquebert (Editor); Gary Tinterow (Editor)
Call Number: Oversize N8660.V6 C49 2006
Publication Date: 2006-11-01
Ambroise Vollard (1867-1939) played a key role in the transformation of the art world in the late 19th century. A pioneering Parisian dealer, Vollard introduced many of the era's leading artists to the public. This beautifully illustrated catalogue, accompanying the first comprehensive exhibition devoted to Vollard's extraordinary achievement, presents 130 important paintings, sculpture, and works on paper that he promoted, exhibited, and sold.
Vollard's groundbreaking exhibition in 1895 of Cezanne's work definitively established the artist's reputation, and Vollard subsequently organized major exhibitions of the Nabis, Gauguin, and Van Gogh; promoted the work of artists ranging from Degas to Rouault to the Fauves; and gave many young artists, including Picasso and Matisse, their first solo shows. In addition, Vollard published print albums and 'livres' artiste' that are among the most celebrated of the early 20th century.
This important volume features twenty-two essays that examine Vollard's career and expertise in the art market, his relationships with individual artists and collectors, and a wealth of previously unpublished material from the newly available archive of Vollard's documents and from the archives of the artists he represented.
Neoclassicism by David Irwin
Call Number: N6425.N4 I7 1997
Publication Date: 1997-07-07
The period of Neoclassicism in the visual arts was an age of Classicalevival, drawing directly on antiquity itself. At a time when archaeologistsere making fresh dicoveries and The Grand Tour of ancient sites in theediateranian was in vogue, Neoclassicism flourished and spread in allirections as far as St Petersburg, Philadelphia and Sydney.;Neoclacissismas the favourite style of Napoleon and Thomas Jefferson and became the mostervasive stle in the history of European art. David Irwin's text providesnsight into the richness and variety of the movement and embraces allanifestations of Neoclassicism from its broad territorial scope to itsppeal for every branch of art.
Neoclassicism and Romanticism by Silvestra Bietoletti
Call Number: Oversize N6425.N4 B5413 2009
Publication Date: 2009-09-01
Here is a rich, informative introduction to an exciting period in art history. Neoclassicism, which arose during the 18th century's Age of Enlightenment, was inspired by the rationality, simplicity, and grandeur of ancient Greece and Rome. In fact, many of its greatest works reflect archaeological discoveries of the time. In reaction to this austere style, Romanticism sought to re-infuse art with passion, drama, and mysticism. Here are the key masterpieces of both schools;works by Canova, Constable, Copley, David, Blake, Delacroix, Gericault, Turner, Ingres, and others;complete with biographies of the artists, and accompanied by a text that illuminates the ideas and events that shaped an era of artistic ferment.
Romanticism by David Blayney Brown
Call Number: N6847.5.R6 B769 2001
Publication Date: 2001-08-20
Romanticism was "a way of feeling" rather than a style in art in the period c.775-1830. Against the background of the French Revolution and Napoleonic wars, artists, poets and composers across Europe initiated their own rebellion against the dominant political, religious and social ethos of the day. Their quest was for personal expression and individual liberation, directness and spontaneity, with an emphasis on the unique integrity of every work. In the process, the Romantics changed the idea of art, seeing it as an instrument of social and psychological change.;In this comprehensive volume,David Blayney Brown takes a thematic approach to this fascinating period of art history, relating it to the concurrent, more stylistic movements of neoclassicism and the Gothic Revival, and discussing its integral relationship with the political and social developments of the era.
Realism by Linda Nochlin
Call Number: N6465.R4 N6 1990
Publication Date: 1972-03-30
1. The nature of realism --
2. Death in the mid nineteenth century --
3. 'Il faut être de son temps' : realism and the demand for contemporaneity
4. The heroism of modern life.
Romanticism and Realism by Charles Rosen; Henri Zerner
Call Number: NX454.5.R6 R67 1984
Publication Date: 1984-03-30
The fingerprint : a vignette --
Romanticism : the permanent revolution --
Caspar David Friedrich and the language of landscape --
The Romantic vignette and Thomas Bewick --
The reproductive image and photography --
The Juste milieu and Thomas Couture --
Realism and the avant-garde --
The recovery of the past and the modern tradition --
The ideology of the licked surface : official art.
American Impressionism and Realism by H. Barbara Weinberg; Doreen Bolger; David P. Curry
Call Number: Oversize ND210.5.I4 W456 1994
Publication Date: 1994-04-01
Published in conjunction with an exhibition that originated at The Metropolitan Museum of Art in New York and is scheduled to travel to several locations during 1994 and 1995. Serving as both a catalog and an exposition, this abundantly illustrated volume explores the continuities and differences between American Impressionism and Realism, two movements that are traditionally viewed as merely opposed. The thrust of the exhibition (and this volume) is to forge a new approach to an area of American art history that has heretofore tended more towards description than interpretation, offering historical and social contexts for the works and movements under consideration as well as stylistic analyses, and a biography of each of the 26 artists in the exhibition. Distributed by Abrams. Annotation c. by Book News, Inc., Portland, Or.
Impressionism by James Henry Rubin
Call Number: N6465.I4 R835 1999
Publication Date: 1999-05-25
Considered revolutionary in the 19th century, the Impressionists sought to capture on canvas the immediacy of experience. This book offers a scholarly (yet accessible) treatment of the art and cultural and intellectual context of Impressionism.
Impressionism: art, leisure, and Parisian society by Robert Herbert
Call Number: Oversize ND550 .H47 1988
Publication Date: 1988-09-10
Sumptuously illustrated with many of the most beautiful Impressionist images, this book presents provocative new interpretations of a wide range of famous masterpieces, showing how they were fully integrated into the social and cultural life of the times.
Critical Readings in Impressionism and Post-Impressionism by Mary Tompkins Lewis (Editor)
Call Number: ND547.5.I4 C75 2007
Publication Date: 2007-03-01
The essays in this wide-ranging, beautifully illustrated volume capture the theoretical range and scholarly rigor of recent criticism that has fundamentally transformed the study of French Impressionist and Post-Impressionist art. Readers are invited to consider the profound issues and penetrating questions that lie beneath this perennially popular body of work as the contributors examine the art world of late nineteenth-century France--including detailed looks at Monet, Manet, Pissarro, Degas, CÉzanne, Morisot, Seurat, Van Gogh, and Gauguin. The authors offer fascinating new perspectives, placing the artworks from this period in wider social and historical contexts. They explore these painters' pictorial and market strategies, the critical reception and modern criteria the paintings engendered, and the movement's historic role in the formation of an avant-garde tradition. Their research reflects the wealth of new documents, critical approaches, and scholarly exhibitions that have fundamentally altered our understanding of Impressionism and Post-Impressionism. These essays, several of which have previously been familiar only to scholars, provide instructive models of in-depth critical analysis and of the competing art historical methods that have crucially reshaped the field.
Symbolist Art in Context by Michelle Facos
Call Number: Oversize N6465.S9 F33 2009
Publication Date: 2009-03-31
The Symbolist art movement of the late nineteenth century forms an important bridge between Impressionism and Modernism. But because Symbolism, more than the two movements it links, emphasizes ideas over objects and events, it has suffered from vague and conflicting definitions. In Symbolist Art in Context,Michelle Facos offers a clearly written, comprehensive, and accessible description of this challenging subject. Reaching back into Romanticism for Symbolism's origins, Facos argues that Symbolism enabled artists (including Munch and Gauguin) to confront an increasingly uncertain and complex world--one to which pessimists responded with themes of decadence and degeneration and optimists with idealism and reform.
Symbolist Art Theories - A Critical Anthology by Henri Dorra
Call Number: NX542 .S97 1994
Publication Date: 1995-09-08
Henri Dorra, in his comprehensive new book, presents the development and the aesthetic theories of the symbolist movement in art and literature. Included are writings (many never before translated or reprinted) by artists, designers, architects, and critics, along with Dorra's learned commentary. Fifty photographs of symbolist works complement his encyclopedic coverage. Dorra traces symbolism and its roots from artist to artist and critic to critic from the 1860s to the early twentieth century. The decorative arts and architecture are examined as well as painting and sculpture. The Arts and Crafts movement, art nouveau, the work of Eiffel in France and Sullivan in the United States are all well represented. The close relations between symbolist poets and artists are reflected in the chapter on literary developments. Baudelaire, Rimbaud, Verlaine, and Mallarmeacute; are here, but so, too, are writers less well-known. A section on the Post-Impressionists and the "Artists of the Soul" rounds out Dorra's rich and varied text, and his epilogue lays the groundwork for what was to follow symbolism. Dorra beautifully integrates the different aesthetic branches of symbolism, the different media and national variations, without ever losing sight of the whole. The historical context provided makes this a particularly appealing collection for students and scholars of art history and literature, as well as for anyone interested in the evolution of symbolism.
The private life of a masterpiece. / The complete seasons 1-5 by Russell Davies; Jeremy Bugler; Fulmar (Firm); British Broadcasting Corporation.; BBC Video (Firm)
Call Number: DVD ED/DOC VIDEO .P7593 DVD
Publication Date: 2008
Disc four: Masterpieces 1851 to 1900: Edouard Manet: Le dejeuner sur l'herbe ; James McNeill Whistler: Portrait of the artist's mother ; Edvard Munch: The scream --
Disc five: Impressionism and the post impressionists: Auguste Renoir: Dance at Le Moulin de la Galette ; Vincent van Gogh: The sunflowers ; Georges Seurat: A sunday on La Grande Jatte 1884 --
The post-impressionists. / Cézanne by David Manson; Lara Lowe; John Viner; David Addison; Carole Guberman;
Call Number: DVD ED/DOC VIDEO .P6802 C49 DVD
Publication Date: 2006
In his landscape and still-life paintings, Cezanne developed a revolutionary new approach to color and perspective. His influence on 20th century artists was so great that he is now referred to as the Father of Modern Painting.
The post-impressionists. / Gauguin by David Manson; Lara Lowe; John Viner; Carole Guberman; David Addison;
Call Number: DVD ED/DOC VIDEO .P6802 G38 DVD
Publication Date: 2006
Examines the life and work of post-impressionist master Paul Gaugin, featuring expert commentary and location footage.
The post impressionists. / Munch by David Manson; Lara Lowe; David Addison; Carole Guberman; John Viner
Call Number: DVD ED/DOC VIDEO .P6802 M86 DVD
Publication Date: 2006
In 1893 Edvard Munch created a masterpiece which has become a defining image of the 20th Century. The Scream is a picture whose sense of anguish reveals much about our own lives, as well as the life of the artist who created it.
The post-impressionists. / Rousseau by David Manson; Lara Lowe; John Viner; Carole Guberman; David Addison
Call Number: DVD ED/DOC VIDEO .P6802 R68 DVD
Publication Date: 2006
Examines the life and work of post-impressionist painter Henri Rousseau, featuring expert commentary and location footage.
The post-impressionists. / Toulouse-Lautrec by David Manson; Lara Lowe; John Viner; Carole Guberman; David Addison; All authors
Call Number: DVD ED/DOC VIDEO .P6802 T68 DVD
Publication Date: 2006
Examines the life and work of post-impressionist painter Henri Toulouse-Lautrec, featuring expert commentary and location footage.
The post-impressionists. / Van Gogh by David Manson; Bob Carruthers; Gary Russell; Lara Lowe; John Vine
Call Number: DVD ED/DOC VIDEO .P6802 V36 DVD
Publication Date: 2006
Examines the life and work of van Gogh, featuring expert commentary and location footage.