It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Art History: Greek Art
This guide will introduce art history resources available to Pepperdine University students.
Coming of age in ancient Greece : images of childhood from the classical past by Jenifer Neils; John Howard Oakley; Katherine Hart; Lesley A Beaumont
Call Number: Oversize N5633 .N35 2003
Catalog of an exhibition held at Hood Museum of Art, Aug. 23-Dec. 14, 2003 and other locations.
Childhood in ancient Greece --
Children in Aegean prehistory --
The changing face of childhood --
Fathers and sons, men and boys --
Mothers and daughters --
Children and Greek religion --
Death and the child
The Human figure in early Greek art. by National Gallery of Art (U.S.)
Call Number: N5635.W37 H8
Publication Date: 1988
Catalog of an exhibition held at the National Gallery of Art, Washington, Jan. 31-June 12, 1988, and four other museums.
The art of ancient Greek theater by Mary Louise Hart; J Michael Walton
Call Number: Oversize N8252 .H37 2010
Published on the occasion of an exhibition on view in the J. Paul Getty Museum, Aug. 26, 2010-Jan. 3, 2011
This book examines the vibrant imprint that ancient Greek tragedy and comedy left on the visual arts of classical Greece. Beyond being popular in their day, these plays inspired an array of lively paintings and sculpture, and those works represent, in some cases, the only evidence we have of some of the plays from ancient Greece.
Magna Graecia : Greek art from south Italy and Sicily by Michael J Bennett; Aaron J Paul; Mario Iozzo; Bruce M White
Call Number: Oversize N5753 .M34 2002
Catalog of an exhibition held at the Cleveland Museum of Art, Oct. 27, 2002-Jan. 5, 2002 and at the Tampa Museum of Art, Feb. 2-Apr. 20, 2003.
The Euboeans and the west : art, epic poetry, and history / Michael Bennett --
Agrigento : profile of a Greek city / Aaron J. Paul --
Black-figure pottery in Magna Graecia and Sicily / Mario Iozzo --
Sculptural styles of Magna Graecia / Carlos A. Picón --
Demeter and Persephone in western Greece : migrations of myth and cult / H.A. Shapiro --
Sanctuaries of Magna Graecia and Sicily / Emanuele Greco.
The Greek world : art and civilization in Magna Graecia and Sicily by Giovanni Pugliese Carratelli; Palazzo Grassi.
Call Number: Oversize DG55.M3 G713 1996
Catalog of an exhibition held in the Palazzo Grassi, Venice, Mar.-Dec., 1996.
Website for the online version of the Corpus Vasorum Antiquorum project of the Union AcadeÌmique Internationale, which involves publication of a collection of images of primarily Greek ancient vases dating from 6,000 B.C. to 400 A.D. from more than 120 collections in 26 countries. Provides an online searchable database of digitized text and images, browsable by country and museum, and searchable by fabric, technique, provenance and other aspects.
Describes the project, with the invitation of the Union AcadeÌmique Nationale and sponsorship of the Getty Grant Program and other institutions, for the Beazley Archive at Oxford University to digitize the approximately 250 out of print fascicules (out of over 300 published) over the period 2002-2004. The project is on-going; new fascicules are being published and participating museums have the opportunity to contribute to the on-line database.
A comprehensive overview of the major cultures of the classical Mediterranean world—Greek, Hellenistic, and Roman—from the Bronze Age to the fifth century CE. Broad overviews of literature, history, archaeology, art, philosophy, science, and religion are complimented by articles on authors and their works, literary genres and periods, historical figures and events, archaeologists and archaeological sites, artists and artistic themes and materials, philosophers and philosophical schools, scientists and scientific areas, gods, heroes, and myths.
DVDs on Greek Civilization
Ancient Greek civilization by Jeremy McInerney; Tamara Stonebarger; Sal Rodriguez; Teaching Company.
Call Number: DVD ED/DOC
Publication Date: 1998
Why do the ancient Greeks occupy such a prominent place in conceptions of Western culture and identity? The Greeks are a source of much that we esteem: democracy, philosophy, tragedy, epic and lyric poetry, history-writing, ideals of athletic competition, aesthetic sensibilities, and more. Spanning roughly 1,000 years, the lectures cover the Late Bronze Age (1500 B.C.E.) to the time of Alexander the Great in the late 4th century (400 B.C.E.). Greek civilization experienced a period of magnificent achievement, and then plunged into darkness, from which blossomed a second flowering of that civilization, giving us the foundation of our own
Greek accomplishments by Ronald C Meyer; Zay Harding; Centre Communications.; Ambrose Video Publishing.
Call Number: DVD ED/DOC
Publication Date: 2007
It has been said that all western art and science is but a footnote to ancient Greek accomplishments. In this program, the story is told of how Greek thinkers laid the foundation for architecture, painting, sculpture, history, philosophy, medicine, literature, zoology, botany, mathematics, astronomy, theater, and finally, the western scientific methodology. It is a history of a series of brilliant Greek thinkers from Homer in 700 B.C. to Ptolemy in 150 A.D.
Books on Greek Art
The art of ancient Greece : sources and documents by J J Pollitt
Call Number: N5630 .P56 1990
Contains a comprehensive collection in translation of ancient literary evidence relating to Greek sculpture, painting, architecture, and the decorative arts. The material is presented in a way which makes this important evidence available to students who are not specialists in the Classical languages or Classical archaeology. Accompanying the author's translations of a wide selection of Greek and Latin texts is an accessible, substantial bibliography, as well as an introduction, and explanatory commentary.
Archaic and classical Greek art by Robin Osborne
Call Number: N5630 .O83 1998
An introduction to the images and sculptures of Ancient Greece from the Geometric period to the early Hellenistic. By carefully examining the context in which sculptures and paintings were produced, author Robin Osborne shows how artists responded to the challenges they faced in the formidable and ambitious world of the Greek city-state, producing the rich diversity of forms apparent in Greek art. Artistic developments of the period combined the influences of the symbolism and imagery of eastern Mediterranean art with the explorations of humanity embodied in the narratives of Greek poetry
The Art of the Greek Goldsmith by Dyfri Williams
Call Number: Oversize NK7107.3 .A78 1998
Twenty one essays from the 1994 colloquium at the time of the 'Greek Gold' exhibition at the British Museum. They describe new and old finds from Greece, Turkey and Italy; studies of typology, workshops, technology, and conservation.
Greek art. by John Boardman
Call Number: N5630 .B58
An excellent introduction to the field, Boardman's book is a classic. Particularly interesting and enlightening is his ability to remove "Greek art...from the traditional art book and gallery" and focus on what the works meant to their makers and viewers and, consequently, to later artists.
Art and experience in classical Greece by J J Pollitt
Call Number: N5630 .P54 1999
An account of the development of Greek art in the Classical period (about 480-320 BC) which places particular emphasis on the meaning and content of Greek sculpture, architecture and painting. Professor Pollitt reminds us that the visual arts in Greece, as elsewhere, were primarily vehicles of expression. He does not ignore formal development but always relates this to social and cultural history, which it reflected and from which it grew.
The emergence of the classical style in Greek sculpture by Richard T Neer
Call Number: Oversize NB90 .N447 2010
In the fifth century BCE, an artistic revolution occurred in Greece, as sculptors developed the ways of representing bodies, movement, and space. This title tells the story of Greek sculpture. It provides the ways to understand classical sculpture in Greek terms, and analyzes the relationship between political and stylistic histories.
Understanding Greek sculpture : ancient meanings, modern readings by Nigel Jonathan Spivey
Call Number: NB90 .S66 1996
Many pieces of Greek sculpture are very familiar to us - the Discobolus, the Venus de Milo and the Parthenon frieze, for instance - but our appreciation of them as "works of art," enshrined in museums, is far removed from the ways in which the ancient Greeks saw and perceived them. To comprehend why Greek sculpture looks as it does we have to recreate the conditions of its production and consider those who commissioned, used and viewed it as much as the sculptors whom we traditionally associate with its creation. Drawing on literary, historical and archaeological evidence, Nigel Spivey explains the techniques of the manufacture of Greek sculpture and traces its production from the eighth century BC to the Hellenistic period.
Greek sculpture : the archaic period : a handbook by John Boardman
Call Number: NB90 .B62 1978b
Traces the development of Archaic Greek sculpture in terms of styles and regions, providing a comprehensive range of pictures for the period that includes coverage of unfamiliar, rarely reproduced sculptures.
Greek sculpture : the classical period : a handbook by John Boardman
Call Number: NB94 .B62 1985
Looks at the development of sculptures, reliefs, and friezes in fifth century B.C. Greece and assesses this period's importance in art history.
Greek sculpture : the late classical period and sculpture in colonies and overseas by John Boardman
Call Number: NB94 .B63 1995
This sequel brings the story down through the fourth century BC to the days of Alexander the Great. The author discusses the innovations of the period - the female nude and portraiture, many important monuments including the Mausoleum at Halikarnassos, and several of the great names such as Praxiteles and Lysippus who were lionised by later generations. Complementing the other handbooks this volume also presents Greek sculpture made in the colonies of Italy and Sicily from the Archaic period onwards, as well as that made for eastern, non-Greek rulers.
The diffusion of classical art in antiquity by John Boardman
Call Number: Oversize N5340 .B59 1994
John Boardman here explores Greek art as a foreign art transmitted to the non-Greeks of antiquity - peoples who were not necessarily able to judge the meaning of Greek art and who may have regarded the Greeks themselves with great hostility. Boardman's pioneering work assesses how and why the arts of the Classical world traveled and to what effect, roughly from the eighth century B.C. to early centuries A.D., from Britain to China. Since the Greeks were not themselves always the intermediaries and the results were largely determined by the needs of the recipients, this becomes a study of foreign images accepted or copied usually without regard to their original function.
Figures of speech : men and maidens in ancient Greece by Gloria Ferrari
Call Number: NK4645 .F47 2002
Over the past two hundred years, thousands of ancient Greek vases have been unearthed. Yet these artifacts remain a challenge: what did the images depicted on these vases actually mean to ancient Greek viewers? In this book, Gloria Ferrari uses Athenian vases, literary evidence, and other works of art from the Archaic and Classical periods (520-400 B.C.) to investigate what these items can tell us about the ancient Greeks—specifically, their notions of gender.