Beyond Babylon : art, trade, and diplomacy in the second millennium B.C. by Joan Aruz; Kim Benzel; Jean M Evans
Call Number: Oversize N5345 .B38 2008
Catalog of an exhibition at the Metropolitan Museum of Art, New York, Nov. 18, 2008-Mar. 15, 2009.
Describes the extraordinary art created in the second millennium BC for royal palaces, temples, and tombs from Mesopotamia, Syria, and Anatolia to Cyprus, Egypt, and the Aegean. This book discusses the history of the period and the artistic creativity fostered by interaction among the powers of the ancient Near East, both great and small.
Eternal Egypt : masterworks of ancient art from the British Museum by T G H James; Edna R Russmann
Call Number: Oversize N5350 .E87 2001
Published in connection with a traveling exhibition held at the Toledo Museum of Art, Toledo, Ohio, and seven other institutions between Mar. 1, 2000 and Sept. 21, 2003.
CONTENTS: A historical overview of Egyptian art / Edna R. Russmann -Aspects of Egyptian art / Edna R. Russman ; Two dimensional representation ; Portraiture ; Archaism -The formation and growth of the Egyptian collections of the British Museum / T.G.H. James -Catalogue. Early Dynastic period (cat. nos. 1-3) ; Old Kingdom (cat. nos. 4-11) ; Middle Kingdom (cat. nos. 12-42) ; New Kingdom (cat. nos. 43-98) ; New Kingdom to Ptolemaic period (cat. nos. 99-105) ; New Kingdom to Roman period (cat. nos. 106-11) ; Third intermediate period (cat. nos. 112-22) ; Third intermediate period to Late period (cat. nos. 123-28) ; Late period (cat. nos. 129-37) ; Ptolemaic period (cat. nos. 138-44).
Egyptian art in the age of the pyramids.
Call Number: Oversize N5350 .E37 1999
Catalogue of an exhibition to be held at the Galeries nationales du Grand Palais, Paris, Apr. 6-July 12, 1999, the Metropolitan Museum of Art, Sept. 16, 1999-Jan. 9, 2000, and the Royal Ontario Museum, Toronto, Feb. 13-May 22, 2000.
ADDED COPY published in conjunction with the Met exhibit: Oversize N5350 .A75 1999
Mistress of the House, Mistress of Heaven : women in ancient Egypt by Anne K Capel; Glenn Markoe
Call Number: Oversize N5335.C56 C566 1996
Published in conjunction with the exhibition organized by the Cincinnati Art Museum, Cincinnati, Ohio, October 20, 1996 through January 5, 1997, and also appearing at The Brooklyn Museum (February 21 through May 18, 1997)"
Masterpieces of Egyptian art dating from 3000 to 300 B.C. have been brought together from great American museum and private collections to illuminate the role of women in ancient Egyptian society.
The royal women of Amarna : images of beauty from ancient Egypt by Dorothea Arnold
Call Number: Oversize NB1296.2 .A75 1996
Exhibition catalogue for an exhibition running from Oct. 8, 1996 through Feb. 2, 1997, at the Metropolitan Museum of Art.
Pharaohs of the sun : Akhenaten, Nefertiti, Tutankhamen by Rita E Freed; Sue D'Auria; Yvonne J Markowitz;
Call Number: Oversize NB75 .P485 1999
Catalog of an exhibition held at Museum of Fine Arts, Boston, Nov. 14, 1999-Feb. 6, 2000 and other venues.
In this volume the fascinating Amarna Period of ancient Egypt comes to life through more than 250 beautiful works of sculpture, architectural elements, ceramic ware, jewelry, clothing, tools, and furniture from renowned international collections. Essays by leading Egyptian scholars describe this time of unprecedented change in Egyptian art and architecture, technology, the role of women, and religion, specifically the transition from polytheism to monotheism
Tutankhamun, his tomb and its treasures by I E S Edwards; Harry Burton; Lee Boltin
Call Number: Oversize DT87.5 .E347 1976
"Published on the occasion of the exhibition Treasures of Tutankhamun at the National Gallery of Art, Washington, D.C., Field Museum of Natural History and the Oriental Institute of the University of Chicago, New Orleans Museum of Art, Los Angeles County Museum of Art, Seattle Art Museum, and the Metropolitan Museum of Art, 1976-1979."
Pharaohs and mortals : Egyptian art in the Middle Kingdom by Janine Bourriau; Stephen Quirke
Call Number: Oversize N5336.G7 C3634 1988
"Exhibition organised by the Fitzwilliam Museum, Cambridge 19 April to 26 June, Liverpool, 18 July to 4 September 1988."
Treasures of Egyptian art from the Cairo Museum; a centennial exhibition, 1970-71 by Edward Lee Bockman Terrace; Henry George Fischer; Matḥaf al-Miṣrī
Call Number: Oversize N5350 .T47
Boston Museum of Fine Arts
Egyptian treasures from the Egyptian Museum in Cairo by Francesco Tiradritti; Araldo De Luca
Call Number: Oversize N5336.E3 C382 1999
An in-depth study of artifacts in the Matḥaf al-Miṣrī (known in America as the Egyptian Museum in Cairo).
The Egyptian Museum in Cairo : a walk through the alleys of ancient Egypt by Abeer El-Shahawy; Farid S Atiya
Call Number: Oversize DT59.C243 M39 2005
The quest for immortality : treasures of ancient Egypt by Erik Hornung; Betsy Morrell Bryan
Call Number: Oversize N5350 .Q47 2002
Exhibition dates: 12 May-2 September 2002, National Gallery of Art, Washington D.C.
Suggested Subject Searches
In addition to keyword and subject searches using Ancient Egyptian art or Ancient Near Eastern Art, try these:
Art, Ancient Middle East
Books on Ancient Near Eastern Art
Ancient Near Eastern art by Dominique Collon
Call Number: N5345 .C69 1995
From village to town : before 3000 BC --
Temple, cemetery, and palace : the 3rd millennium BC --
Trade and diplomacy : the 2nd millennium BC --
Great empires : the 1st millennium BC --
Parthians and Sasanians beyond the Euphrates : c. 238 BC-AD 651 --
Survival and revival --
General chronology --
Mesopotamian chronology / by C.B.F. Walker.
The art and architecture of the ancient Orient by Henri Frankfort
Call Number: N5345 .F7 1996
Yale University Press Pelican history of art.
Ancient Near Eastern art in context : studies in honor of Irene J. Winter by Irene Winter; Jack Cheng; Marian H Feldman
Call Number: N5370 .A53 2007
Covers topics such as: palatial and temple architecture, royal sculpture, gender in the ancient Near East, and interdisciplinary studies that range from fourth millennium BCE to modern ethnography and cover Sumer, Assyria, Babylonia, Iran, Syria, Urartu, and the Levant.
When writing met art : from symbol to story by Denise Schmandt-Besserat
Call Number: Oversize N72.W75 S36 2007
Using examples of ancient Near Eastern writing and masterpieces of art, the author shows that between 3500 and 3000 BC the conventions of writing spread to the making of art, resulting in artworks that presented complex visual narratives in place of the repetitive motifs found on preliterate art objects.
Art of the ancient Near East by Pierre Amiet; Naomi Noble Richard
Call Number: Oversize N5345 .A7413 1980
Translation of L'art antique du Proche-Orient.
Diplomacy by design : luxury arts and an "international style" in the ancient Near East, 1400-1200 BCE by Marian H Feldman
Call Number: Oversize N5330 .F45 2006
Art and international relations during the Late Bronze Age formed a symbiosis as expanded travel and written communications fostered unprecedented cultural exchange across the Mediterranean. Diplomacy in these new political and imperial relationships was often maintained through the exchange of lavish art objects and luxury goods.
The art of the Middle East : including Persia, Mesopotamia and Palestine by Leonard Woolley
Call Number: N5343 .W613
Publication Date: 1961
The geography of the Middle East and its history down to 500 A.D. --
Elam before the coming of the Indo-Europeans --
Sumer: From the beginnings of art to the end of the early Dynastic period --
Sumer and Akkad; The Sargonid age and the third dynasty of Ur to the time of Hammurabi --
Syria and Palestine: From the earliest times until the conquest of Alexander --
The Hurri and the Hittites --
Anatolia, 1200-330 B.C. --
Assyria and Neo-Babylonia --
Graeco-Roman art in the Middle East.
Interconnections in the ancient Near-East; a study of the relationships between the arts of Egypt, the Aegean, and western Asia. by William Stevenson Smith
Call Number: Oversize N5345 .S6
Publication Date: 1965
Books on Ancient Egyptian Art
Mythological Papyri, by Alexandre Piankoff
Call Number: Oversize PJ1551 .E3 v. 3 pt. 1 & 2
Vol. II consists of 30 beautiful fold-out reproductions which are loose in a portfolio as well as a separate 9 page booklet that lists the plates.
The Art and Architecture of Ancient Egypt by William Stevenson Smith; William Kelly Simpson
Call Number: N5350 .S5 1981
"Pelican History of Art"
In this book, Ancient Egyptian monuments, their decorations, and other works of art are reproduced. The tombs at Thebes, the temples of Luxor and Karnak, and the palaces of Akhenaten and Amenhotep II are shown. Also presented are portraits depicting kings and queens and their civil servants.
Egyptian art in the days of the pharaohs, 3100-320 BC by Cyril Aldred
Call Number: N5350 .A57
"In this authoritative and splendidly illustrated guide, the author surveys nearly 3000 years of Egyptian architecture, painting and sculpture. Shows how Egyptian art was shaped by historical events, religious requirements, and environmental forces and also explains how artists and craftspeople developed their amazing technical mastery."-- Publisher's Weekly.
Egyptian art : selected writings of Bernard V. Bothmer by Bernard V Bothmer; Madeleine E Cody; Paul Edmund Stanwick; Marsha Hill
Call Number: Oversize N5350 .B665 2004
This collection of the late Bernard V. Bothmer's writings represents some of the most significant scholarship on Egyptian art by a pioneer in the field. Bothmer's writings are complemented by more than 450 photographs, many from his Corpus of Late Egyptian Sculpture, the fruits of his research in museums, private collections, and art dealer's galleries around the world. Bothmer selected these photographs to illuminate his object-based methodology and to introduce scholars and the public to new fields of art historical inquiry.
Atlas of Egyptian art by Prisse d'Avennes; Olaf E Kaper
Call Number: N5351 .P8213 2000
This tour of Egyptian art by one of its early explorers is one of the most beautiful modern works on ancient Egyptian art. Prisse d Avennes s monumental work, first published in Paris over a ten-year period between 1868 and 1878, includes the only surviving record of many lost artifacts.
Symbol & magic in Egyptian art by Richard H Wilkinson
Call Number: N5350 .W492 1994
1. Through Egyptian Eyes: The Symbolism of Form --
2. Measure and Meaning: The Symbolism of Size --
3. Position and Placement: The Symbolism of Location --
4. Significance in Substance: The Symbolism of Materials --
5. The Appearance of the World: The Symbolism of Color --
6. Meaning in Many: The Symbolism of Numbers --
7. Words as Magic, Words as Art: The Symbolism of Hieroglyphs --
8. Significant Activity: The Symbolism of Actions --
9. Language of the Body: The Symbolism of Gestures.
The Art of Ancient Egypt by Gay Robins
Call Number: Oversize N5350 .R63 1997
General survey of ancient Egyptian art: The first chapter orients the reader in the cultural, technical, and iconographic contexts needed to explore the evolution of the Egyptian artistic tradition in subsequent chapters. Beginning with the predynastic origins (5000 BCE) and concluding in the Ptolemaic Period (304-30 BCE), Robins traces the development of sculpture, painting, funerary and religious art, and architecture with over 300 illustrations, many in color. Unique to this survey is the inclusion of Ptolemaic art and the attention paid to the decoration of sarcophagi, coffins, and mummy cartonnages over three millennia. The text is authoritative and fully referenced with an excellent bibliography.