Guides: Communication: Finding Articles & Data

Communication Encyclopedias

Encyclopedia of Communication Theory This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive overview of contemporary communication theory.

International Encyclopedia of Communication Online This link opens in a new window
Coverage of theories, media and communication phenomena, research methods, problems, concepts, and geographical areas.

Recommended Communication Databases

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Provides full text coverage to peer-reviewed titles in the social sciences, humanities, general science, multi-cultural studies, education and more.
Communication & Mass Media Complete This link opens in a new window
Content from CommSearch and Mass Media Articles Index along with other peer-reviewed journals in communication, mass media, and related fields of study.
Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window
Articles from peer-reviewed journals in all disciplines of business, including marketing, management, MIS, POM, accounting, finance and economics, including SWOT analyses and articles from Harvard Business Review.
Dissertations & Theses Global (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Doctoral dissertations and master's theses, from 1743 to the present. Full text for most dissertations since 1997.
Education Full Text This link opens in a new window
Subject coverage includes adult education, special education, multicultural/ethnic education, and teaching methods.
Exploring Race in Society This link opens in a new window
Provides background information on topics related to race, ethnicity, diversity and inclusiveness plus a collection of opinion essays offering solutions to issues related to race.
GenderWatch This link opens in a new window
Academic journals, magazines, newspapers, newsletters, booklets, and reports focused on women and gender issues. Some archival material as far back as 1974.
Insider Intelligence (formerly eMarketer) This link opens in a new window
Includes daily market and media research articles, analyst reports, and a database of e-business and online marketing statistics.
Mintel This link opens in a new window
Market research and industry reports with market share, consumer profiles, forecasting, driving forces, and distribution methods. This database is only available to current Pepperdine students, faculty, and staff.
Scopus This link opens in a new window
Abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed scientific journals, books and conference proceedings covering fields of science, technology, medicine, social sciences, and arts and humanities.
Simmons Insights (Formerly Simmons OneView) This link opens in a new window
Consumer survey data includes over 700 psychographic measures to understand target consumers' general attitudes, media usage, and shopping habits. Access restricted to five simultaneous users.
SRDS Media Solutions This link opens in a new window
Access to accurate, up-to-date media information including detailed ad rates, dates and contact data plus demographic information, plus Claritas 360 platform.

Demographic & Statistical Data Resources

Census Business Builder
Interactive maps, charts and reports using select demographic and economic data from the Census Bureau
Census Infographics & Visualizations
Charts, tables and interactive maps using Census data in wide range of topics.
Data.gov
The United States government's open data website which provides access to datasets published by agencies across the federal government.

ICPSR Direct This link opens in a new window
Inter-University Consortium for Political and Social Research collection of social science data. First time users will be asked to create an ICPSR MyData account.

American Customer Satisfaction Index
A national index of customer satisfaction by company and industry.