It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Business: EMBA/PKE: Global Business
This guide will introduce business resources available to Pepperdine University Executive MBA and Presidents and Key Executive MBA students.
Use this guide instead if seeking resources for conducting business abroad and researching the influence of culture on management practice in a non-English speaking country. Use this guide to learn how to search for scholarly articles on business cultures and locate eBooks on business etiquette.
Obtaining Country Reports, Background Country Info, and Economic Data With Passport
Passport provides business intelligence on countries, consumers and industries across 781 cities, 210 countries, and provides both historic data and forecasted data. This database is only available to current Pepperdine students, faculty, and staff.
Example: I need a country report for Spain from a business perspective.
Type Spain business dynamics into the search box at the top
Select the report for Business Dynamics: Spain
Example: I want forecasted GDP data and inflation rates for New Zealand and several other countries.
At the top of the screen, click the link for Economies and select Economy, Finance and Trade
Go the section for "Statistics" and use the pull-down menu to select "GDP"
Scroll down to GDP and click the arrow
Select all of the types of GDP data that you need
Go to Geographies and select New Zealand
Click the link Economies and Consumers Annual Data on the left-hand column
Use the pull-down menu to select the years that you need (forecasted data is available to 2030
Example: I want some information on the city of Mumbai.
Type Mumbai into the search box and then select City Travel Briefing: Mumbai
Download the report as a PDF
Example: I need a report covering consumer lifestyles for a specific country.
Select the link for Countries & Consumers at the top of the screen
Click Consumer Trends & Lifestyles
Go to the Consumer Lifestyles section and select your country with the pull-down menu and click Go
Presents economic statistics for 269 countries from the International Monetary Fund. Economic and financial data including interest rates, gross domestic product, exchange rates, international transactions, government accounts, international liquidity and international banking are available from 1948 to the present.
Locating Various Country Profiles Using Business Source Premier
Among full-text access to over 8,000 sources including The Wall Street Journal, Barrons, Economist, and other news sources and news wires, Factiva provides full-text reporting of the EIU Country Commerce and Country Finance reports.
Example: I need information on Russia's business regulations such as taxes, building permits, acquisition of real estate, etc.
Click Search at the top of the screen and click Search Builder
Type real estate into the search box at the top
Select "in the last two years" for the date
Scroll down to Source, type EIU country commerce and select the term
Scroll down to Region, type in Russia and select the term
Select articles such as "Organising an investment: Acquisition of real estate"
Statista.com consolidates statistical data on over 80,000 topics from more than 22,500 sources. Pepperdine's subscription includes access to the expert tools and the Global Consumer Survey for 28 countries. Country Reports are available for 150 countries and focus on the general economy, consumers, technology, and politics. They allow regional comparisons than can be used for market research, risk assessment or for the strategy development, planning, and execution of business operations.
Mergent Online provides comprehensive information for evaluating risks and opportunities across the globe. Including: Country Risk Indicator Summary -- key statistics covering GDP, government finances, balance of payments, cross country development comparisons and non-numerical information.A two-page briefing on four principal areas of risk: political, macroeconomic, external economy and commercial. - Political Risk - Macroeconomic Risk - External Economic Risk - and more
Presents information on 197 countries and dependencies from around the world. Entries discuss a variety of topics in detail, from banking and securities to climate, from government data to demographic statistics. Also includes biographical essays on national leaders.
Call Number: HC10 .N36 (REFERENCE - NO CIRC) + e-book
Publication Date: 2018
This comprehensive handbook profiles 231 nations and self-governing territories around the world in an easy-to-access, single-volume format. More than 2,000 pages present political, economic and business information not found in any other reference work of its kind.