It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
A primary source is "first-hand" information, sources as close as
possible to the origin of the information or idea under study. Primary
sources are contrasted with secondary sources, works that provide
analysis, commentary, or criticism on the primary source. In literary
studies, primary sources are often creative works, including poems,
stories, novels, and so on. In historical studies, primary sources
include written works, recordings, or other source of information from
people who were participants or direct witnesses to the events in
question. Examples of commonly used primary sources include government
documents, memoirs, personal correspondence, oral histories, and
contemporary newspaper accounts.
The ketubbot digitization project aims to create a worldwide registry of ketubbot in public and private collections throughout the world. Based on the collection of the Jewish National and University Library with over 1600 items, the project contains ketubbot originating from dozens of different countries, and covering a time period of over 900 years. It is a major resource for research in Jewish history, law and art..
Beit Hatfutsot connects Jewish people to their roots and strengthens their personal and collective Jewish identity. Beit Hatfutsot conveys to the world the fascinating narrative of the Jewish people and the transcending essence of the Jewish culture, faith, purpose and deed while presenting the contribution of world Jewry to humanity.
The Online Archive of California (OAC) provides free public access to detailed descriptions of primary resource collections maintained by more than 150 contributing institutions including libraries, special collections, archives, historical societies, and museums throughout California and collections maintained by the 10 University of California (UC) campuses.
Pepperdine University Special Collections and University Archives has contributed a number of collections to the OAC.
Early English Books Online (EEBO) contains digital facsimile page images of virtually every work printed in England, Ireland, Scotland, Wales and British North America and works in English printed elsewhere from 1473-1700 - from the first book printed in English by William Caxton, through the age of Spenser and Shakespeare and the tumult of the English Civil War.
Spans more than 400 years of personal writings, bringing together the voices of women from England, Scotland, Ireland, and Wales. The database includes approximately 100,000 pages of material assembled from numerous bibliographies and from newly conducted research as well as 4,000 pages of previously unpublished manuscripts. Extending back to 1500 and covering up until 1950, all forms of diaries - religious, travel, and journalistic - enrich the content of the collection.
British and Irish Women's Letters and Diaries includes the immediate experiences of approximately 500 women, as revealed in over 100,000 pages of diaries and letters. Particular care has been taken to index this material so that it can be searched more thoroughly than ever before. The collection now includes primary materials spanning more than 300 years. Each source has been carefully chosen using leading bibliographies. The collection also includes biographies and an extensive annotated bibliography of the sources in the database.
British and Irish Women's Letters and Diaries uses PhiloLogic software, developed at the University of Chicago, to enable in-depth browsing and searching of both the bibliographic and the full-text elements within the database. We have recently upgraded the PhiloLogic software, enhancing performance and giving the collection a fresh new look. We have improved the search engine for better performance and introduced new toolbar navigation for easier browsing, but all other functionality of the collection remains the same.