Guides: Speech Language Pathology: Finding Articles

Health Science Databases

Alt Health Watch
Focus on complementary, holistic and integrated approaches to healthcare and wellness from peer-reviewed reports, proceedings, and association and consumer newsletters.
CINAHL with full text
CINAHL indexes the top nursing and allied health literature available including nursing journals and publications from the National League for Nursing and the American Nurses Association.
Cochrane Library

A Cochrane review is a systematic review that attempts to identify, appraise and synthesize evidence to answer a specific research question. The Cochrane Library consists of: the Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews (CDSR), containing both Cochrane Systematic Reviews and Cochrane Methodology Reviews; the Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials (CENTRAL; Clinical Trials); and Cochrane Clinical Answers (CCA).
Ovid
Access a collection of nursing books along with Ovid Full Text Nursing Journals with EmCare plus these additional journals: Alzheimer Disease & Associated Disorders; British Journal of Sports Medicine; Exercise & Sport Sciences Reviews; Family & Community Health; Journal of Nervous & Mental Disease; Medicine & Science in Sports & Exercise; Nutrition Today; Strength & Conditioning Journal; Topics in Clinical Nutrition
Ovid EmCare
Ovid Emcare is an indexing and abstract nursing database that searches over 1,800 journals not indexed on other leading nursing databases along with over 3,700 international nursing journals. Users will find links to the complete article coverage of journals that are available within the Ovid Nursing Full-Text Nursing database.
Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition
Scholarly full-text journals, dating back to 1975, focusing on medical disciplines.

Coverage of nursing and allied health is particularly strong, including full text from Creative Nursing, Issues in Comprehensive Pediatric Nursing, Issues in Mental Health Nursing, Journal of Advanced Nursing, Journal of Child & Adolescent Psychiatric Nursing, Journal of Clinical Nursing, Journal of Community Health Nursing, Journal of Nursing Management, Nursing Ethics, Nursing Forum, Nursing Inquiry, and many more. In addition, this database includes Lexi-PAL Drug Guide.
Health Source: Consumer Edition
Access to consumer health magazines, pamphlets and reference books, including those by People's Medical Society, Clinical Reference Systems reports (in English and Spanish) and Merriam-Webster's Medical Desk Dictionary.
PubMed

Access to biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books from the National Library of Medicine.
PsychiatryOnline

Portal featuring DSM-V-TR, plus a collection of psychiatric references and journals from American Psychiatric Publishing, self-assessment tools, and clinical & research news.
medRxiv

Free online archive for preprints in the medical, clinical, and related health sciences.

Science Databases

ScienceDirect

Access to peer-reviewed scientific, technical and medical journals.
Science (AAAS)
Peer-reviewed articles, original research reports, news sections, editorials, and special issues devoted to science-related topics.
JAMA : Journal of the American Medical Association

JAMA, published continuously since 1883, is an international peer-reviewed general medical journal published 48 times per year.
SPORTDiscus with Full Text
Bibliographic and full text coverage of sport, fitness and related disciplines.

Multidisciplinary Databases

Scopus

Abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed scientific journals, books and conference proceedings covering fields of science, technology, medicine, social sciences, and arts and humanities.
Academic Search Complete

Provides full text coverage to peer-reviewed titles in the social sciences, humanities, general science, multi-cultural studies, education and more.
Wiley Online Library

Multidisciplinary collection of online resources covering life, health and physical sciences, social science, and the humanities.
Sage Journals Online

Access to the full text journals in Business, Communication, Humanities, Social Sciences, and Science, Technology and Medicine.
World Bank Open Knowledge Repository

Open access repository for international development research articles, reports and books.

Speech Pathology Journals

Pepperdine Libraries has access to many e-journals in support of speech-language pathology.

Below are a few to get you started: