MATP 699 - Fabiero

Here are some reasons:

• An annotated bibliography provides information about each source you have used
  One of the reasons behind citing sources and compiling a general bibliography is so that you can prove you have done some valid research to back up your argument and claims. Annotated bibliographies include additional details that provide an overview of the sources themselves.

• Each annotation provides essential details about a source
  Readers, researchers or instructors reading an annotated bibliography will get a snapshot of the important details that they need to know about each source. As a researcher, you have become an expert on your topic: you have the ability to explain the content of your sources, assess their usefulness, and share this information with others who may be less familiar with them.

• Some types of annotations provide details about what the paper's author has done with or thinks about each source
  Certain types of annotations (Evaluative Annotations, for example) may provide a brief analysis of the source by the paper's author, including details about what information is most important or not, how it the source fits into the broader scope of the paper and why it may or may not be useful to others.

1. The annotated bibliography needs to be listed in alphabetical order just as your reference sheet would. 

2.  Enter your APA format reference and continue with an annotation paragraph below. Remember to indent your annotation paragraph 05. inches from the margin. 

Example:

Garrett Delavan, M., Freire, J. A., & Morita-Mullaney, T. (2023). Conscripted into thinking of scarce, selective, privatized, and precarious seats in

dual language bilingual education: The choice discourse of mercenary exclusivity. Current Issues in Language Planning, 24(3), 245–271.

Education Full Text (H.W. Wilson).https://doi-org.lib.pepperdine.edu/10.1080/14664208.2022.2077032

Delevan et al. (2023) analyzed access to dual language bilingual education in 11 U.S. schools. The authors identified 4 major themes, scarcity, exclusive commodity, perpetuating notions of privatization and precariousness. They argue that this discourse fosters competition among families, leading to a perception of education as a marketplace where parents must strategically navigate to secure the best opportunities for their children. The article highlights how this rhetoric reinforces social inequalities and undermines the goals of inclusive and equitable education. By deconstructing the language used to discuss bilingual education enrollment, the authors shed light on the systemic barriers that limit access to these programs and advocate for a more equitable approach to education policy and practice. 

Summative annotations (also known as "informative" annotations) provide only a summary of the author's main ideas. Summative annotations are typically two to three sentences long and include no statements of the source’s relevance to your paper or critical remarks evaluating the source’s quality. 

Summative annotations may include the following type of information:

• The hypothesis of the work
• The methodology of the work
• The author's main points
• The conclusion or results of the work

Evaluative annotations (also known as "critical" annotations) summarize the essential ideas in a document and provide judgments—negative, positive, or both—about their quality. Evaluative annotations are typically three to four sentences long. Evaluative annotations usually begin with broad comments about the focus of the source then moves to more details. Your comments should move from the details of the text to your evaluation of the source.

Evaluative annotations may contain the following type of information:

• The importance of the work’s contribution to the literature of the subject
• The author’s bias or tone
• The author’s qualifications for writing the work
• The accuracy of the information in the source
• Limitations or significant omissions
• The work’s contribution to the literature of the subject
• Comparison with other works on the topic