Marketing - Dr. McMahon

Welcome ! 

This guide outlines databases and resources commonly used in the marketing courses for Dr. McMahon. 

If you need help using any of the resources listed here, I’m available to assist you. While some databases are intuitive, others can be more complex to navigate. Please don’t hesitate to reach out using any of the contact methods provided below.

1. Direct Email - isabel.morales2@pepperdine.edu 
2. Schedule a Zoom meeting (email me) 
3. Start a chat or submit a ticket using our Ask-A-Librarian platform 
4. Phone call 949-223-2543
5. In person visit -  Irvine Campus Library, Office #229 
6. In the event that I am out of office please contact my colleague and also business librarian, Erik Helton- erik.helton@pepperdine.edu

Please access all databases from the homepage or links listed on this guide, otherwise you may encounter paywalls or requests for subscription. Keep in mind that all Pepperdine database subscriptions are free of charge for students, staff and faculty. 

Market segmentation is used to divide a broad consumer or business market into sub-groups based on shared characteristics. These segments typically have common needs, preferences, or behaviors, and they are likely to respond similarly to marketing strategies. See the figure below. 

1. Demographic Segmentation: Divides the market based on measurable statistics.
2. Geographic Segmentation: Divides the market based on physical location.
3. Psychographic Segmentation: Divides the market based on lifestyle, values, personality, and social class.
4. Behavioral Segmentation: Divides the market based on consumer behavior.

So, why does market segmentation matter ? It helps you better understand your customers. 

• Allows for targeted marketing.

• Improves product development by aligning with specific needs.

• Increases efficiency in marketing

Now that you have an idea of how segmentation works, you can better explore your market and target your potential customer base. First, you need to develop a strategy to gather quality data that will help you analyze the given segments. You will use a variety of databases to compile background information. Keep in mind that not one given database will hold all the data you need. Database information is interrelated and requires the user to gather data and make informed decisions. 

1. To analyze markets and locate statistics you may use, 

• IBIS World - Market and industry research reports with key statistics, industry conditions, market share, industry performance, market drivers, key success factors, and revenue forecasts for each US industry. This database is only available to current Pepperdine students, faculty, and staff.
• Statista - Statistics and studies gathered by market researchers, trade organizations, scientific publications, and government sources, includes access to the Global Consumer Survey 
• Passport (formerly Global Market Information Database) - Market research reports on countries, consumers and industries from Euromonitor International. Historic data from 1997 plus up-to-date forecast models including industry reports and market share data. This database is only available to current Pepperdine students, faculty, and staff.
• Business Source Complete - Articles from peer-reviewed journals in all disciplines of business, including marketing, management, MIS, POM, accounting, finance and economics, including SWOT analyses and articles from Harvard Business Review. MarketLine Industry reports found through Business Source Complete can give you great insights into the industry 

2. To build a persona by generating a representation of your customer you may use, 

• Simmons Brand Catalyst - For access, click Brand Catalyst at the top of the Simmons interface. Identifies the unique characteristics of over 8,000 brands to help define brand identity, differentiate against competitors, create unique personas, and drive effective media, creative, and partnership strategies. 
• Mintel - Market research and industry reports with market share, consumer profiles, forecasting, driving forces, and distribution methods. This database is only available to current Pepperdine students, faculty, and staff.

3.  To visualize data, demographics and create business lists you may use,  

• SimplyAnalytics - SimplyAnalytics is a mapping, analytics, and data visualization application that makes it easy for anyone to create interactive maps and reports using thousands of demographic, business, and marketing variables.. Please note there is a limit of 5 concurrent users - if busy, try later