Guides: CHEM 120 & 121 General Chemistry I and II: Finding Articles

Chemistry Databases

SciFinder Scholar This link opens in a new window
Online access to databases, including Chemical Abstracts, Registry, CASREACT, CHEMLIST, CHEMCAT, and MEDLINE.
Users must register to use SciFinder Scholar.
This database is only available to current Pepperdine students, faculty, and staff.
American Chemical Society Web Editions This link opens in a new window
Provides access to peer-reviewed research journals in the chemical and related sciences. Includes access to The ACS Style Guide.
Chemical Sciences Article Repository This link opens in a new window
Non-commercial subject specific open access repository for chemistry papers published by the Royal Society of Chemistry.
PLoS (Public Library of Science) This link opens in a new window
Open-access, peer-reviewed journals across all areas of science and medicine.
ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
Access to peer-reviewed scientific, technical and medical journals.
PubMed This link opens in a new window
Access to biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books from the National Library of Medicine.
Science (AAAS) This link opens in a new window
Peer-reviewed articles, original research reports, news sections, editorials, and special issues devoted to science-related topics.
Nature This link opens in a new window
Weekly journal of peer-reviewed research in all fields of science and technology
National Academies Press This link opens in a new window
PDFs of books in the physical and social sciences published by National Academies Press since 1980. Includes full-text searching capabilities.

Multidisciplinary Databases

Scopus This link opens in a new window
Abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed scientific journals, books and conference proceedings covering fields of science, technology, medicine, social sciences, and arts and humanities.
Wiley Online Library This link opens in a new window
Multidisciplinary collection of online resources covering life, health and physical sciences, social science, and the humanities.

Government Sources

NLM Drug Information Portal
A gateway to selected drug information from the U.S. National Library of Medicine and other key U.S. Government agencies. A good source for finding drug side-effects, drug category info, and manufacturers. Links to literature in PubMed.
more...less...
US National Library of Medicine resource.

SciTech Connect This link opens in a new window
Electronic, full-text reports processed by the U.S. Department of Energy, topics include physics, chemistry, materials, biology, environment, energy, engineering, computer and information science, and renewable energy.